We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Delicious, rapid to-go Chicken Pad Thai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lai Thai Restaurant

Lai Thai Restaurant
Ranked #2,335 of 4,607 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lai Thai San Diego has been serving Thai cuisine for over 15 years. Try any of our signature dishes like pineapple fried rice, chicken curry, and our famous Phad Thai noodle. Join us for an authentic Thai experience!
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious, rapid to-go Chicken Pad Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This restaurant serves some of the best chicken pad thai I've had. We ordered it to-go and it was ready within 5 minutes. It cost about $10 with tax and tip and served enough for lunch for 2 people (unless you're really big or really hungry). Very tasty! I highly recommend it! And convenient to all the shops on Carmel Mountain Rd including the Reading Cinemas 12 theatre.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaS713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
283 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Surprise Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our favorite dinner during our recent visit to the Carmel Mountain-Rancho Bernardo area. Relaxing decor and attentive service. The Thai Hot Basil was excellent, as were the spring roll and fish cake appetizers and the standard Pad Thai. Located in the Carmel Village Plaza mixed in with a bunch of fast food and national chain restaurants, and big-box retail.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScottEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very cozy place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Was there for lunch, was very impressed by the presentation and the quality of the food. Ordered Panang curry and Phad Thai. Both were good. Lunch comes with soup of the day - we had lemon grass soup & coconut milk soup - both were excellent. Wouldn't say that it's the best Thai food I had, but it was good. The person who served us was a very well mannered person and very helpful guy. I loved the relaxed environment of the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank unni79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“My favorite Thai restaurant in SD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I've been going to Thaigo for years. I always order Chicken Panang Curry, Chicken Pad Thai and Tom Kar soup. I've tried other Thai places that their curry always seemed a little off. I can always count on getting great food with friendly service.

They are always busy every time I visit, but the wait for a table is never more than 5-10 minutes. It's located in a strip mall, so parking is never a problem.

The prices are right as well. I highly recommend Thaigo.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindagn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

I come here at least once a week for padthai. The food is great, the staff is kind and the service is fast.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuglove83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lai Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lai Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing