We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey for home-cooking”

Thunderbird Lodge Cafeteria
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Chinle
Restaurant details
Mesa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pricey for home-cooking”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Good selection to choose from, but $2.20 for a small dish of jello salad or waldorf salad seemed high and a meal of cafeteria food can really add up. Considering the availability of supplies on the reservation and distance to large cities, the prices are probably not out of line.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    57
    64
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yikes!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Ate at the cafeteria today. I will put it like this... If you are into pieces of iceberg with a slice of tomato, a slice of cucumber, and a couple pieces of carrot shoved into a little bowl and covered with Saran wrap this is your place. This will be your only vegetable option. You can have jello or chocolate cake. My daughter went for an apple, a small bowl of grapes, and a cookie which was the most benign option. Wish I'd read trip advisor to know that the cafeteria is ranked 6 out of 6 in the area, below burger king. Trying the junction tonight and keeping fingers crossed. I would just love to see some vegetables. They seem hard to come by in these parts. This restaurant is just plain bad. I've decided I'd rather subsist on diet coke and beef jerky!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Washington_DcKristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“So-So”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Food ok, walk thru diner type. Little pricey for what you get, but ok for the area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TexasLuv2Golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerman, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lodge is a fun, step-back-in-time treat, but food was not good.”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I was prepared for the cafeteria-style service, but very disappointed in the quality of food served. My beef entre was tough and tasteless; gravy tasted like it came from a can or mix, and the fry-bread was leathery and greasy. Would not patronize the cafeteria again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Much better than expected!”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Despite cafeteria style service, the food is expertly prepared and the room is beautifully decorated. Clean, tasty, and popular with the locals, it's the best in Chinle!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunderbird Lodge Cafeteria also viewed

 

Been to Thunderbird Lodge Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing