We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neat meat treat!”
Review of Turf Supper Club

Turf Supper Club
Ranked #1,077 of 4,804 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A neat meat treat!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We thought we would try something new while in Sandy-eggo. The Turf Supper Club was just right for a mild adventure.

The atmosphere is like a 1970s bar, but don't let that put you off - in the middle of the room is a BBQ station, where you get to cook your steak, kebabs, french toast, etc. Modest cost, funky atmosphere, great people watching, and opportunities to meet over the BBQ. They had a wide range of clients - tattooed 20's through silver-haired 60's, dressed up or simply shorts.

They had excellent steaks - we had the marinated flank steak and would highly recommend it. We will be back next time we are in town! It's not really a joint for kids, but it is inviting and comfortable for all adults.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants in San Diego!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Every time I go back to San Diego, I have to go the Turf Club!! The food is excellent, the drinks are so good, and the price is just right... oh ya, and the atmosphere is too fun... you get to grill your food! LOVE IT!! If you're staying downtown, just take a cab, it's about a mile east on 25th St.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Always a hit, never a miss!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I frequent this place about once every 2 weeks. It don't know what it is, but it's addicting! It's 21 and up, so be sure to have your ID ready, and it gets really busy after 10 or so. If you go earlier it's pretty quiet. The outside looks shady, but don't let it scare you away! The interior is a bit odd, but fun. Oh, and there's no windows.
The drinks are very generous, and cheap. They have some specialty ones, I tried a freaky teaky (or something like that), and it was very fruity/girly, but me and the other ladies loved it! We always order a steak that's off the menu, the Flank Steak. They marinate it in a wonderful sauce for who knows how long, so it's super juicy. I usually order a side-salad with bleu cheese as well, and the dressing it very nice.
The food comes out fast because of course, you have to cook it yourself. All dishes come with garlic bread as well. I always take the garlic bread and cover it with the extra sauce left over in the tin-foil from the steak (bad, I know!). If you cook your steak right, it's going to be good, guaranteed!
It does take some time to get your check, but the servers are all very nice. As an odd rule, once your table has ordered, nobody else can join your table, so be aware of that.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taace1i1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you are cool, go here, if you are a dork, stay away please”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Grill your own steaks, burgers or portobello with some garlic bread, add a pre packaged salad and a killer martini. This place is the bomb. By far the best juke box in the city. This place is not for snobs, you could be grilling next to Etta James one night, next night someone who slept under a bridge the next.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djaye15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great to be different”
Reviewed March 30, 2009

This was a great experience, like being "outside" but in, you chose what you wanted from the menu and cooked it on an inside BBQ a very social occasion. Nice to find somewhere a little different.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turf Supper Club also viewed

 

Been to Turf Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing