We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“New twist on the Surf Taco Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wahoo's Fish Taco

Wahoo's Fish Taco
Ranked #1,972 of 4,614 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Point Loma
San Diego
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New twist on the Surf Taco Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Sort of a rip off of the Rubio's theme--but different enough menu to justify a visit. Shrimp dishes are great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RKHosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“When we visit San Diego we always stop here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

When we visit San Diego from Ohio we always stop at Wahoo's, usually at the Point Loma location. I love the grilled cajan fish platter. Where else can you get this type of fish taco's? It comes with beans and brown rice. There is a surfer ambiance that complements the food; very coastal California.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank davidjohng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good for a cheap and fast meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

It's not expensive and the quality is good for what you get. Their salsa is pretty flavourful. The only thing I didn't like was my rice and beans arrived lukewarm/cold but that was easily remedied by the server putting it in the microwave for a minute.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Okay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

Okay

Helpful?
Thank nukkisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

Great little shop, loved the casual vibe. I ordered the 2 carne asada tacos platter (black beans and rice) and my husband ordered the 2 charbroiled fish taco platter. We each got a beer. He got a Corona and I tried a local beer called Woody. The check out girl even offered to let me try it after I asked her how did it taste! Great customer service. I tasted it and ordered one. Great sipping beer on a hot day. We sat outside to enjoy the breeze and sunshine. Loved seeing how dog owners just walked right in with their dogs. SD is a dog friendly city. The food came out fast and the portions were huge! I couldn't even finish it. The tacos were fresh tasting and perfect. Oh, and did I mention we paid under $20 for everything? Loved it.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetPeaAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahoo's Fish Taco also viewed

 

Been to Wahoo's Fish Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing