We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pies.”
Review of Pizzeria Luigi

Pizzeria Luigi
Ranked #445 of 4,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pies.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love this place. Every time I visit SD, I make a special trip to Pizzeria Luigi for some special pie. I usually ask the counter person what he/she would recommend and I've never been disappointed. I also regularly get the Margherita pizza. The fresh basil and mozzarella are fantastic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yassensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    52
    10
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pizzeria Luigi”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the worse pizza myself & my family have ever had. I'm not sure what everyone likes about this place because our pizza was extremely skimpy on the toppings & the crust was supper thin almost tasted like a tortilla that was partially burnt. The staff was not very friendly & we did not see very much customer service, they just visited loudly amongst themselves & never asked if we wanted refills or how everything was. Not a place I want to give my business to !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lmohre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
324 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Nice Choice for Pizza Close to Downtown”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great thin crust pizza in a neighborhood hangout. Most people choose to get it by the slice, because they offer a nice variety of tasty pizzas already made and ready to eat. Some deals offered include micro beer on Tap.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love It”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Whenever we are in San Diego we always stop here for pizza. Everyone is super nice and there is usually several pizzas to chose from.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shoefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quick, cheap and yummy”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Pizzeria Luigi makes an impressive variety of delicious pizzas all day long. They put them in a refrigerated case and when you walk in you select the different kinds you would like, order at the counter and they heat them up in a pizza oven and serve them to you on paper plates. The pizzas are very large and thin crust. We like to add lots of oregano which they provide in shakers on the tables. Quick, simple and at any 2 slices plus a beer for under $8 and with soda, under $6 - cheap. You can order whole pizzas to eat in or take out. They also have 2 kinds of mixed salads. There is parking in the back or on the street and a patio for those who prefer to eat outdoors. This is a small spot, but people move in and out rather quickly after they eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nanasandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Luigi also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Luigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing