We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good proximity, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wagner at Duck Creek
Ranked #3 of 10 Wellfleet B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a nice b&b in wellfleet with easy walking to the downtown and a great restaurant and Bar, the wicked oyster, next door. We stayed in room 17, which I really liked. It was at the back of the structure near the rear parking and a large porch for lounging. This is not a state of the art B&B which is how i like it, i don't need a television are a big swimming pool. Comfortable bed, spacious room. Breakfasts were simple but very delicious. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 17 at the back seemed quiet and near the rear parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 138 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

The biggest problem with the Inn at Duck Creek is the people. The staff consists entirely of teenagers and although the guy on the reception is pleasant enough he doesn't go out of his way to help you or get to know you but the biggest problem is with the breakfast staff. Two different girls but both of them totally miserable and unwelcoming so the atmosphere was not good and then they were so uninterested in doing their job that the coffee, juice, bagles, etc. constantly an out and when you tracked one of them down and asked for more they looked at you like you had asked for the world rather than breakfast that you had paid for. The Inn it's self is rough around the edges and especially the bathrooms are just not up to scratch. We knew that we were staying at an older property but even allowing for this the bathrooms need to be upgraded urgently. The rooms themselves were OK and the beds quite comfortable but there weren't enough positives to outway the negatives. Wellfleet is really great and we had a lot of fun there and I would really recommend staying there but there are plenty of other options in the area for lodging so although I wouldn't say the Inn at Duck Creek was bad enough to avoid at all costs I would say really check out some of the other options,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkle23061990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMorrill, Owner at The Wagner at Duck Creek, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Regarding the "teenagers serving breakfast", they are European college students in their early 20s visiting America for a cultural and work experience. They are eager and work to improve their English and are sometimes shy or slow in responding or understanding guests since English is a second language for them. The balance of the Staff consists of all over 40 year old adults quite interested in making your stay relaxing and pleasant. We are continually improving these two and three hundred year old buildings working both off-season and while guests are here. You probably saw the exterior work going on during your visit. We are sorry for your disappointment. We do appreciate your comments. They keep us committed to restoring and sharing a part of Early American history with people from our country and guests from around he world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Even by B&B standards these rooms are small and shabby. The bathroom was primitive and came with no amenities. Our room did not have AC. The breakfast was just OK. Coffee cake, bagels, fruit and yogurt. The owners were generally pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I loved this place! Great location, easy access to freeway, and downtown, and you can walk next door for breakfast or visit the bar at night! We really enjoyed our stay, but were a bit disappointed when we saw a stage for live music not in use at the bar even in the evenings and on weekends. Live music would have put this place over the top and my wife and I might have never left their facilities. Alas, my wife and I ventured to another local favorite, The Beachcomber and got our live music fix. I would definitely recommend this Inn to any of my friends and also would not hesitate in sending them to the Wicked Tavern right next door. Great service, amazing views and good brews. The hospitality and customer service at the Tavern was above and beyond, we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robg1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was initially concerned about booking at the Inn at Duck Cove because of a few bad reviews. However, my stay there with 5 friends was pleasant indeed. The Inn is old (1700s if I remember correctly) and is full of charm. We enjoyed the sitting area in the lobby and in the screened porch. The owners were helpful and full of information. Breakfast is basic but more than adequate with fruit, cereal, juice, coffee, bagels, cake and other baked items, jams, cream cheese, etc. It is conveniently located near restaurants. The harbour and centre of Wellfleet are a short walk away. My room was lovely and spotless. Only complain - parking lot noise late Saturday night - not sure if it was guests or patrons at the nearby restaurant. Overall I was very pleased and would go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corkybedorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMorrill, Owner at The Wagner at Duck Creek, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing your lovely comments and enjoyment of the Inn exactly as it is presented. We enjoyed your brightening up the Lobby with conversation and stories shared with us probably as much as you did. The break from television and electronics in the rooms at the Inn allows for those kinds of moments. Happy you appreciated the breakfast, your clean room and the history. Since your comment we have worked with our restaurant neighbor to control the parking lot noise. We would be delighted to have you visit us again, Bob and Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I found The Inn at Duck Creeke a lovely setting for our four days on Cape Cod. The environs of the inn, walking distance from restaurants, harbor, stores and other attractions, provided a peaceful pond-side setting. We greatly enjoyed seeing the pair of Canada Geese sheltering their four little goslings in and out of the pond and about the grounds. Indoor and outdoor sitting areas afforded both social and solitary reading and relaxation. Both our bedroom and the common areas were aesthetically-appointed and well-cared for. Bob, the innkeeper and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The town of Wellfleet was an intriguing locale to be in, and also located near the Massachusetts Audubon Wellfleet Bay sanctuary, an inviting destination in itself.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barryalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

There are many of us who, when crossing the Cape Cod canal bridge, feel our stresses and cares lifted and carried away with the sea side breeze. The Inn at Duck Creek is the perfect place to maintain that feeling of relaxation and contemplation when planning a trip to Wellfleet. If you are looking for televisions and other technological distractions, the Duck Creek is not for you. However, if you are looking for a cozy room where you can read a favorite book in an arm chair while enjoying a bottle of wine after a day at the beach or a hike in the Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary it is absolutely perfect. The rooms are cozy, yet spacious even if you decide to opt for a shared bath option. The Inn has some basic bathroom amenities, but plan on packing shampoo and other body products if you plan on a longer stay. In the summer, an open window is usually just perfect to cool off a warm room, but if air conditioning is a concern, check with the front desk staff before your arrival. The continental breakfast is lovely; enjoy your coffee and pastry in a quaint room on the first floor or, if you must, catch up on the daily news in the living room with the Boston globe or Cape Cod Times. The center of Wellfleet is just a short walk away, so the location is absolutely perfect. If you're lucky enough to catch some live music at the tavern right next door it's very enjoyable.

My husband and I love the Inn in late September, when you can enjoy the autumn light's reflection off the creek while sitting on the Inn's back porch and avoid the crowds of July and August. We also we're married at the Duck three years ago, and always receive a warm "welcome back" from Moo and Judy---it's easy to feel like family here. For a wonderful Wellfleet experience, book early and often! :)

Room Tip: We love the back rooms on the first floor that are close to the back porch... they are guaranteed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellfleet
18.4 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
10.1 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
194 reviews
11.3 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
9.4 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
1.3 mi away
Mainstay Motor Inn
Mainstay Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Wellfleet
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wagner at Duck Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wagner at Duck Creek

Address: 70 Main St, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wellfleet
Price Range: $163 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wagner at Duck Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History, Hospitality and Cape Cod Charm! An authentic New England Inn on five acres with duck pond offering rooms in three buildings spanning three hundred years. One-half mile to Village and one mile to Bay and Marina. "simple Cape Cod relaxation... an experience to remember"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Wagner at Duck Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Duck Creek Hotel Wellfleet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing