We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
HolidayInn.com
$94
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/31/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$94
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/31/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/28/21
Booking.com$94
Hotels.com$94
ZenHotels.com$96
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,041)
Filter reviews
1,041 results
Traveler rating
185
494
266
68
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
185
494
266
68
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the holiday inn canyon de chelly restaurant garcia visitors
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 1,041 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2017

I was surprised at the quality of this Holiday Inn given the fact that with few options it could definitely be worse and visitors wouldn't have a choice. It probably was another motel originally since it is set up with three separate buildings (a lobby/gift shop/dining building and then two buildings with the actual hotel rooms). As another reviewer noted the buildings are two stories and there is no elevator. None of the buildings are connected so you either have to walk or drive from one to the other.

My room was nice and clean and bathroom was great. Some rooms had balconies, but those I saw where facing the parking lot so that's not much of an incentive for me. My room faced a hillside, which was nice, but I don't know if there were any balconies on that side of the hotel as my room did not have one. I was there over Memorial Day and there was a tour bus and lots of motorcycles in the parking lot, so it was crowded, but not terribly loud. It also appeared that there was a function going on when I arrived so as another reviewer noted you may want to call ahead if you are planning a special dinner at the hotel as there aren't a lot of dining options in Chinle. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and upkeep of the hotel.

My complaints are fairly minor. I couldn't check in early (at 1:00 pm) because the checkout time is noon. I rarely ever check in early, but after driving all morning it would have been nice to freshen up a bit, but I do understand that it was busy over the holiday weekend. I also realized I forgot my brush and saw that they offered free toiletries. If I recall correctly the standard toiletry placard in the bathroom said to call and they would bring you the missing item. I called and was told I would have to come to the lobby. As I mentioned this meant a walk across a large parking lot to another building and of course I realized I was missing my brush after I had changed into my pajamas and gotten ready for bed so needless to say I was annoyed at myself for forgetting my brush and then further annoyed that I had to get dressed again to get a cheap plastic comb so I could deal with my hair the next morning. So again, it was my fault, but it was one time I wish someone could have just dropped by my room. I suspect it was because the staff was limited and couldn't leave the front desk area. All in all though I think the Holiday Inn is probably the best option in Chinle. It's also right outside the Canyon de Chelly entrance and visitors center so you can bypass any traffic (and as another reviewer rightfully noted free-range animals) on your way to the rim drives.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kjclower
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017

There are not a lot of hotel options near Canyon de Chelly, but this one works well for proximity to the park. It is a basic Holiday Inn, but the rooms were fine and were kept clean, and the hotel grounds are quite nice. There is a small-ish pool area (I was there before pool season so wasn't able to try it out) and attractive garden space near it. Meals in the restaurant were fine if not fancy (I was with a tour group and we had an extensive breakfast buffet - not sure if that is available for individual travelers). Be aware that the hotel does not have elevators, and also that they do not serve alcoholic beverages (I think the entire town does not). I did see some horses a field next to the hotel, but never saw them on the roads.

Room tip: If you can't do stairs, ask for a first floor room - no elevators.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017

Hotel is conveniently located a short distance from park entrance, but in a very desolate area. Remarkably, Rooms and keys were ready for our travel group of 29 people despite our arriving right at 4p. Unfortunately, the only way up to 2nd floor rooms are via steps making it very difficult for those of us who were disabled. Unless you drive into town area, the hotel restaurant is the only place to eat, but pleasantly surprised at quality. There is an outdoor pool and patio area which makes a nice place to sit and visit while drinking coffee or hot chocolate. Rooms don't have microwaves, but staff promptly delivered one to a member's room upon inquiring.

Room tip: If disabled or unable to climb steps for any reason, request ground floor and be sure to confirm request a day or two before arrival.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paramedic952016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017

We were happy to find a hotel close to the National Park and it was perfect for that. However, the restaurant was closed for both lunch and dinner for private events and it would have been nice to have a warning as this was our anniversary and we wanted to eat someplace other than fast food. The rooms are clean and spacious and the grounds are nice but it could be improved by having some chairs on the patio or balcony of your room so you could enjoy the outdoors.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NancyBirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017

Few choices in Chinle to stay but this hotel was clean, nice grounds and outside pool. Only a few restaurants in town and a Subway and Burger King. Hotel does have a restaurant on property and is located only 1/2 from visitors center. We only drove along the South Rim and stopped at all the overlooks. There are very steep cliffs so hold on to children! Stop at the National Park Welcome Center (No admission to drive along the rim). Enjoyed a lecture on the Navajo Hogan there. Be aware - this is open range and in the middle of the street you will find loose cows and horses. It's very dangerous at night!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connieb609
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews