We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“all american 24 hour diner”

Rudford's Restaurant
Ranked #941 of 4,717 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
384 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“all american 24 hour diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is one of the last independent 24 hours diners left in San Diego. The food is not bad. It is sometimes hit or miss. I would recommend sticking to the diner type foods like the sandwiches and burgers. Depending on the time of day you can see some interesting characters here and outside on the street. The service is good and interior is old school American diner. If you out late and hungry, this is the place to come to.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    19
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
418 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Pretty good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Salad, sirloin beef patty (6 in x 3.5 in and 3/4 in thick) plus cauliflour with cheese, mmmmm good, oh yes scoop ice cream for dessert. Total $15.71 with the coka cola. Great service, and staff was very polite. Lotta old folks eat there regularly. Young too. Been there since the 60's. A-

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Food is great! Nice place to sit and chat. Ate here twice during our visit. Lots of items on menu, classic diner feel.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn7411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good inexpensive food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Rudfords has been around forever and is apparently a sister to the Nob Hill restaurant. It's very inexpensive to eat here. Here is a tip. Get a token for the bathroom when you arrive otherwise you can't get in the bathroom. I had the fried cod and it came with mashed potatoes and a salad and mixed vegetables and garlic bread and dessert for $10.50. We also had the grilled red snapper. It had a bread crumb coating and was grilled. All the dinners come with the same accomplishments as the cod. The mixed vegetables could be improved. I think they are the frozen ones out of the package I fix at home. i chose the bread pudding for dessert and did not like it. My husband got vanilla ice cream and it was a huge serving with whipped cream on it. $27.00 including very fresh tasting iced tea. I would go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaDon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcham, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Certainly a classic and well worth the effort to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My companion and I enjoyed a lovely three course dinner and the total bill including tip was less than $30 for two people. That would be lucky to purchase one (only) entree in Australia.

Our impressions were very similar to other reviewers and we enjoyed every minute of our visit. The server (a young guy) was very efficient but not overly friendly. That didn't bother us because he knew his food very well.

And of course our "funny" accents!

We arrived on the #6 bus from Fashion Valley Mall that stopped across the road. We returned downtown on bus #2 t(from around the corner) that took a reasonably direct route and terminated a short distance from our hotel.

Rudford's is a classic dining experience not to be missed and I recommend it to any other Australian or overseas visitor, even if you don't have a car to get around.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_in_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudford's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rudford's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing