We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach but a lot of rocks the first few feet in water” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marconi Beach

Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montreal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice beach but a lot of rocks the first few feet in water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went to this beach beach because of the good reviews. However there are a lot of small rocks the first few feet of walking in the ocean. I would suggest water shoes. At high tide the ocean floor drops quickly then after a few feet it rises back up. At this point there are no more rocks. At low tide later in the afternoon it's nice as the ocean has pulled back and you can walk out further. Great for kids who skimboard. The day I was there the waves were medium sized and there were a lot of surfers. Parking is $15 Arrive early before 10am to avoid traffic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnytimes75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    94
    22
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marconi Beach, Cape Cod's Finest !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The National Seashore of Cape Cod, MA., goes on for forty miles. The coast is beautiful with many great beaches. Our families favorite is Marconi Beach, in Wellfeet. For over thirty years we have frequented other beaches, but Marconi Beach is number one. When the tide is low, there are sand bars which makes it wonderful for children and adults to walk out farther into the ocean, past the sand bars, sand castles, and lovely colorful stones... while being surrounded by low water where small kids can play. This is where we brought my grand daughter this past July, at age 5 months, as we simply, "had to" let this be her first beach experience! My son-in-law brought her out into the beautiful sea, as my daughter and I watched them both enjoy the water. For us, another generation begins its Cape Cod adventures with Marconi Beach!

*There are stairs to get to and from. No elevators or wheel chair access.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Aurora, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

You can't find a more beautiful stretch of beach along the Eastern Seaboard than the Cape Cod National Seashore from Eastham through Truro and, no kidding, the view from atop the dunes at Marconi Beach is the best on the East Coast. The photos don't do justice to the vastness and the feeling of eternity.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellGirl057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean and great at high and low tide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went to this beach today, initially just to see that Atlantic side of the cape after spending all the time on the bay and Wellfleet Harbor. However, after arriving and seeing it's a full national park/seashore, we decided to stay. The beach has a great boarded walkway and stairs down 50 feet cliffs to the ocean side, and it has convenient outdoor showers at the changing rooms. The bathrooms were fair by the end of the day.

To get out of the sun, we walked the nearby Atlantic cedar trail through the swamp, starting at the Marconi site lookout. The trail is well worth it; the deep, thick forest felt like a movie set.

The only complaint is that the beach has a $15 per car per day charge. But as mentioned, I find it hard to say it's not a good value because the money is clearly put into maintaining the pristine feel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cdthompso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany ny
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Enjoyed the day here with family. Was able to bring a cooler of cold drinks and lunch from the lunchbox on route 6, Eastham The water was warmer than I expected so it was especially nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hunterandshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marconi Beach also viewed

 

Been to Marconi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing