We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of New England”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wagner at Duck Creek
Ranked #3 of 10 Wellfleet B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2006

We only stayed here for 3 nights and had one of the smaller rooms with a shared bathroom but as soon as we walked into it we were won over. The decor is old style New England, complete with ornate carved wooden bed, wood panelling and patchwork quilts. We booked over the phone directly from the UK and the staff were helpful and seemed to genuinely remember us when we arrived. The rooms are clean and pleasant. Next door to the Inn is the Duck Creeke Tavern which sold fantastic food (try the lobster) but gets very busy so try and book, there seemed to be music on every night. There is a sunken bar with a relaxed atmosphere attracting people of all ages. I was particularly impressed with the waiting and bar staff, who were mainly students on summer break but were efficient and well trained. The breakfast is light but there are plenty of other places to try if you want a cooked breakfast (The Wicked Oyster round the corner). I would certainly reccomend Wellfleet in general, it is relaxed, gorgeous, creative and has great beaches - although you must have a car or a bike (which we didn't!) to get anywhere further than the village centre. It is unspoilt compared to some of the other main towns.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 138 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2006

We stayed in the main house (room 16), right off the big back porch. It was just great! The Inn is very quaint... very Cape Cod. Don't expect luxury... or even a television for that matter... but who needs one? What you can expect is a very relaxing stay with an incredibly friendly and attentive staff and a great price. We also enjoyed the restaurant and pub. Very close to Wellfleet town center and Uncle Tim's bridge. I highly recommend the Inn for those looking for a no frills relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2006

We stayed at the Inn at Duck Creeke for 3 nights in August 05. We were lucky to get adjoining rooms for the 4 of us, and the beds were comfy. But the whole place is looking tired around the edges. The bathroom wasn't as clean as it should have been, but as we were a family it wasn't terrible. If I had been sharing the bathroom with strangers in the next room, it would have really bothered me. There was no A/C, and as the Inn is on a main road, it was a little noisy with the windows open. The breakfast was laughable, and has earned the dubious distinction of being the worst hotel breakfast I have ever been offered. I have been all over the world, so that is saying something. We would go elsewhere next time.

4  Thank lindagaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2005

Headed down to the Cape for the oyster festtival last weekend and one last stay at the Inn at Duck Creek for the year. What a wild Wellfeet weekend. It rained buckets, the wind was hearty and there were a number of power failures around town. On and off all day and night. We felt warm and cozy at the inn. When the power is out in this little Cape town there is no water. Our host had cases of bottled water so that we could brush our teeth. The other guests were great. We laughed at the adventure and made the best of it. Hosts did every thing with care and good humor. It always feels like friendly family there. Our room was spotless and comfortable. We could walk from the inn to where the festival took place so the location was perfect. Oysters were fantastic. Even the police could not say when power would be back on. Too much wind. It is a very good value. Loved the addition of warm flaky croissant this year. We are planning our trips back to Duck Creek for next year.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Big-Dee1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2005

We wanted something close to an Oyster Festival that was going on for this weekend and we found this bed & breakfast. We did read the reviews - not that good-but we figured we were only staying one night how bad could it be. Well we arrived for check-in and they had no electricity, so we were like ok will there be power later this afternoon? Maybe. When we came back from our outing there was power. We decided to go to the tavern that was located next door for a snack, we got there and walk in people sitting at tables but they tell us they are closed for the season. Now why they didn't tell us that at the B&B when we asked, I don't know. So we had to go find someplace to eat. When we returned again they were without power. They had two candles lit in the lobby with a couple of people sitting there, no one asked if we wanted to use one to go to our room. thank god my husband had a lighter we were able to find our room. the next day we got up early (finally there is power) taking a shower the tub is backing up, my husband finds a chunk of hair in the tub. Now, if they cleaned the tub they would have noticed it clogging. That grossed me out. A bed to sleep in, not that it was comfortable, but it worked. I would not be staying there again.

3  Thank mommyanewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2005

I was reccommended to the Inn by a friend after looking for suggestions on somewhere to go to get away from New York City for a few days, to unplug and relax. She reccommended Duck Creeke, and I'm glad she did. The Innkeepers, Moo and Judy, couldn't have been lovelier. Even though they were on skeleton staff because it was off season, I never once felt as though someone was hard to get ahold of if I needed something. The Inn has a wonderful, historic feel. The room I stayed in was bright, cheery, and cleaned daily. I had a marvelous time, and hope to be back for another visit to the Inn very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Offbalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Haven, CT
13
Reviewed September 26, 2005

We were hoping for a quiet, cozy weekend escape and we got it at the Duck Creek Inn. We stayed on the third floor in a charming room. It was clean, the bed comfortable, the decor wonderful. We didn't need to bother the staff for anything but they were always there. We plan to go back next year at the same time.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellfleet
18.4 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
10.1 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
194 reviews
11.3 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
9.4 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
1.3 mi away
Mainstay Motor Inn
Mainstay Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Wellfleet
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wagner at Duck Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wagner at Duck Creek

Address: 70 Main St, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wellfleet
Price Range: $163 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wagner at Duck Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History, Hospitality and Cape Cod Charm! An authentic New England Inn on five acres with duck pond offering rooms in three buildings spanning three hundred years. One-half mile to Village and one mile to Bay and Marina. "simple Cape Cod relaxation... an experience to remember"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Wagner at Duck Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Duck Creek Hotel Wellfleet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing