We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Brett's BBQ Encinitas CA.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brett's BBQ

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Brett's BBQ
Ranked #2,021 of 4,536 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Brett's BBQ Encinitas CA.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I could not find the above in the reviews so i will review it here under san Diego.
We had lunch here and we do not get this type of place in the UK so it was a treat. The baby back ribs were well cooked and tender, i had the beef ribs which were great the sweet potato frys were magic and the pulled pork was great also wish it was closer to the UK.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“DRY AND OVERCOOKED - WHAT HAPPENED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stopped by for lunch a few days ago and was so dissappointed in what we ordered. The pulled chicken had little flavor and very dry. Same with the Brisket. A lot of meat piled high on the bun but just no flavor. Added more and more of the bbq sauce and soon the sandwich was nothing but bbq flavor. The Sweet potato fries were good, service was friendly and fast. Havent been there for a few years....not sure what happened.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mtrimmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An A-1 BBQ choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Brett's BBQ service is fast and friendly. We tried the "pulled pork" sandwich. It was excellent. Done perfectly. Their BBQ sauce is tasty, but they might want to add another BBQ sauce with a little more "kick". The mac & cheese side was like home cooking. Their sweet potato fries are delicious. They have a nice outdoor seating area...well, it would be if they could do something about the very aggressive birds that get right up on the tables. A few "Do Not Feed the Birds" signs might help as we saw numerous people throwing scraps of bread to the birds.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveZ234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Am I in Memphis again?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I am from the Memphis area originally and haven't eaten good BBQ for years until I came to Brett's.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VerandaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good BBQ in the 4S area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

I have been happy with Brett's BBQ as a good off-site lunch option for a couple of years. Good food, generally available quickly. I typically get the pulled pork sandwich with the sweet potato fries - highly recommend the fries! I've taken many friends here, they've always been happy with the change from the other 4S/RB lunch venues.

It doesn't have the feel, or crowd, of Phil's BBQ, but if you're in the 4S/RB area, this is a good choice.

Negatives: Pricey for a pseudo-fast-food lunch place. Small venue, not lots of seating.
Positives: BBQ. Sweet Potato Fries.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 64b7e815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brett's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Brett's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing