We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Consistent throughout the years” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sam Woo BBQ Restaurant

Sam Woo BBQ Restaurant
Ranked #2,492 of 4,608 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Waitstaff
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistent throughout the years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Been visiting Sam Woo since 1997 and my most recent one was in Dec 2012. The place is always packed with people. The place is ordinary Chinese restaurant with just so so service, but the food always taste yummy. Love the BBQ (of course its their specialties), pork chops & salt pepper squid. Portions are huge.
Will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dopey_Owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Level Contributor
483 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Best comfort food for a Chinese guy in San Diego”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Glad to see that many folks who'd probably end up going to PF Chang's finding this place. Sam Woo has been a staple of the LA area since the immigration of Chinese during the 80s. This is one restaurant that is still in business, and definitely the food is still consistently good, even if this is far away from the Chinese enclaves of LA.

I came here with a friend who lives in an area without good Chinese food (Ventura). Had the sweet and sour soup, "dau miu" and seafood chow mein, and for some reason, I was in awe. While I wish SW would get with the times and take credit cards (many of the other Chinese businesses do take CCs hello), the food is the redemption.

Avoid places like China Max on Convoy and come here (strange how that restaurant is there, and there are many non-Asians eating there). San Diego is lucky to have SW and 99 Market in one place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank d l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favorite Chinese food at low prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've been to most Chinese restaurants in the area and Sam Woo is the best for good quality at low prices. Service is quick and there are many choices. Have been coming here for 15 years.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Doesn't take credit cards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Food was good and portions were plentiful. If you are looking for atmosphere this is not the place. Chow mein was excellent as was the honey walnut shrimp. Highlite was the duck. Service was so-so, but nothing to fret about. No beer - bummer!!! There were five of us and we ordered liberally from the extensive menu. Bill was about $100 with tip.
Menu said "No credit cards" - fortunately I had a lot of cash. Also, there was an ATM nearby.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TaurusSunCityWest_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
international
Level Contributor
178 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“If you are looking for inexpensive, authentic chinese food and can overlook the atmosphere, look no further”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

As San Diego natives, my husband and I frequently go to Sam's when we go to the Ranch 99 supermarket, which is hands down the best Chinese supermarket in the city by the way. Sam's is a small, diner type restaurant that has an extensive menu. Most of the foods can be served at various levels from spicy to mild. The customer service is brusque but efficient. Wait times can be long on weekends and at lunch because this place is legendary.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steff0566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Woo BBQ Restaurant also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Sam Woo BBQ Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing