We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See all the Overlooks”
Review of South Rim Drive

South Rim Drive
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Chinle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic and dramatic 36-mile drive along the 500-foot rim of Canyon de Chelly.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“See all the Overlooks”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A must drive to all the Overlooks. Stunning views and very peaceful. Navajo's artists usually sell their artwork..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mdkcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    58
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great drive”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Wow!!!! I have lived in AZ for 41 years and this is the first time I travelled to Canyon de Chelly. Such a beautiful site. Well worth the drive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Familyman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was a beautiful ride”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Well my husband decided to ride off on our Harley to visit the South Rim, he thoroughly enjoyed the ride until a freak thunderstorm suddenly arose in the sky above and the lightening storm chased him back to the hotel!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi girl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Sadly we couldn't drive the whole south rim but what I saw made me want to come back. It's worth reading some of the other reviews and planning your trip. I will definitely do that next time!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank edinburghtraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our tour in the evening.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had several hours of daylight left when we got into Chinly. We tried the North Rim first, but it started to rain heavily and it got rather cold. But we saw a beautiful rainbow.
The sky over the South Rim looked clear, so we drove there. We stopped at all stops and enjoyed the beautiful views into the canyon, especially Spider Rock. The best part was we were practically the only visitors.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank shock43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Rim Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing