We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good, but getting too pricey.”
Review of Wellfleet Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wellfleet Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Still good, but getting too pricey.”
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We've been going to this place for several years now, though we haven't been in the last 2.5 years up until this trip.

The room we stayed in was still really nice and we found the staff much nicer and more helpful than usual. Everything in the room was clean and there was no sign of any nasty critters (I always check when we first get into any hotel room).

Breakfast in the cafe was a little disappointing, especially when the vouchers we had hardly covered most of breakfast. It wasn't horrible by any means, just not what we expected based on our previous experience. We definitely preferred it when they gave you vouchers to one of the other restaurants for breakfast.

Also, this was the only time that staff was discourteous at all. Also, it seemed like there were bees flying around the dining area every morning.

So, while still a very decent place to stay, how were we disappointed? Well, the cost for a night of lodging here is getting ridiculous, and the usual shoulder/off-season price cut wasn't much. (To be fair, looking at rates right now looks better than when we went in September).

I think we're going to be willing to check out cheaper places next time, provided they have decent reviews.

  • Liked — Decent room/bed
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MonsterRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    86
    31
    21
    9
See reviews for
96
69
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2008

If you have kids and like good service, I would recommend you find a different place to stay.

  • Disliked — SERVICE
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VaK86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2008

One of the best places to stay on all of Cape Cod. Plenty of space, conveneint to both bay and beach, and warm, friendly, helpful and attractive staff!

  • Liked — The staff and surroundings
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyer057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

The name of this hotel is Wellfleet MOTEL and lodge. Not to be redundant, but it isn't the Wellfleet "resort" or the Wellfleet "B&B", yet this seems to be what people are complaining about in other reviews. For what it is (a roadside motel), this is a fabulous stay. It is very clean, the staff is really helpful, the pools (both of them) are great, and the restaurant is one of the best breakfast spots on Route 6. We stayed with a large party, spread across the three different buildings over four days, and it was just great for the price ($150 a night high season for a one-bed queen room). In this price range, you cannot get better this far out on the Cape. I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — outdoor pool
  • Disliked — quirky late night desk help
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgstine33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

This motel is pretty much as advertised. It is clean and a good location on the cape. However, the motel room is about as basic as they come. Tiny, old style TV. 2 skimpy, over-washed towels. No closet. A loud air conditioner that cycles on and off all night long. And, when we called at 9:30pm for 2 extra pillows (as opposed to just the 2 tiny thin ones on the bed), we were told we'd have to wait till after 11pm because they couldn't leave the front desk. This would all be tolerable if we weren't being charged $190 a night. They apparently increase the prices according to the weekend, as this was the July 4th weekend. But, we will never go back there as we felt the room and the service was no where close to being worth the money we paid.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The Room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RVJV113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We stayed here when we spent the weekend in Wellfleet. I liked it: it wasn't anything special, but the rooms were clean, they looked nice, the location is great (right on Route 6, but you can't hear the noise of the traffic, because of how the buildings are situated). The staff were super nice - Malcom at the front desk was very nice, friendly and helpful. And it was of course cheaper than B&Bs in Wellfleet. I am planning on staying here again during my many trips to Wellfleet this summer.

  • Liked — Location and how clean it was
  • Disliked — It was good overall, not complaints
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We had a very clean updated room, comfortable bed and nice linens. We could not hear highway traffic and felt the location perfect for the festival we attended in town. Somewhat pricey but it was just a overnighter.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellfleet
15.4 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
910 reviews
0.9 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
0.4 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#4 of 9 in Eastham
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Southfleet Motor Inn
Southfleet Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Wellfleet
129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viking Shores Motor Inn
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellfleet Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellfleet Motel

Property: Wellfleet Motel
Address: 170 U.S. 6, South Wellfleet, Wellfleet, MA 02663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wellfleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wellfleet Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
65 Room Resort located on 12 acres between the National Seashore and the Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary. Indoor/outdoor pools - hot tub - suites - king beds - Free Wi-Fi - Harrigan's Cafe - bike trail - B&B packages. Newly renovated. Green Certified. Solar powered. AAA Rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Wellfleet Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellfleet Hotel Wellfleet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing