We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Wow" delivered in ease.”

Beauty Way Jeep Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Beauty Way Jeep Tours formally known as De Chelly Tours offers Half Day and All Day Vehicle tours into Canyon De Chelly National Monument. Ya'at'eeh (hello) to all our family and friends! We are all thrilled to announce that this summer marks our 25th Anniversary as an established tour company in Canyon de Chelly, Arizona!! As a young man, my great grandfather, Chauncey Neboyia, first led groups of archeologist and others into the canyon, and eventually helped it to become a National Monument in 1931. Over the next few decades he would teach his children and grandchildren about the history, stories, and traditions of the canyons, and it was here where my father, Daniel Staley (grandson of Chauncey) picked up his vast knowledge of the canyons and all its wonders. Chauncey first led groups by foot, horse and wagon, then over the years Daniel started adding 4x4 vehicles and established "De Chelly Tours" as the first Navajo-owned tour business in Canyon de Chelly in 1989. We are the longest running Navajo family-owned and operated tour company in Canyon de Chelly that offers 4x4 tours, hiking and camping. We are so very happy and proud of our family's legacy and I feel completely honored to be the one to continue the family business and take it to new levels and share our beautiful home with you all. I feel like I learn something new about the canyon all the time and I hope to someday have as much knowledge of the canyon as my father and great grandfather.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
1 review
“"Wow" delivered in ease.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Leander's adept presentation of the world of De Chelly delivered in his trademark - and impressive - easy manner, attests to the years immersed in the oral history of the canyon and its inhabitants - both as a witness sitting at the feet of former guides and canyon inhabitants such as his father, as well as actively as a De Chelly guide himself. The tour given to my son, mother, and myself, is a monumental event of a lifetime which Leander made memorable. He met us with gentleness and laughter at first, giving way to laughter and joking as he graciously opened his world to us and made us feel accepted. THANK YOU LEANDER!!! No wonder you were chosen as Depp's driver while shooting the movie in the canyon!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank galenbrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    20
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The only way to see the Canyon de Chelly up close and personal is to book a jeep tour with a Navajo guide. Our guide, Benjamin Anagal, was very knowledgeable and friendly and the history lesson and personal experiences he shared with us were amazing. He grew up in the Canyon and his family still has property there. In fact, his sister weaves Navajo rugs in the Canyon. The scenery is spectacular and the ruins and petroglyphs amazing. Being classically trained singers, my friend and I remarked on the amazing natural acoustics. Ben serenaded us on his flute...the purity of the sound combined with the quiet stillness in this vast Canyon were breathtaking. This is a definite must see.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Marad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, UT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The ONLY way to see the Canyon up close!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We did both the Jeep tour as well as later driving the North and South Rim Drives in our own vehicle. There simply is NO comparison! Even with the few viewing pipes, there's no way to get decent pictures for most of the ruins even with a zoom, and you can totally forget about any pictographs or petroglyphs. Imagine the difference as your guide literally drives into a nice shady spot and points out an array of such drawings, or putters along until you're at just the right spot for a marvelous photo of a ruin. This is what we came to see and that's exactly what we got as well as great commentary, history, and background from someone who'd literally spent his childhood in the canyon. Our teens were enthralled (and that's not always easy to accomplish) and we were more than glad we chose a tour. Our thanks to Benjamin Anagal for a very enjoyable tour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SoUtahfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A hike into canyon: best way to see the canyon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a different company from the one owned by leon skyhorse, who only does tours in a vehicle. Our experienced hiking tour guide was Daniel, a friendly, knowledgeable, native-Navajo-speaking, quiet, man with a good sense of humor.
He met us in front of the visitor center, showed us our hiking options on the map inside, had us follow his car to the overlook where our hike would end, drove us in his car to the overlook we would be starting from, and then lead us on a three-hour hike, the length we requested. once you get to the bottom of the canyon, you walk on flat, sandy ground, not too hard. The hardest part was hiking out of the canyon. There was one outhouse stop on our hike.
He was hesitant to speak a whole lot unless we asked him questions, so we asked him many questions about plants, rock formations, anasazi dwellings, navajo history, navajo culture, etc., and he answered them all well.
The canyon looks so beautiful from inside, and you get excellent views of the ruins and petroglyphs. It is much more impressive when you are in it, looking way up at the tiny people on the rim. We caught glimpses of the way people and their livestock live in the canyon today (beautiful roaming horses! Flock of sheep and sheep dogs!) After the hike, we drove him to the overlook where his car was parked, where we payed him the $25 per hour plus a tip. You pay in cash.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite part of vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

So happy we picked this tour after picking up a few brochures and randomly picking Leanders tour. His knowlege of the history of the canyon... Along with his personal history at Chelly make for a great 3 hour tour. Wish we would have booked the all day tour after we were done! Thanks!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank justpez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beauty Way Jeep Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing