We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read all the signs!”

Thunderbird Lodge Cafeteria
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Chinle
Restaurant details
Bellevue
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Read all the signs!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had breakfasts here while staying a the Thunderbird Lodge, and the food was very good. I would suggest that you take your time to read all the signs at the beginning of the cafeteria line, as you'll find quite a bit on offer that you might miss if you only look at what's on display. Good spot!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank VicinBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    57
    64
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good cafeteria food”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

It's what you'd expect for a cafeteria. I liked the speedy service and the atmosphere. I was hoping for better quality salad and veggies...something we didn't find anywhere in Chinle.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PortsmouthJola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda, AZ
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Canyon DeChelly Tour”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

When we arrived at the lodge we were quite hungry and we immediately went to the cafeteria after checking in. The food was delicious and plentyful. There was a good variety of main courses, salads and deserts. We were furnished roast beef sandwiches the next dfay for our tour which were also delicious. Thank you Thunderbird Lodge/

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin Illinois
Level Contributor
204 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“good lunch choice in canyon de chelly”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This place is located at the thunderbird lodge. The only hotel in the canyon. Its a cafateria style place with a limited selection of food. mostly native dishes with some american favorits.
On vacation i wanted to sample the local flavor so i got the navajo toco that i thought was good but not great.This place has its charm in decoration and taste , if your in the area its a good choice. works well for a mid day break in touring the canyon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mountiamsandcanyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno, Italy
Level Contributor
301 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

we were staying at the Lodge, so we ate at the cafeteria a few times. The room is nicely decorated, with rugs on the wall. Chinle is a "sad" place, so presumably this cafeteria is in line with the location. The quality of food doesn't look great. The service depends on the person you find: we met very nice people and very "sad" people. I think for breakfast is better than lunch/dinner. Be aware that the hours of service are very limited.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunderbird Lodge Cafeteria also viewed

 

Been to Thunderbird Lodge Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing