We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got Leon Skyhorse himslef as a guide! Lucky us!”

Canyon de Chelly Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Canyon De Chelly Tours is an enterprise of Leon Skyhorse Thomas. Every guide is a professional, certified by the National Park Service by examination. In addition to tours of the Canyon de Chelly National Monument, cultural consulting needs are addressed on a case by case basis for those who seek a more intimate insight onto the Navajo Way. Leon has assisted film-makers on location in Navajoland and is used to delivering high quality services to the people and organizations he serves.There are over 2700 archaeological sites within the many canyons of Canyon de Chelly National Monument. Only 13 of the 700 standing ruins have been stabilized, re-inforced, or protected from degradation. We are professional Navajo guides who can teach you the history of our canyons and about the Anasazi, Hopi and Navajo peoples. We pride ourselves in offering you more than just viewing our scenery - but we can do this too!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We got Leon Skyhorse himslef as a guide! Lucky us!”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Leon wasted no time, he talked 5 hours about history, culture, religion. We took our own rented 4WD SUV and never have been driven an SUV, I felt uneasy driving through mud and river. Leon was really patient augmenting his stories with driving tips ("Turn on the 4wd with THAT knob...") At one point he instructed us to line up and close our eyes. He started singing that was really majestic in the silent canyon between the echoing walls. That was really the high point.

Leon is not shy about tauting his own excellence, and he pushed us hard to buy his CD and DVD. Not that we will ever listen to it, we bought it as the total price of the trip with all the merchandise is still very reasonable.

By all means avoid the Bake-And-Shake tours when they pack a horde of tourists on a huge truck for a fortune.

Go with Leon, he is the best, I guarantee. (He will tell you that himself for about 25 times.)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Viktor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    36
    8
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Rewarding Experience”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Three hour jeep tour with Canyon De Chelly Tours

http://www.canyondechellytours.com/?gclid=CPeX35DSuaoCFWWD5godM0gj7A

Our Navajo guide showed us the numerous pictographs and petroglyphs throughout the Canyon. He shared his family experiences growing up in the Canyon. Very enjoyable tour. Great experience for the kids.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank VASoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this expierence”
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We did the canyon de chelly jeep tour with Leon " Skyhorse" Thomas. He has a special passion and amazing mind filled with stories and history of the canyon. He has been there his whole life, as was his generations of family. If you are near this part of the US, this experience is a must. You leave different than you came, and with a new understanding of a piece of history. It was the middle of winter so ice and water was all through the canyon. For my husband and I, the adventuresome ride through the busting ice was spectacular. The 4-wheeled drive jeep was warm and perfect for the mission. A "pretty" vehicle could not have handled it. We booked the regular tour offered. At first my husband was concerned it was too much money. Afterwards you realize there is no price to put on such an experience. We had been on a cross country trip, and canyon de chelly was one of our favorite expierences of all. Skyhorse was outstanding and goes out 365 days a year, he loves sharing the history and ruins stories. He is one of the few long time licensed tour guides permitted in the canyon.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Mreds11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Recommend taking a jeep tour with Canyon de Chelly Tours”
Reviewed February 18, 2011

It's definitely worthwhile taking a private tour into Canyon de Chelly. It's the only way to truly appreciate the beauty of the canyon. Our Navajo guide,Leon, of Canyon de Chelly Tours was excellent. We saw pictographs, ruins, fields, and the amazing cliffs. Leon was exceptionally knowledgeable about the history and mythology of the canyon, as well as being an incredible driver though the wet river beds and melting snow!
It was a great memorable day.

Annie
Vancouver, Canada

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Annie99mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Ca.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Canyon de Chelly tour with Leon Skyhorse Thomas as our guide was wonderful.”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We, Mary and Jim, visited Canyon de Chelly in January 2011. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Canyon de Chelly and our accomodations were excellent and the food was good. We took a tour of the canyon, which can only be done with a native Dine' guide. Our guide was Leon Skyhorse Thomas, a Navajo Elder. Leon was knowledgeable about the history of the canyon, the people who inhabited the canyon, explaination of the archeological sites and symbols, Navajo customs and religion, and the history of the Navajo people from the begining of time. He made us feel the presence of the spirits that went before him. Needless to say, we would wholeheartedly endorse him without reservation. Thank you, Leon Skyhorse Thomas, for shareing with us.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank JimVermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canyon de Chelly Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing