We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay in Chinle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chinle
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Place to Stay in Chinle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went to visit the Canyon de Chelley a few weeks ago and we stayed at the Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelley. The staff was professional and helpful. Jarvin checked us in and he definitely should follow a career in hospitality. The room was great and we wanted quiet so we got a room in the back building facing the hill (I think it's the even numbered rooms). It was very, very cold outside but we didn't notice it at all inside and the heater / ac was quiet. Wifi allowed us to watch a couple of movies so no problems there.

The location of the hotel is great - just right outside the Canyon de Chelley. Not that you have many options in Chinle.

If you go to Canyon de Chelley, check the weather. We knew it would be cold but did not expect the fog.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask for the back building (even numbered?? face a quiet hill odd numbered face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william_richter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    422
    220
    57
    19
See reviews for
203
423
38
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn located just outside the Canyon de Chelly park entrance during the holidays. We found courteous & professional greeting us & ensuring we would be happy w/ a quiet room (bldg located in the back, 2nd story facing away from parking lot & farther from the mail doors).

Jarvin & Eleanor were standouts as they helped us w/ the room, prompt attention & even found an item I'd left behind so it could be quickly mailed to me (at no cost to me).

We liked the food as well - I suggest the angus burger (they made the fries to order too)!

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask to be in the back building separate from the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viroflay
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

What a pitty but there were too much mosquitoes, to go from the welcome desk to your room, from your room to the hotel, to go to the pool (impossible to stay at the pool), you have to close your room door very quickly.
Because otherwise, the hotel is good, the rooms are large and confortable, the beds OK.
The restaurant is run independently but you can charge on your room. In the summer, restaurant closes at 9 pm and it is often queuing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Because of the location out of town and the fact that it is close to the Visitor Center, the Holiday Inn is the best choice when you wish to visit the Canyon de Chelly.

We booked ten months ahead asking for a King size bed on the pool. Checking in we were offered a Queen size bed at the back because our room was given (at 3:00 pm) to people on a bus tour! We asked for the manager, showed him our written confirmation and were given the requested room! So....come prepared.

Otherwise this hotel is clean and quiet, parking is easy, room spacious, convenient fridge, Wifi no problem, large bathroom with amenities and the pool, small but perfect for a good swim after a long day.

There is also a very nice gift shop with a good selection of Navajo items and nice and helpful staff.

The Garcia's Restaurant on the premises was OK. Large without atmosphere, it can be noisy. The Navajo menu was interesting and while there why not try the Navajo Frybread, quite unique and excellent. The Navajo Taco was a very generous dish, so generous that it was too much for one person. My husband had an excellent Angus burger and fries. The price overall, despite the heavy taxes on the reservation, was in keeping with the service, quality and quantity.

Not a bad choice and we would not hesitate, going back to Chinle, to go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The room was very comfortable, clean and had everything we needed to make us feel at ease. We found out the restaurant serves delicious meals...but no alcohol is allowed. Breakfast was also great. The pool was awesome. Service at the hotel as well as at the restaurant is great.
We were able to visit the Canyon very early the following day since the hotel is quite near from it. I'd love to come back!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank April I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KITTANNING
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Not many meal choices in Chinle. The room was pleasant and clean. Also quiet. The restaurant was a total disappointment. A very limited menu---6-8 entrees and some sandwiches. The food was expensive, the service was awful. Had to go find a wait staff to get water, the bill and a menu.
Food was less average. Skip this place and go to the Junction.

Room Tip: The place is quiet all over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Art S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the food selections, and service prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
187 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice Holiday Inn. It is clean, quiet, well-decorated and the staff is very friendly. Our room had two double beds, a table and two comfortable upholstered chairs, a triple dresser, flat screen tv and a refrigerator--everything we needed for a one night stay while visiting Canyon de Chelly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GardeningBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly

Property: Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly
Address: Garcia Trading Post, Chinle, AZ 86503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Chinle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chinle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly hotel in Chinle, Arizona is located at the gateway to the Canyon de Chelly National Monument, the 2nd largest canyon in the United States! Just minutes from the canyon, you can tour the area with one of the local tour guides or you may do a self-guided tour of the canyon look-out points. The canyon has a total of 11 look-out points, all which have views of ancient ruins, petroglyphs, and pictographs. The hotel is a part of the historic Garcia's Trading Post located in the heart of the Navajo Nation Reservation. Enjoy a delicious meal in the Garcia's Restaurant which has a casual southwestern flavor. Or if you would rather enjoy a quiet and private meal, room service is available during regular restaurant hours. In our giftshop you can find beautiful Native American jewelry and southwestern works of art. For your convenience, vehicle tours into the canyon are available at the giftshop. At the end of the day, you can take a stroll through our beautiful courtyard or take a refreshing dip in our heated, outdoor pool(seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Canyon De Chelly Hotel Chinle
Holiday Inn Chinle
Chinle Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing