We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxed Cape Cod setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wagner at Duck Creek
Ranked #3 of 10 Wellfleet B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I found The Inn at Duck Creeke a lovely setting for our four days on Cape Cod. The environs of the inn, walking distance from restaurants, harbor, stores and other attractions, provided a peaceful pond-side setting. We greatly enjoyed seeing the pair of Canada Geese sheltering their four little goslings in and out of the pond and about the grounds. Indoor and outdoor sitting areas afforded both social and solitary reading and relaxation. Both our bedroom and the common areas were aesthetically-appointed and well-cared for. Bob, the innkeeper and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The town of Wellfleet was an intriguing locale to be in, and also located near the Massachusetts Audubon Wellfleet Bay sanctuary, an inviting destination in itself.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barryalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 134 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

There are many of us who, when crossing the Cape Cod canal bridge, feel our stresses and cares lifted and carried away with the sea side breeze. The Inn at Duck Creek is the perfect place to maintain that feeling of relaxation and contemplation when planning a trip to Wellfleet. If you are looking for televisions and other technological distractions, the Duck Creek is not for you. However, if you are looking for a cozy room where you can read a favorite book in an arm chair while enjoying a bottle of wine after a day at the beach or a hike in the Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary it is absolutely perfect. The rooms are cozy, yet spacious even if you decide to opt for a shared bath option. The Inn has some basic bathroom amenities, but plan on packing shampoo and other body products if you plan on a longer stay. In the summer, an open window is usually just perfect to cool off a warm room, but if air conditioning is a concern, check with the front desk staff before your arrival. The continental breakfast is lovely; enjoy your coffee and pastry in a quaint room on the first floor or, if you must, catch up on the daily news in the living room with the Boston globe or Cape Cod Times. The center of Wellfleet is just a short walk away, so the location is absolutely perfect. If you're lucky enough to catch some live music at the tavern right next door it's very enjoyable.

My husband and I love the Inn in late September, when you can enjoy the autumn light's reflection off the creek while sitting on the Inn's back porch and avoid the crowds of July and August. We also we're married at the Duck three years ago, and always receive a warm "welcome back" from Moo and Judy---it's easy to feel like family here. For a wonderful Wellfleet experience, book early and often! :)

Room Tip: We love the back rooms on the first floor that are close to the back porch... they are guaranteed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I as well as family members have stayed at the Duck Creek Inn several times over the past five years.
We just stayed again for 2 nights and feel it has really slipped. The rooms are tired, moldy,with sub-standard leaky, low pressure bathrooms. There are only a sprinkling of rooms with A/C. The staff mean well but are a bit dis-organized, and un-informed. They used to have a restaurant next door. Now that has been reduced to a bar. The place is in bad need of a complete updating, which it likely will never see from the current management. Good location is about the only thing this sad place has left going for it.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I were married in Wellfleet, so we decided on the duck creek inn to stay here since it was close to the reception. At first we had an AWFUL experience. You need to pay upfront to get a hotel room when you call to make the reservation. A bridesmaid received nasty threats from the male owner when her check was a few days late to make a reservation. 3 different guests who made reservations 5 months in advance had their reservations dropped. When they called to confirm, there was no record of them making a reservation (even though they had given credit card numbers). Another guest who called to inquire about room rates (however did NOT make a reservation) we found out later that the front desk person she had talked to had actually booked the room for them. When we pointed out the duck creek inn's error, the male owner again became nasty and threatened to charge the guest no matter what. He eventually found his error and apologized.
I think part of the problem with the book keeping is that everything is done via a large ledger (and not online) and the DCI owners (who are older) can get overwhelmed and have difficulty keeping everything straight.
Finally, when my husband and I finally checked into our room which was in the Captains quarters, we didn't stay too long in the room. The hotel and decor is very old and quaint (not for us, but could be for some people). The bathroom was gross and reeked of urine. The water barely trickled out of the shower head and was lukewarm at best. The shower curtain was dingy and hadn't been changed in years. We didn't try breakfast but was told it was very bare and there were moldy bagels. The AC in the room was great - and I think thats the only compliment I have!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marisa125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I think Inn at Duck Creeke would appeal most to some who values being immersed in the historical and even mystical feeling Cape Cod offers. I spent many happy hours simply reading in my room in the main building, wishing I could live there. It's true that breakfast is basic and the soap and shampoo are as well, but if you relate well to quiet media-free time, you will like it. If you prefer standard hotel amenities like really big towels and a hair dryer in the bathroom and a large-screen TV facing the bed, you'd probably best go elsewhere. The price is fair. The maid service is excellent. The hosts are unpretentious and friendly and have been there for a long time. Wellfleet and the Inn would qualify as an enclave of the past, the idea developed by Toffler in Future Shock, if anyone remembers that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nerd02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Don't look for the sahmpoo, conditioner, mouthwash. Only generic soap and a wipe for your make-up. Stayed in cabin. Very small room....no amenties.....spartin...no TV no radio no clock. The grounds are horrile. They have not been attended to in a long time. Simple breakfast set up. No menu to order from. Ordinary breakfast cakes. No pool....not much, ut not far from town.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This historic inn is cozy and decorated with antique furniture and memorabilia, adding an authentic touch to its impressive age. The rooms are not luxurious, but the style coincides well with the inn's theme, and the rates are fair. The owners are friendly and welcoming. And if you are enthralled by ghosts, this place is haunted (harmlessly) by previous residents.
My only complaint is that the breakfast is very basic (and no eggs!), so if you're expecting an elaborate meal, you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyaway214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellfleet
11.1 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,099 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wellfleet Motel
Wellfleet Motel
#2 of 4 in Wellfleet
237 reviews
3.6 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mainstay Motor Inn
Mainstay Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Wellfleet
52 reviews
9.3 mi away
Southfleet Motor Inn
Southfleet Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Wellfleet
137 reviews
4.7 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wagner at Duck Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wagner at Duck Creek

Address: 70 Main St, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wellfleet
Price Range: $163 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wagner at Duck Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History, Hospitality and Cape Cod Charm! An authentic New England Inn on five acres with duck pond offering rooms in three buildings spanning three hundred years. One-half mile to Village and one mile to Bay and Marina. "simple Cape Cod relaxation... an experience to remember"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Wagner at Duck Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Duck Creek Hotel Wellfleet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing