We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Holden Inn!!”
Review of Holden Inn

Holden Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellfleet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holden Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Wellfleet B&B and Inns
Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Holden Inn!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2007

We just got back from an 11 night stay at the inn in the Fountain Room – very homey accommodations with air conditioner and private bathroom – wonderful roomy closets. The gardens are beautifully kept and a nice place to bring in meals or breakfasts. The service is excellent – very friendly family and young man from Lithuania on the desk. The inn is close to great small shops and very good dining and seafood at the pier and near town beach. Other great beaches nearby and great theater at WHAT, Wellfleet Harbor Actors Theater. We saw three different shows. We LOVE it here! We have been coming for over 10 years and it just gets better! The Inn is a great base for exploring the Outer Cape – we drive the 12 miles to Provincetown to enjoy whale watching and shops and dining and return to The Holden Inn and bask in its peacefulness after the adventure of the day. It is a place to “leave it all behind” and enjoy quiet nature, great breezes, and caring people. Do not go if you are looking for a “modern motel” with no atmosphere

  • Liked — The laid back atmosphere,beautiful grounds and friendly hospitality.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeabirdVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    10
    13
    22
See reviews for
19
36
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OceanHottie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

Nice location - within walking distance of the beach, shops, restaurants. Staff was not helpful at all, probably the least friendly of any inn I've ever stayed in. Carpets have been there for wayyyyy too long and are disgusting. No coffee in the morning was a huge disappointment! Not even instant coffee. Owner wanted to charge us 45 dollars to keep our bags in the room for an extra few hours. Probably wouldn't return. Price isn't bad, but it really is a rooming house, not an inn.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OceanHottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellfleet hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

The Holden is a hidden jewel in dowtown Wellfleet.
Within walking distance to the bayside beaches,
shops, galleries and bars...we come back every year
to the Holden.
The Holden has a restful sweet feeling...an inn
that feels like your staying at a family members home.
You can either book one of the rooms in the guest house..on
the beautiful landscaped property...with gorgeous blooms
and areas to sit and relax...
or you can stay in the main guesthouse...these rooms
come with air conditioning.
Also...for a girl in grad school like myself...or for anyone else
watching their wallet...the prices you can't beat!
( Only downside...you have to share bathrooms..but my
friends and I never mind)...also has outdoor showers..which
we don't mind...The owners and summer help are
always friendly.
Try the Holden....

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank bostonnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

My husband and I just spent a week at the Holden Inn and generally had a wonderful stay. We were in the cottage, room 2 on the first floor. We were blessed with good weather, but we did use the window fan supplied and that kept us happy on the warmer nights. (Some rooms have air conditioners. Email the Youngs and ask them about different available rooms.) The young Lithuaniun man at the front desk was very nice. The location is wonderful-a short walk into town and to the pier on Kendrick Avenue, and a short drive to many wonderful beaches, ponds and restaurants. We asked for extra pillows and for help with a slow sink drain and both requests were quickly attended to. The shower head was rather frustrating-a hand held, but it was like being in europe and we lived with it. Not the most comfortable mattress in the world. The price of the room was so reasonable, and the town is just the best, so the issues we had were minor. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. I guess I'd give the Holden Inn an A- .

  • Liked — Location and charm
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable mattress. No refridgerator or TV.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tazbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

Just got back from the Cape last week. Our stay included one night at this motel. It is within walking distance of the waterfront and reasonably close to the main street. The guy on reception who is from Lithuania was very polite and helpful. These are the pros. The cons are that the rooms are very tired. It reminded us of staying in the spare room of an old grannys house. I would not recommend this place as I am sure that there are a lot better alternatives for a similar price.
Wellfleet is quite nice. There is a reasonable restaurant on the sea front. The town beach is very narrow and not great. The main street is quaint and has a great public library where you can get internet access.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2007

All I can say is you really can't beat the price. My husband and I stay at this Inn every year. We have family that rent a cottage around the block and spend most of our time there. They were most accomodating last year as we had car trouble and had left the key for us as we were not going to be there until 10pm. It is a real cute place and yes the walls are a bit thin. I have stayed in Inn's that were a bit more pricey and those walls were thin too. If you are just there to sleep and shower, it is a great place. Bring earplugs to sleep and a radio for a little entertainment if it makes you happy.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egriff965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2006

We just had a wonderful stay at the Holden Inn while attending The Wellfleet Oyster Fest. The owners were very accommodating and at check in told us not to worry about check out time on Sunday. Take your time when leaving. Super location, clean and quiet. Parked the car and and walked the entire week end. We'll be back next October.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellfleet
11.2 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
952 reviews
11.4 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
874 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wagner at Duck Creek
The Wagner at Duck Creek
#4 of 10 in Wellfleet
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
4.2 mi away
Wellfleet Motel
Wellfleet Motel
#2 of 4 in Wellfleet
219 reviews
3.0 mi away
Southfleet Motor Inn
Southfleet Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Wellfleet
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Inn

Property: Holden Inn
Address: 140 Commercial St, Box 816, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7446
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wellfleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Holden Hotel Wellfleet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing