We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Simple Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of GARCIA 'S

GARCIA 'S
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Chinle
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: INSTALLE DANS L'HOLYDAY INN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Simple Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We ate here after a day at the Canyon. We had eaten at the Thumderbird Lodge and had a Subway sandwich earlier so our supper seemed very tasty indeed. The chicken special was good and hubby said his Navajo Taco was good. The food was nutritious and simple. Some of the staff was friendly some not. The girl who waited on us was very nice.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dgrif1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    87
    53
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Livorno, Italy
Level Contributor
301 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Poor service and quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We tried this place one night, bored by the cafeteria inside the park. We arrived early, among the first costumers, but it took forever to be served, and staff was inattentive at all . One beef meal came without bread (which was listed in the menu), the chicken fajitas came as beef fajitas, and the beef was not eatable at all. The coke without ice for my daughter came full of ice. Chinle is a very "sad" small town, and this place, despite the location inside the Holiday Inn, is very very sad as well. We regret the cafeteria.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Desert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Chinle offers only 3 restaurants plus a few fast food places and a cafeteria out at a campground that should be avoided; so the choices are severely limited. We tried them all and were delighted with Garcia's (at the Hol Inn). It's the best choice for a table service meal in Chinle, breakfast, lunch or dinner.

I am surprised by the negative reviews since we ate at Garcia's for most of our meals over a 10 day period and with rare exception had very good to excellent food and always warm, efficient service. I don't understand the 3rd place rating as it is definitely No. 1 with us! No liquor or wine is allowed anywhere on the Navajo Reservation, but Garcia's offers alcohol-free beer and wine.

Very nice salad bar and many tasty entrees. Breakfast Quesadilla is generous and tasty. There's a nice Mexican style buffet lunch for only $8.95 (bargain for what's provided). A few dinner entrees were pricey, but plenty of other choices at more reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Oh what would Michael Irvine say?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Chinle has obvious limitations as a restaurant town, but there's no excuse for this. My chicken fried steak was accompanied by corn (frozen on cob), mashed potatoes (instant) and gravy (out of some kind of package). Now the room was full, but what other choices are there in Chinle. Stay somewhere else but Chinle.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mablumberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, CT
Level Contributor
362 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Convenient eatting if staying at Holiday inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We ate dinner and breakfast here during our stay in Chinle. It is part of the Holiday inn. Chinle has very limited restaurant options, the food at Garcias was nothing fancy but it was good and reasonable. Kids est free. Get a coupon for the kids at the front desk of the hotel. Chinle is dry so no wine or beer is available. Garcias looks like the best option in town

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 712christineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GARCIA 'S? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing