We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not great”
Review of Joe's Crab Shack - CLOSED

Joe's Crab Shack
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good not great”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Love the location and the vibe is really good. The service was below expectations and our food was average. Value was fine. Really to bad as this place could have been exceptional.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hulstonfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    58
    27
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anthem
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Staff”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The staff really makes sure you have a fun time. We had a birthday and they had her put on a lua skirt and play a little guitar! The crab was amazing! and the views of the ocean are fantastic during sunsets

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mhalbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A lot of fun”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We enjoyed our meal, the view is phenomenal overlooking the board walk and ocean. The food was delicious and the service great. It is a little pricey but lots of fun

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food, good drink”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

would have preferred to find a local restaurant that served fresh seafood caught right in the area (ie catch of the day), but most people know about Joe's since it's a chain and that's where the group wanted to go. My food and drink were good and the service was very good and friendly. One of our appetizers was the crab stuffed mushrooms and those were really yummy!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank IowanAllMyLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What I saw on T.V and what I got was disappointment. Will never go back.”
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

I order the Bean pot with 2 lobsters, claim, sausage, shrimps, potatoes. The lobsters meat was shrink down to the same size as my shrimp. The lobster shell was much bigger than the meat and the size of the lobster was also small. I had better lobster from valley view casino. Try some of my wife crab legs and it was in bad shape. The crabs and lobster here seem like buffet quality and boil with season. I was expecting fresh tight meat like when I buy a fresh lobster and cook it myself. Been here 4 time in my life and it remind my why I should not come back. Next time I will do what I been doing. Buy fresh lobster and crab and do my own pot. Save you money for better quality seafood. Will not come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jooony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing