We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Friendly Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Canyon De Chelly Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chinle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A business project brought me to Chinle for several days. I chose to stay at the Best Western as the reviews were good and a fellow worker told me he had stayed there and it was clean and reasonable. I was very pleased with my stay. The hotel was not super busy as the tourist season does not start until March, I am told. This is an older property but extremely well maintained and the Navajo staff is very friendly. I had all my meals at the Junction Restaurant which is conveniently located on the Best Western property. You can even get meals to go. My room was simple but very clean with a nice flat screen tv. I got to know some of the employees and they were very helpful with directions etc. The lobby offers two guest computers but I brought my laptop with me. There are fast food restaurants around but I prefer to eat healthy and I worked out in the Best Western fitness center. I recommend this hotel and their restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlazeRiderRoute66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCanyondeChelly, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Canyon De Chelly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Canyon de Chelly Inn for your business stay. Thank you for the feedback regarding our clean rooms, pleasant and helpful staff. We were also pleased to hear that you chose to dine at the Junction Restaurant conveniently located next to the hotel and that you enjoyed the food and service. We hope that you will visit us again and recommend us to others.

Warm regards,
SK Barnett
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here in conjunction with our visit to the Canyon - which was well worth it. We were on our way from Balloon Fiesta in Albuquerque to Page/Lake Powell. Selection in Chinle is VERY limited - a Holiday Inn and the BW. The ratings for the BW seemed a bit above the HI so we selected it. If in the area again we'd try the HI.

This was the first BW we've stayed at that did not provide at least a continental breakfast. The room was average and clean. Staff at check in seemed remote and one had the feeling that they weren't necessarily delighted to see us since we had little choice and both the HI and BW were fully booked and they were both turning away people who arrived in Chinle without reservations (don't know where they spent the night but several came into the office while we were checking in).

Given the beauty of the Canyon and its history I'm surprised that there aren't more hotels in Chinle.

Room Tip: Our room was well back from the main road but there was little traffic at night so location was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandriver125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCanyondeChelly, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Canyon De Chelly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Best Western Canyon de Chelly Inn Guest:

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Canyon de Chelly Inn. Canyon de Chelly National Monument is a maginificent natural wonder. We are pleased you enjoyed it. Thank you for noticing that your room was very clean. Our hotel housekeeping staff takes great pride in the cleanliness of the rooms. We receive many compliments about our housekeeping staff. There is a room rate offered inclusive of breakfast. You chose the room rate without breakfast. We have guests that sometimes do not want breakfast included as they may be leaving early, may be dining with their tour group or they may just prefer to dine in our full service restaurant located on the property and order off the menu and be served. I noticed that you said we were sold out but realized that your stay at our property was around 4 months ago. Yes, October is tourist season and we do get a large percentage of European Travelers and tour groups to the Canyon around that time so reservations are recommended. Thanks for visiting us and thank you for your business.

Warm regards,
SK Barnett
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Chinle is the gateway town to canyon de chelly. There are only a handful of places to stay and eat there. We were very satisfied with our 2 night stay. Room was spacious, functional and clean. Small work out room. We were greeted warmly and the front desk was helpful. The adjacent restaurant, The Junction, was much better than expected. I would recommend.

Room Tip: Further away from the main road would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCanyondeChelly, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Canyon De Chelly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Best Western Canyon de Chelly Guest:

We kindly thank you for visiting the Canyon de Chelly National Monument area and for choosing the Best Western for your two night stay. Thank you. We really appreciate your business! Our guests are important to us and so is their feedback. We are pleased to hear that you found your room to be very clean, quiet and spacious. We are also pleased to hear that the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. This is the way we expect all of our guests to be treated. Thank you for the feedback. Thank you for also choosing the Junction Restaurant located on the Best Western property to dine at. So glad you enjoyed the food. Please recommend us to others and hope to see you again someday!

Warm regards,
SK Barnett
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

For a motel that's really in the middle of nowhere, this place is delightful. Nothing spectacular, but all you need for a good night's sleep while touring around the Canyon and other attractions. Breakfast isn't included -- which is a bummer -- but the restaurant was reasonably priced and the food was adequate. (The fry bread was excellent, and the very generous serving gives you enough to take to the room for a midnight snack.) However, you probably won't need it because you will not be awake at midnight. You'll be sleeping soundly in the clean, dry air and the quiet of being far enough off the road to avoid traffic noise. And, in case you have early morning reservations for the drive into the Canyon, you need to know that the entire area is on daylight savings time while the rest of Arizona is not. So be sure your clock is set correctly before turning in to avoid confusion.

Room Tip: Rooms across the back of the layout are farthest from the road, but road noise doesn't seem to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPincheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCanyondeChelly, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Canyon De Chelly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Best Western Canyon de Chelly Inn Guest:

Thank you for your positive feedback and great comments about your stay at our hotel. The housekeeping staff at the Best Western Canyon de Chelly does work hard to ensure that our guests have very clean accommodations. We so appreciate that you noticed. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room! We were also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food at our own Junction Restaurant and that you really enjoyed our homemade fry bread. The frybread is a specialty! The Junction Restaurant located adjacent to the Best Western is convenient and offers a wide variety of selections on the menu including a Pizza Hut Express menu. Yes, the Navajo Nation does observe 'Daylight Saving Time' during the observed months which are mid-March to early November. Thank you again and we hope that you will recommend us to others.

Best regards,
SK Barnett
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank SAISr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BWCanyondeChelly, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Canyon De Chelly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Accidently book an ADA room on my phone so all parking was Handicapped, staff allowed me to park there any way. The room was wonderful, large and clean, the ladies at the front desk were very nice, even when confronted with rude and obnoxious tourists (you know who you are)! The property has a restaurant, The Junction, very good. A great place to stay when visiting Canyon de Chelly NP, 4 miles down the road.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Chuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCanyondeChelly, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Canyon De Chelly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Best Western Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to submit your comments in regards to your visit at the Best Western Canyon de Chelly Inn located in Chinle, AZ, home of the gorgeous Canyon de Chelly National Monument. Thank you for your nice comments about our front desk girls in that they are friendly and helpful. They do follow a detailed Best Western Customer Care Training Program to ensure that our guests receive the best customer service. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room accommodations and that the food at our own Junction Restaurant located adjacent to the Best Western was really good. Thanks so much for your business. Please recommend us to others.

Best regards,
Kim Barnett
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is well located for access to Canton de Chelly, which is stunning. Initially we found the area a little intimidating, partially as the hotel has bars on the bathroom windows! But discovered the locals to be friendly and very hospitable. The hotel is clean and comfortable, and the staff were below average in terms of friendliness. However we stopped over on the Wednesday before Thanks giving and were greeted with” The restaurant is over there but its closed tonight and tomorrow – the pool is over there but is closed as well” We really struggles to find anything to eat, resorting to a take out pizza from the supermarket for dinner. The following day – there was nothing open for breakfast (even the towns Fast food joints BK and AW were closed) – so we bought donuts from the local gas station. Even though there were people stopping over – the hotel made no provision for alternative dining arrangements, and didn’t even suggest options! This is the only Best Western we have stayed in that offered no breakfast facilities, while still charging a premium rate. You get a dated but clean room – and nothing else.

Would we visit Canton De Chelly again – yes! Would we stop at the Best Western- Probably not.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCanyondeChelly, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Canyon De Chelly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your comments and feedback in regards to your stay at the Best Western Canyon de Chelly Inn and the Canyon de Chelly National Monument area. The Canyon itself is indeed stunning as you say. Such a magnificent natural wonder. We were pleased to hear that you found your room to be up dated and very clean. Our housekeeping staff does work hard to ensure that our guests have nice clean accommodations. We do appreciate your business and apologize that our restaurant was closed on Thanksgiving Day but that is the one day during the year that we do close. Typically, the Canyon de Chelly area (Chinle) does not get many visitors during the Thanksgiving Holiday. I am sorry that you found all of the restaurants in Chinle to be closed on Thanksgiving, including fast food restaurants. Again, that is because the area does not get many visitors during that time. Our front desk girls to advise the guests upon making their reservations that the restaurant will be closed on Thanksgiving Day. We apologize for the pool being closed on that day but one of the heater parts had gone out and we were replacing it on that day. We did post that the pool was closed for maintenance. The bars on the bathroom windows on the lower level were part of the design when the building was built. Thank you for your comment that the Navajo people are friendly and hospitable. They also can be quiet by nature but not to be taken as unfriendly. We sincerely appreciate your business and we do hope that if you decide to visit the Canyon de Chelly area again, that you will stay with us. Thank you.

Best regards,
SK Barnett
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Canyon De Chelly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Canyon De Chelly Inn

Address: 100 Main Street, Chinle, AZ 86503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Chinle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chinle
Price Range: $87 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Canyon De Chelly Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this 100% non-smoking Chinle, Arizona hotel located minutes away from the picturesque Canyon De Chelly National Monument, Hubbell Trading Post and Chuska Mountain. Situated only four miles from Northern Arizona's Canyon De Chelly National Monument, the BEST WESTERN Canyon De Chelly Inn provides guests with friendly customer service and comfortable accommodations for an affordable price. Each well-appointed guest room at this Chinle area hotel features cable satellite television with HBO® and high-speed Internet access. Begin each morning with a delicious meal at the Junction Restaurant, located onsite, before taking advantage of hotel amenities such as a newly remodeled indoor heated swimming pool and spa, steam room, and business center. The hotel also features an outdoor picnic area and meeting facilities accommodating up to 80 guests. Enjoy an afternoon Jeep tour of the Canyon De Chelly Monument, arranged by the hotel or visit the Hubbell Trading Post historic site for an insight into the history of the Navajo Nations area. Guest will also love a day of fun horseback riding through the scenic outdoors or hunting on Chuska Mountain, just a short distance from the hotel. Take a quick day trip from the hotel to visit the Four Corners, the Painted Desert and the Petrified Forest or enjoy local entertainment at the annual Central Navajo Nations Fair. Other nearby attractions include Tsaile Lake, Wheatfield Lake, The Hopi Reservation and Monument Valley. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Canyon De Chelly Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Chinle, Arizona. Make a reservation today and save! The Junction is closed on all major U.S. Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Canyon De Chelly Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canyon De Chelly Hotel Chinle
Best Western Chinle
Chinle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing