We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Great Room and More”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Ranked #116 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wow! Great Room and More”
Reviewed August 1, 2006

You could tell this hotel was outstanding when we checked in. The staff was nice and very welcoming. When we got in the room, we were surprised. The room was new and big with a kitchen. In the morning the breakfast was delicious. You can make your own waffles and they had sausage, eggs, cereal, yogurt, ect. In the evening Mon-Thurs there was a manager's reception that included a little meal and free drinks (pop, wine, beer). The meal was enough for us to be our dinner. I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank CMH-JFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    59
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
80
24
10
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

My husband, 20-month old son, and I just stayed nine nights at this Residence Inn.

Our son has a rare metabolic disorder which requires us to prepare special foods for him, some of which require the use of either a conventional oven or a toaster oven. Just prior to our arrival, my husband inquired about whether the one-bedroom suite we had reserved has one or both, but unfortunately, it has only a microwave oven (which was a big help for other food we had to prepare) and a toaster. When my husband then explained the reason for our inquiry and asked whether there was a Target or Wal-Mart nearby where we could buy a toaster oven, they amazingly offered to go out and buy a toaster oven for us to use. Upon our arrival, we received a warm welcome from the front desk staff, who said they were waiting for us - a new toaster oven/convection oven was already in our room, and a Graco pack-n-play was all set up for our son - both at no extra charge. We then went to their Thursday evening barbeque where the manager asked us if the oven and everything was OK. I cannot believe what personal assistance and attention we received! The front desk staff was always very helpful and friendly.

The suite and property were very well maintained and clean. The carpeting in the suite looked brand new, and the bed was very comfortable. We were very pleased with the amount of space we had and the kitchen facility. The suite was much bigger than conventional hotel rooms. There was plenty of room to move around in the living area even with the pack-n-play. The kitchen area had a full-sized fridge with a freezer, dishwasher (which we didn’t use), and a small sink, and the cabinets were filled with dishes, a toaster, pots and pans, utensils, etc. - just about everything you would need. Even paper towels were provided. Adjacent to the kitchen was a small dining table and two chairs, and that room also had a desk, sofa, chair, coffee table, and TV (but no DVD player - we brought our own portable player). The bedroom also had a TV. The furniture isn’t fancy, but that isn’t a priority for us. The housekeeping staff thoroughly cleaned our suite early each morning after we left, and they were very friendly and polite and very kind to our son.

Our suite overlooked the pool and basketball/tennis court, but our rooms were still quiet enough for our son to fall asleep in the early evening when children and adults were outside playing and swimming. Our suite was next to the elevator - I wish they could turn down the volume of the “ding ding” that plays every time the elevator arrives. We slept so soundly though that it did not wake us up. The air conditioner is located in the bedroom and was a bit loud, although it too did not keep us awake. The parking spaces are a bit tight, but unlike other Residence Inns in the area, there was no separate parking charge.

The breakfast buffet was free and much more extensive than I had expected. It certainly filled us up and saved us a lot of time and money each day. My husband enjoyed making the two of us Belgian waffles each morning - they sometimes even had blueberry or chocolate batter. Also available were muffins, donuts, bread, bagels, fruit (which was also available throughout the day), yogurt, scrambled eggs, potatoes, several types of cereal, three juices, coffee, skim and reduced-fat milk, and another hot selection such as biscuits and gravy, taco shells, pancakes, french toast, etc. Three high chairs were available for little ones. The staff members working in the “Gatehouse” during meal times were very friendly and kept the food replenished and the tables quickly cleared and cleaned.

Light meals were available Monday through Thursday evenings. We particularly enjoyed the Thursday barbeques which included grilled burgers, veggie burgers, and hot dogs, potato salad, watermelon, chips, soft drinks, beer, and wine. Music was playing outside; the volume could be reduced so that it isn’t so loud for those who are napping or working in their rooms. Another night there were french bread pizzas, which weren’t the best - they could be baked longer, and salad. The next night they had meatball sandwiches and salad, which were fine after a long day at the Zoo and the beach (although rolls other than hamburger buns would be an improvement). After a long day it was nice to just grab something quick (and free) to eat.

We went to the San Diego Zoo several times, having purchased a membership on-line a few weeks before, which is good for 14 months and is also good at the Wild Animal Park. Membership more than paid for itself with just those few visits. Given our son’s young age and the heat and humidity, we weren’t able to stay at the Zoo or Animal Park all day, so it was great to have the membership card to come and go as we pleased. It took us only 25 minutes to drive to the Zoo each morning between 8:30 and 9:30. The Animal Park was just a 35-minute drive. Torrey Pines State Park beach was just 10 or 15 minutes away, except during evening rush hour when it could take about 20 minutes just to drive the short distance from the hotel to the highway, which was a bit frustrating. La Jolla beach was about a 20-minute drive. Beautiful Coronado beach was about 30 minutes away. The front desk gave us cards with directions to each destination, which was a big help.

While I wish there was a kiddie pool, our son absolutely loved swimming in the fair-sized pool, which was never very crowded despite a soccer tournament group and other groups being there during our stay. Towels were available pool-side.

The property is located in an office/commercial area, but it is not far off of the 805 and is centrally located to the various attractions and nice beaches. Two grocery stores (Vons and Ralphs) and a Target are a short drive away, and there are numerous restaurants and fast-food places within a short driving distance. The front desk even directed us to a nice public playground nearby, which our son loved.

There was one computer available off of the lobby for guests to use, but the internet connection was so painfully slow that we did not use it.

There were many other families there, with kids of all ages, and there were also business travelers present too. We were very pleased with our stay at this Residence Inn and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank Karatemom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2006

My family of four stayed in the this Residence Inn for 3 nights and found it to be just wonderful for a family vacation stay! The 2 bedroom suite was clean, comfortable and spacious. The interior corridors were well kept and quiet. It was a welcome respite after days at the parks and beach.

The beds were so comfortable and the shower was excellent too. The housekeeper did a nice job every day of freshening up the place after we were gone. The breakfast buffet was good. Every day there were a couple of new things on it. We loved the fresh waffles. There were also very good healthy choices. We also enjoyed the fresh fruit in the lobby during the day.

Our kids enjoyed the pool, tennis and basketball courts and the ping pong table. It was well maintained and a great thing to have for them when my husband and I were tired from the long days on our feet! This is a very friendly family-oriented place to stay. It was conveniently located to Sea World, the zoo, and the beaches were not too far a drive either. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families traveling with children to San Diego for a vacation!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jimmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2006

We stayed at the Residence Inn Sorrento Valley in mid-January '06. I used my Marriott Reward points to cover a 3 night stay in a Queen Bed Studio Room.

The hotel is currently being renovated. Our room was supposed to have been renovated but I thought the cabinets, tv, and dressers, etc were just average. Dont expect posh interiors. This was my first ever stay at a Residence Inn. Maybe I was expecting a little more.

The hotel has a free evening managers reception (Monday thru Thursday, 5-7 pm) where they serve beer, wine, and a small entree. During our stay they served Chicken with Scalloped Potatoes and Chicken Parmesan on separate evenings. The food was okay but its FREE!

A free continental breakfast buffet is served every monrning with Eggs, Waffles, Country Potatoes, etc. Menu items vary daily. Breakfast was ok, but hey its free.

Rooms were clean. There is a swimming pool, jacuzzi, sport court, bbq grill, aerobic machines, and a ping pong table. Room has all you need in the kitchen utensils department (knives, silverware, plates, etc).

One complaint was the bed. We were placed in a room with the older Marriott foam bed. It was not comfortable at all. We did not get a good nights sleep at all. The hotel is currently in the process of updating the beds with the newer Marriott Revive beds which are wonderful.

My other complaint was the a/c unit is very noisy. In the Queen Studio its located in a closet adjacent to the bed. Not the best way to get a good nights sleep.

Overall, the rooms were clean and spacious. However, ask for a room with the new Revive beds for a better night sleep. Dont expect luxury either. I will stick to full service Marriotts and Marriott Vacation Club units.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alexsndiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 29, 2005

I stayed here for two weeks in Feb '05 while on buisness in San Diego. Had no complaints. Everything and everyone worked fine,(well with the exception of the wafflemaker sticking one morning). Saved some of my per diem money with the breakfast and the evening receptions as well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2005

We stay here about 4 times a year. The hotel suite is spacious, including a separate kitchen, sitting area with L-shape sofa and coffee table, and a work area with table and chair. It is our favorite place as it's well-priced for a newer suite. It has heated outdoor pool, sports court and free continental breakfast. The only thing I would want is something with meat such as bacon or ham. But otherwise, many selections including oatmeal, eggs, cereals, juices, etc...

The rooms are clean, quiet and if you drive about a mile or so there are a zillion (almost) restaurants and food choices and entertainment areas. The drive to Seaworld is not much more than 15-20 minutes because it is pretty much clear sailing traffic-wise.

I highly recommend this hotel if you want more than just a small hotel room. You can relax and unwind after a day out and not be cramped.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MX500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 16, 2005

Purpose for Trip: Business Conference
Looked at reviews for other hotels in area. Choose Staybridge Suites for my 5 day trip. Left there after one day. Called Marriott and asked them to help me out. Got an excellent room at a great price for the remainder of my stay - Thanks Huey (Marriott Regional Manager).

Quiet, nice room, easy parking, good location. Great for business travelers and light sleepers.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
0.3 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Address: 5995 Pacific Mesa Court, San Diego, CA 92121-4316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa hotel. Unlike other San Diego extended stay hotels, our unique location puts you right in the middle of all that San Diego has to offer. Not only are we just minutes from Sea World, Balboa Park and MCAS Miramar, but our all-suite hotel is also near North County attractions: La Jolla, Legoland, Del Mar Fairgrounds and the world-famous San Diego Zoo Safari Park. Inside our hotel in Sorrento Valley, start your day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™. Spacious suites at our hotel near Miramar offer a large work space, a soft sofa and a fully equipped kitchen. During your stay, you can curl up in front of the fireplace or stay connected with free high-speed internet. There is also an outdoor BBQ and picnic area, ping pong table and pets are always welcome. In addition to our pool and fitness center, our San Diego extended stay hotel in Sorrento Valley offers a unique experience that sets us apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn
Residence Inn Sorrento Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing