We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room, comfy bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chinle
LittleTown, Ar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean room, comfy bed”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights last week. We were greeted at the desk by a young man who was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean, both inside and out despite the rains that had been flooding the area. The room was large, updated, and well stocked. Because our purpose of the trip was to visit Canyon De Chelly, I really liked the location.

If we travel to Chinle again, this is the place I'm staying.

Thank you Holiday Inn, Chinle for a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    425
    222
    58
    19
See reviews for
205
426
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
193 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We drove and drove and were absolutely depleted when we arrived. We were very happy with our room (clean, restful, relatively quiet - we could hear the TV next door through the wall, but that seems to be the norm more and more unfortunately) and the hallway and the situation. So much so that we cancelled all our other reservations in the area and made Chinle our base. The pool was delightful. The restaurant was lively, welcoming and perfectly fine. All those of you who order the Navajo Taco and then complain that it might be fried and cheesey should back off and eat your power bar. Rebecca at the front desk handled her job perfectly and with aplomb, as did Adrianne in the restaurant; especially in view of the fact that the place was filled with a combination of people from France, New York City, and Germany; many of whom did not speak English.
If you are considering the Best Western, all I can say is that I was so, so happy that I had chosen the Holiday Inn instead.
One of the best features of the Holiday Inn is that the complex is situated in a site surrounded by pretty red rock mounds, isolating it from the surrounding area, which is, after all, in a desert. It is a little oasis.
Stay here.

Room Tip: You think you want a room facing the pool, but you don't. Everyone then can walk by you, and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SampleASample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed there for almost 1 year as I worked in the area, the staff was very friendly and always made me feel at home. The room was always cleaned well and the staff would "let me in" on local deals and activities. The Wi-Fi could/should be upgraded, and since I stayed for such a long time, I certainly would appreciate more channels to be available on the TV.

Room Tip: Rooms in the "back" building are farther from the busy traffic pattern/noise, but also far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a decent motel located right outside the entrance to Canyon de Chelly. The rooms are in decent shape. It has nice grounds with some grass and a small outdoor pool (no jacuzzi). There is a restaurant and gift store on-site.

The one drawback is very weak Wi-Fi. It basically doesn't work, so be prepared.

Other than that, it is a nice, clean property. The restaurant has decent food, but pretty slow service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear vacationman18,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. It is our pleasure to accommodate our guests needs the best way we can and we are so pleased you were satisfied with our convenient ocation and the room you had. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced due to the restaurant service and the wifi. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My family stayed here 2 nights during our visit to Canyon de Chelly. The hotel is away from the town, but very close to the Canyon de Chelly Visitor Center & National Monument. We were greeted by the dogs that roam the property, but are not bothersome. Check-in process was efficient. Our room was spotless clean & comfortable. We also made use of the onsite laundry facilities. We didn't have time to take a dip in the pool though. We ate at the onsite restaurant, Garcia's, once for breakfast (ordered omelets off the breakfast menu & these were huge & the blue-corn pancakes were delicious!) and once for dinner. Overall a good hotel for a short stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building at the back of the hotel as these are away from the pool area so offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StPatrickGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Arrived at dusk and decided to try it out since we planned to tour the Canyon the following day. The desk clerk, Rebecca, was sympathetic to my desire to keep the dog in the room. After explaining the pet policy she offered a room with easy access to the parking area so I could keep an eye on him. She also helped me secure a very good rate. Rebecca was fantastic. We also enjoyed a pleasant meal in the restaurant. (PS - this is the first motel I've stayed in with a cattle guard at the entrance!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel with our 3 kids (aged 15, 12 and 9). Being a Holiday Inn, this hotel is no ****** but the building is nice, built in what seems traditional style, the rooms are clean, the food is good, the pool is great after a (long) walk down in the canyon and...to top it all, the staff is extremely helpful. They really went of their way to help us whenever we needed something, be it an electrical adaptor or bottled water while the store and restaurant where closed. And all of it with a broad smile!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramillies64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly

Property: Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly
Address: Garcia Trading Post, Chinle, AZ 86503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Chinle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chinle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly hotel in Chinle, Arizona is located at the gateway to the Canyon de Chelly National Monument, the 2nd largest canyon in the United States! Just minutes from the canyon, you can tour the area with one of the local tour guides or you may do a self-guided tour of the canyon look-out points. The canyon has a total of 11 look-out points, all which have views of ancient ruins, petroglyphs, and pictographs. The hotel is a part of the historic Garcia's Trading Post located in the heart of the Navajo Nation Reservation. Enjoy a delicious meal in the Garcia's Restaurant which has a casual southwestern flavor. Or if you would rather enjoy a quiet and private meal, room service is available during regular restaurant hours. In our giftshop you can find beautiful Native American jewelry and southwestern works of art. For your convenience, vehicle tours into the canyon are available at the giftshop. At the end of the day, you can take a stroll through our beautiful courtyard or take a refreshing dip in our heated, outdoor pool(seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Canyon De Chelly Hotel Chinle
Holiday Inn Chinle
Chinle Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing