We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad...”
Review of Sunbird

Sunbird
Ranked #32 of 46 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
NYC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Not bad...”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Not bad. Average food but above average friendly service.
Very clean with a nice outdoor vibe....
We only had the fish tacos which were fresh; But the sauce overpowered the fish, so that was a disappointment. (In the future I'd have them put the sauce on the side.....)
Also, at $10 bucks for 2 tacos......I don't know, we were paying that out on Nantucket at a sit down restaurant.....so I do question the "value".

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fish tacos!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Yummy place for lunch. The women in the food cart are really nice and the food is great. Freshly prepared from fresh ingredients. The cart and dining area are set back from the road just enough to make this a relaxing spot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_from_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Healthy eats from fab food truck on the Cape!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A unique find on the Cape-fresh, healthy eats with great service in a super clean set up on the road side!

The catchy logo caught our eye driving by last summer and after watching all the shows on the food network talking about gourmet great eats that can come from a food truck we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed the food was great and what got us to return several times last year and again this summer.

If you have been following the farm to table food revolution of healthy but delicious eats than Sunbird is for you. The fish tacos are amazing and fresh, fresh, fresh! The pork shoulder sandwich is juicy and tender (one of my husband's favorites-not a guy to think about and crave past meals this one he does and I am not a big pork eater but would order this it is so tasty). Delicous salads and the addition of a fried egg puts that and the pork sandwich over the top. Chickpea miso salad was delcious and beautiful. The chocolate chip cookies are a homerun and big enough to share. They are total homemade goodness, tons of quality chocolate, zippy orange zest and not quite sure what her dough base ingredients are but the cookies are moist, perfect crumb, and have a bit of a nutty (maybe oat?) flavor.

This is a great husband and wife business and we love the whole set up. Funky little set up has grass umbrella vintage picnic tables and seats, cool little condiment counter complete with ice cold water coolers and vintage books and magazines to enjoy looking through while waiting for you meal. Wait is short, service is friendly, and everything is spotless and clean, very clean.

Catch them at the Turo farmers' market on Wed. (behind the chapel on main street that used to be the Catholic church-small sign, walk down the stone paved path behind the chapel to small field, keep your eyes peeled or you will miss it-public parking directly across the street)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Healthy Lunch”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The cart parked in a parking lot is worth the stop. We have been driving by meaning to stop for some time and finally had lunch there on a Sunday afternoon. Picnic tables and Adirondack Chairs sit near a perennial garden to eat after you order at the window of a trailer. I had a salad with a fried egg on to that was fabulous. The Porchetta sandwich and the fish tacos were also excellent. The menu changes with the season to provide fresh food. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaT223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spotted this place on the roadside of Highway 6 on the way to Provincetown and decided to give it a try. It's basically an organic food truck that is semi-permanent. Everything about this place is great. It's like a combination garden, art gallery and food truck. We got the fish tacos and a side order of chick peas. Everything was extremely fresh and delicious. From our outdoor table we could see them slicing the fish and preparing it. I'm kinda' of a fish taco nut and I've eaten them everywhere. This was one of the best I've ever had. You could taste how fresh the ingredients were. It was well worth the $10.95 for the 2 tacos. The whole experience was good for us. I thought the staff was great too. It is worth the drive out of P-Town for this food and definitely worth stopping if you are already on the road. They don't serve beer so try the organic ginger beer instead. There's no view except for the view of Highway 6 but the flower garden next to the outdoor seating is very nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvlfun2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunbird also viewed

 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Sunbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing