We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brothel Theme Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marble Room - CLOSED

Marble Room
Cuisines: American, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 5th Avenue & Market St
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
567 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Brothel Theme Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

A fun restaurant with corset-clad servers and lots of vintage burlesque and erotic pics on the walls. The food is actually quite good too but the ambiance of this former brothel is what I really like, it's all low lighting and red velvet. Definitely an interesting experience coupled with good food and drink, more interesting than the restaurants located in brand new buildings.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Retinol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    32
    14
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"oohlala" quoted by our Kindergartner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great food that we ordered late in the evening. Sat outside b/c indoor atmosphere and photos are a bit too much for young eyes! The theme is based on the gaslamp districts historical brothels. Warning...don't let your kiddos go to the bathroom without dad or mom in tow to cover the eyes!! A bit much on the historical photo aspect. But all in all, an interesting place with live music and great service. We enjoyed the experience and the outdoor seating offered up its own entertainment on the strip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank OlyArmyFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Better than Momma's Meatloaf !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

While in the Gaslamp area and checking out a hundred or so menus outside the numerous restaurants in the area we saw this item on the Marble Room's menu and I just had to try it. Well words cannot describe how good it was, the portions were bacon wrapped like a filet, and the side veggies were delicious. As it was a beautiful night we ate alfresco. Once inside to pay and use the facilities we realized it was once a brothel. The decor is very interesting. Very happy we stopped at the Marble Room and next time in San Diego we will be returning.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RayHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Friday night and did not have to wait at all for a table. Menu was on the pricy side but the food was great. The seared ahi lettuce wraps were amazing. I highly recommend them. My entree was a chicken caper dish with rigatoni. So delicious. My wife ordered a steak with shrimp scampi. It was also great.

We didn't have room for dessert but if you enjoy live music, it starts at 9:00 pm.

The service was pretty on the spot. The girls are dressed like old time prostitutes but it didn't bother us at all. They are going with a madam theme.

Overall a nice time. We would go there again for dinner.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryano724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place is said to be an old brothel, the oldest in San Diego. Its said the owner at the time always gave clients a marble to put in their pocket so if the police came in, they could say they were they to buy marbles. This kept her doors open longer than any other in the area. The inside very much looks like an old brothel with big booths and red wall paper etc. We ate outside on the sidewalk seating area, as it was a great night to sit outside. Its also a great place to people watch. The food was very good and the service was great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Markson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marble Room also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing