We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good french fries”
Review of Louis's BBQ Shack

Louis's BBQ Shack
Ranked #41 of 134 Restaurants in Titusville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good french fries”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stopped here on the way back from the doctor for a quick bite and it was recommended by a friend. It was very busy so we thought it would taste great. Not so much. We ordered fried green tomatoes for an appetizer and they came out very greasy and mostly burnt. When I asked the waitress about most of the items on the list, I was surprised that a lot of the items were not made from scratch. Green beans from a can, instant mashed potatoes, frozen mac n cheese.... you get the picture. I also asked about the Brunswick stew that she said the consistency was strange. Basically it was tomato sauce, bbq, chicken (both which were probably left over from the day before), and corn. That's it. She brought me a sample and she was right.... very strange. It looked like mush.

Anyway, after hearing this, I ordered a grilled cheese (how can you mess that up), the potato salad that she said they made with bacon and baked beans. So when it came out it looked ok. The potato salad I was not a fan of because the bacon was pretty chewy and I gave it to my hubby. The baked beans, although not hot, were ok and the grilled cheese was fine.

My hubby got the pulled pork sandwich, fries and coleslaw. He liked it and his fries and coleslaw were great. But his pulled pork sandwich did look, ummmm, like mush too.

Sorry restaurant the best thing about my lunch was the waitress. She was very nice and she smiled at all of her guests in the restaurant. I would go back to see her, but the food.... not so much.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenJoleneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Illinois
Level Contributor
275 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“There are Better Choices”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stopped by for lunch today after doing the Titusville Wildlife Refuge. My husband ordered the smoke chicken wings. i tried the Brunswick stew based on a few reviews we'd read. The bottom line is that there are so many better restaurants in the area that you should just skip this one. The stew looked like cat food and although it tasted better than it looked that was mainly because I loaded it with their sweet and spicy sauce which is available at the table. The corn bread that came with it was soggy and flavorless. Their baked beans tasted like the came from a can with a bit of brown sugar added. The potato salad was the best thing we had as it had loads of bacon and a bit of vinegar. The smoked chicken wings were o.k., but nothing special. Our advice is to keep driving. the Coffee Shop in Titusville has better food as does Sonny's BBQ.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Place for Breakfast in Mims, FL”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Louis's BBQ serves a very good country breakfast at a very reasonable price. Sausage gravy and biscuits is my favorite. Other meals are OK and this is a local favorite.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jim a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty good BBQ”
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Got my lunch to go from here today. After my 10 minute drive back to work and sitting down at my desk to eat, I thought the food would be getting cold. Nope. I burnt my whole mouth on the chopped pork. Why is the pork so hot?? However, once I let it cool off, it was pretty good. They give you a pretty good amount of it too. The sweet potato casserole was good, despite its appearance (see photo), and the sweet tea is great. Lower price than I usually have to fork out for lunch too so I like that. There is better BBQ nearby, but this place isn't bad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JKfromFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
570 reviews
525 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Nice BBQ shop”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This restaurant packs them in for lunch in a very low population area, that's all you need to know. The meat is smoked and served dry. The beef and pork are either sliced or chopped. No pulled pork or burnt ends here. The meats are tender but not cooked until "it falls off the bone". The servings are large and reasonably priced. Their Brunswick stew, corn muffins and blueberry cobbler are particularly good. The sauces are good and they serve portions of chopped jalapenos on the side for a little extra heat. The baked beans need a little extra pork. Beer is not served.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank denisx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louis's BBQ Shack also viewed

 
Mims, Brevard County
 

Been to Louis's BBQ Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing