We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to chose from”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chinle
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not much to chose from”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Chinle because a friend stayed at the Best Western and said this was a better choice. OK accommodations, very slow wi-fi that kept dropping all the time. Breakfast is not completely included, since a $20.00 voucher is given per day per room. The restaurant where the breakfast is served (inside the main section of the hotel) doesn't belong to the Holiday Inn and has a terrible service. The breakfast buffet is one of the worst that we have ever had (no orange juice, old grapes and some apples as only fruit, small stale pastries, overcooked cold eggs, and a few more options). A la carte items are very overpriced. We also had dinner there, and the service by a particular waitress was atrocious (she refused to clear the table and to bring silverware to eat our desserts). Food is expensive and not very good. Overall, there are not many options in the area, and this hotel is right by the canyon. We didn't know about the Thunderbird Lodge, and next time we'd try that place before going back to this Holiday Inn. We definitely would never again eat at their restaurant

Room Tip: Stay away from main road, it's noisy at night. Pool is nice. There are stray dogs in the prem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Alex M,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    432
    223
    58
    19
See reviews for
207
429
41
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were not satisfied with the service in this hotel and this was the worst experience on our trip in 4 Corners! People from hotel front desk to restaurant are not friendly nor helpful! We arrived at 2pm and asked to check if the bed is firm enough but no viewing is allowed. The lady behind the counter called and asked the room service and the answer was firm OF COURSE! Anyway, we decided to stay as the hotel overall newer than Thunderbird and near the park than Best Western. However, the receiption claimed that no check-in is available and asked us to return by 3pm, what a inflexible service! We booked the room online with breakfast which did not say any limited in cost. However, we were given with $20 breakfast credit coupon for 2 persons which does not include tax and tips. I told the counter lady that there is no cost limit mentioned online booking and she claimed she had no idea what the online saying but this is what they provided to all customers. Services in the restaurant was not good either and the breakfast buffet was the worst breakfast on the trip! Later on we found out the restaurant business is seperated from the hotel. Anyway, we found people in Canyon De Chelly in general are not so helpful compared to other places in 4 Corners! We give 2 stars on the rating just because the room was in a reasonable condition and clean and good location to the park!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mingi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Pither,

Thank you for staying with us. I am deeply sorry you received service which was less than satisfactory. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Grove, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Pleasantly surprised of this hotel and the reasonable price. Great location to visit Canyon de Chelly. Room was quiet,very clean,comfortable bed with lots of pillows,coffee maker,big screen TV and quality-Bath & Body Works lotion & shampoo. Ate both nights at the Junction Restaurant next to Best Western Hotel. Great food,good prices and large quanity. Especially enjoyed the Navajo dishes such as a shredded beef wrapped in a Navajo tortilla and their pork stew.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

For spring break our family took a driving tour of the southwest and we enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly. The hotel is located very close to the picturesque and stunning Canyon de Chelly National Monument. The hotel is not lavish, but the staff is friendly and accomodating. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The perfect spot for a visit to Chinle and the national monument.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Not only would I consider our experience solidly in the very good category, I would add that this is one of the nicest Holiday Inn's I have been in anywhere. it is a lovely counterpoint to the rustic/dusty/primal environs which we were lucky to be in.
we arrived before the cottonwoods had a chance to grow their spring greenery, yet Canyon de Chelly continues to be a transporting experience. The hotel was a welcome, relaxing haven.
I had some odd experiences on the phone with some of the support staff prior to our check-in. Some of this I would attribute to cultural/communication differences. Once we arrived the front desk staff was friendly.
You will find the hotel is immediately adjacent to the park, which makes getting around very convenient.

Room Tip: cars can Backup to rear door/windows which which makes ground-floor accommodations preferable. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MomoBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were extremely pleased with our stay at Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly. It's 2 minutes away from the visitor center at Canyon de Chelly. The hallways and rooms both smell clean. The room was the cleanest room we've stayed in on our cross-country road trip this spring. The room and bathroom are both VERY spacious. The bathroom counter and room furniture both have plenty of surface space to hold luggage, nothing has to be set on the floor. The location is quiet - it's on a lightly traveled side road, 2 miles away from the nearest highway. Other hotels we've stayed in this vacation (same price range) have been nowhere near as clean and comfortable as this one. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms on the first floor have a view of a pretty courtyard. The even numbered rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crazypilotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This hotel is right near the visitor center and the canyon. My wife and I stayed here for that reason and also it was away from the highway running through Chinle.
We were very satisfied with this hotel as the room was very clean, spacious enough for overnight with a kingsize bed. The bed was comfortable and the room proved to be quiet for sleeping.
If you get a room on the ground floor of the building, you can park right in front of it and take you luggage in through sliding doors. Found all the staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scuba312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly

Property: Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly
Address: Garcia Trading Post, Chinle, AZ 86503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Chinle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chinle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly hotel in Chinle, Arizona is located at the gateway to the Canyon de Chelly National Monument, the 2nd largest canyon in the United States! Just minutes from the canyon, you can tour the area with one of the local tour guides or you may do a self-guided tour of the canyon look-out points. The canyon has a total of 11 look-out points, all which have views of ancient ruins, petroglyphs, and pictographs. The hotel is a part of the historic Garcia's Trading Post located in the heart of the Navajo Nation Reservation. Enjoy a delicious meal in the Garcia's Restaurant which has a casual southwestern flavor. Or if you would rather enjoy a quiet and private meal, room service is available during regular restaurant hours. In our giftshop you can find beautiful Native American jewelry and southwestern works of art. For your convenience, vehicle tours into the canyon are available at the giftshop. At the end of the day, you can take a stroll through our beautiful courtyard or take a refreshing dip in our heated, outdoor pool(seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Canyon De Chelly Hotel Chinle
Holiday Inn Chinle
Chinle Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing