We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven for the urban sweet tooth.”

Heaven Sent Desserts
Ranked #78 of 151 Dessert in San Diego
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven for the urban sweet tooth.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice selection and great tasting food. Friendly service and awesome location in the heart of North Park. Only one complaint. They have a strict $10 min for using debit or credit cards. Even if the bill comes to $9 you might get a "we will do it this time" comment. Other than that great place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Civitastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Make every day a celebration”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Another recommendation from a friend who said to try this place, especially for their cupcakes. Well as luck would have it, Heaven Sent Desserts was open on a Sunday evening so we stopped in for a nightcap. Heaven Sent Desserts are made from scratch in their kitchen using has a pure butter and it allows them to offer a varied menu, so yes when you walk in, your head will "pop" because of all of the amazing choices available to you. We ordered the Chocolate Trinity Cake (OMG, chocolate overload) which was fantastic, White Mocha Espresso and Caramel Macchiato.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious desserts”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a down to earth place with delicious desserts. Service is friendly. The ambiance is nice. Its location is in a nice neighborhood.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynnbrownstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“AWESOME IN ONE BITE”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have gotten to try 3 desserts from here and one coffee and all of them were amazing. They have a regular menu of desserts to choose from and then some that rotate so you wont find them there all the time. They are very fresh and extremely tasty. The coffee is very smooth and no bitter taste as with some coffees. Staff is very friendly. They have seating inside and out. Place does get busy though so expect a line.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2travelersasof2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“The names says it all”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I'm not a regular at Heaven Sent, but this is one of my two or three go to dessert establishments I do go to for that very special occasion I need a cake that knocks your socks off.

My fave is the white tres leches cake with strawberries. You could either order a slice or the whole cake. A bit pricey at around $50 but well worth it. When I looked on their current menu they didn't include it so it may now have to be special ordered. My wife is very fussy about cakes and she was absolutely blown away by their version. It was moist, flavorful and gorgeous. I will return and maybe try one of their other beautiful creations.

Parking can be a problem, but circle the block a couple of times or use the parking garage directly across the street.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heaven Sent Desserts also viewed

 

Been to Heaven Sent Desserts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing