We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oyster Fest Week End”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Holden Inn

Holden Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellfleet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holden Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Wellfleet B&B and Inns
Hartsdale
1 review
“Oyster Fest Week End”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2006

We just had a wonderful stay at the Holden Inn while attending The Wellfleet Oyster Fest. The owners were very accommodating and at check in told us not to worry about check out time on Sunday. Take your time when leaving. Super location, clean and quiet. Parked the car and and walked the entire week end. We'll be back next October.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    9
    13
    22
See reviews for
18
36
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

I was very disappointed and frustrated by my stay at the Holden Inn this month. First of all, the rooms are old and musty--and the bed seemed like it was going to fall apart at any moment. I could have overlooked the lack of amenities and lace of room aesthetic, if it wasn't for the rudeness of the owners. The owner was cold, mean and uptight and the other front desk staff member was extremely rude and unhelpful. You would think that an Inn that lacks in style and ambience would make up for it in customer service but I'm sad to say that I found the opposite to be true. They were awful. I must admit, the grounds of the Inn and the view from one of the patios is gorgeous--but these two things are the only positive things I can mention about the place. Wellfleet is a charming Cape town but please don't stay at this place.

  • Liked — Landscaping
  • Disliked — Customer serivce
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank righteoustraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellfleet hotels

Weston, MA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2005

Stay at the Holden Inn while in Wellfleet. You will be in perfect position to watch the sunset over the harbor, have a long, dinner with an ice cream cone chaser and leisurely stroll back to the inn. No car involved. Lots of nature appeal along the way. If relaxing is your goal, the inn can't be beat.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel12325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2004

The inn was similar to camping out; the shared bathrooms were dirty, rooms tired and musty, the beds small and the mattresses old. If privacy is what you are seeking, look elsewhere as you can hear the next person sneeze.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2004

I called the Holden to inquire about availability for a certain date. The lady on the phone was rude and hung up on me when she did't understand what I said . Called another place.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2004

This inn has been our oasis in Wellfleet for at least 12 years. We go down twice a year to get away from phones, TV and our hectic schedule. Just park your car in the generous lot and you may never need it again. You can walk to restaurants, galleries and beaches. The hosts are pleased to do what they can to make your visit a pleasureable one. This inn is a step back in time to the real Cape Cod where the water, weather, wildlife and an easy going lifestyle take precedence.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2004

We thoughly enjoyed our 2nd stay at The Holden Inn. The rooms are just charming and so comfortable. The owners are very informative and helpful. The Inn and grounds are so nice that we are considering the Holden to be the place for our garden wedding and reception. We will definatly spread the word and tell our friends of this special place in Wellfleet.

Helpful?
Thank dolphinBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellfleet
11.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
The Wagner at Duck Creek
The Wagner at Duck Creek
#5 of 10 in Wellfleet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.5 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Southfleet Motor Inn
Southfleet Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Wellfleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wellfleet Motel
Wellfleet Motel
#2 of 4 in Wellfleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
4.5 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#3 of 9 in Eastham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Inn

Property: Holden Inn
Address: 140 Commercial St, Box 816, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7446
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wellfleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Holden Hotel Wellfleet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing