We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautiful spot to return to year after year”
Review of Holden Inn

Holden Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellfleet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holden Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Wellfleet B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I have returned to The Holden Inn year after year for the past 20 years. Everything about this place has made our summer experiences at the Cape memorable; the staff, the tranquil setting, the beaches, the art galleries as well as the local history intrinsic to the Cape.

We did, however, have one negative experience this past year but it had nothing to do with the Inn itself or the staff. One family was particularly noisy and argumentative (yelling--throwing suitcases) above us. Obviously, there were some issues that couldn't be resolved in a polite manner. But this is a rarity (the first time we've experienced it) and not something we've seen before nor feel will experience again.

Bottom line: if you're looking for a quiet, affordable place to return to each season, The Holden Inn is a "gem!"

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delfinoshelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 99 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

I need to be fair to unsuspecting travelers. This place is AWFUL!! Had difficulty sleeping here; poor quality polyester sheets; mattress cover wouldn't stay tucked in and made lumps; no lamp shade; window wouldn't stay open for fresh air at night; no outlet in bathroom for nightlight, razor, or hairdryer; no light near mirror in bathroom or bedroom dresser;no hook to hang robe or gown in bathroom; floor under the bed filthy; bed rails dusty; no coffee or tea in room, nor any way to make it; unfriendly inhospitable feeling in the place; pathways to room flooded during and after a rain (had to take off our shoes to get to our room); management grumpy and not interested in our comments. No one ever asked or cared if we enjoyed our stay. Heard this place has been up for sale for several years. Wish someone with good attitude and lots of energy would buy it and upgrade it. With good management it could be a lovely place. But it is NOT a lovely place at this time!

Room Tip: I wouldn't know. We were never shown any nice rooms. Management didn't show any interest in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mamanonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachesMa, Owner at Holden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

We are sorry to hear that this guest had an unpleasant stay. We remember taking this reservation early in the season and discribed in depth the rooms available for their dates. Upon their decision we also extended a room discount for the length of stay. Each morning they made requests that we quickly took care of right away. One being that they didn't like the hurricane lamp which has been in this room for 25 years. So we replaced that lamp with another for their stay. We do not serve beverages or food as our rates reflect that- this let guests explore all the different restaurants in Wellfleet. As this couple headed to their car to enjoy the beach or wherever- we did in fact wish them a wonderful day as they departed daily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding at the Chequessett Inn in Wellfleet. The room was SUPER cheap for the Cape and it was where all of the wedding guests were staying. I don't think there are many other places to stay in the area besides B&B or inns - unless you rent a house. I'm giving this 3 stars still because I don't think I was expecting much anyway & the location is actually really good. The room was "quaint" (the polite word for small)...Very old & Creaky. I heard the cottages were a little nicer. There is no tv, the bed is uncomfortable, no full length mirror, hard to find an outlet to use a hairdryer to get ready! The location is great though...we went to the Pearl for dinner and drink down the street & during the day went to White Crest and Cohoon Hollow beaches (the Beachcomber restaurant is on this beach). If you are used to nice hotels, this is definitely not the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbum4843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

As a former childhood Cape resident my husband and I raised our children here on the Cape and now have grandchildren spread throughout various towns. We are locating back and in the process have stayed at inns etc while visiting but not until I surprised my husband booking a reservation at The Lodge at The Hoden Inn this past weekend did we find a true antique historical gem located conveniently on Commercial Street in lovely Wellfleet. How many times did we pass by in travels and living on the Cape only to find accommodations so well suited to us and can only bemoan 'better late than never!'. The lovely well maintained inn managed by the friendly and accommodating inn keeper; the grounds with lawn spreading about plantings and shrubbery ..... and there in front of us when driving in.....what is now our special accommodation The Lodge! ...... Situated so as to present lovely views of Wellfleet Harbor.....there is a welcoming screened porch with inviting rocking chairs to enjoy the breezes and views....and our special treat...an outside shower comfortable in size and offering privacy......the rooms range in size from single to twin and double and enough shared bathrooms.. all clean with shower and breezes if desired!! Our room was comfortable and quiet ..... which is asked and respected by guests ....and the absence of intrusive t.v., radio and telephone only enhanced our enjoyment of getting away from it all for the precious time we spent at the Lodge. The sparkling white Inn and Lodge and private cottage surrounded by quaint white fence beckon one back to quiet times which one enjoys staying with innkeepers Fred and Patty! We look forward to our next visit and get-away visits when residents once more of the Cape! The 'Finns!'

Room Tip: The Lodge offers pristine large porch with lovely views and fresh salty breezes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The worst hotel in Cape cod . In one room five spiders . I don't think is funny how houskeeping cleans. Could you imagine XXI century no refrigerator in rooms , no TV . Now I know why they don't answer phone. I have all photos w/ spiders . Terrible. Shame .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jolantabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Holden Inn offers the best location in Wellfleet. We enjoyed the screened in porch and the beautiful grounds after a long ride in the car. The harbour and the quaint town are just a short walk away. Cozy and well-kept. Good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckd674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I visited Wellfleet from Norway and met up with a good friend of mine, from Canada, who's been vacationing in Wellfleet since 1976. He suggested I should book a room at Holden Inn, and I stayed there for 6 days.from june 29th to july 5th. The room was small but cosy and the building was well kept in the original style, with a nice porch and old style interior. Location was excellent with short walk to harbour and the best restaurant in Wellfleet, The Pearl, and also short walk to the main street with stores for shopping. I will definately stay here again. Holden Inn is the best place to stay in Wellfleet, both pricewise and location.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the bay. Will give you a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mokors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellfleet hotels
0.5 mi away
The Wagner at Duck Creek
The Wagner at Duck Creek
#3 of 10 in Wellfleet
138 reviews
3.5 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
4.2 mi away
Wellfleet Motel
Wellfleet Motel
#2 of 4 in Wellfleet
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Southfleet Motor Inn
Southfleet Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Wellfleet
137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mainstay Motor Inn
Mainstay Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Wellfleet
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Inn

Address: 140 Commercial St, Box 816, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7446
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wellfleet
Price Range: $70 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Holden Hotel Wellfleet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing