We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, useful features, but not luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Ranked #118 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Clean, useful features, but not luxurious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2006

We stayed at the Residence Inn Sorrento Valley in mid-January '06. I used my Marriott Reward points to cover a 3 night stay in a Queen Bed Studio Room.

The hotel is currently being renovated. Our room was supposed to have been renovated but I thought the cabinets, tv, and dressers, etc were just average. Dont expect posh interiors. This was my first ever stay at a Residence Inn. Maybe I was expecting a little more.

The hotel has a free evening managers reception (Monday thru Thursday, 5-7 pm) where they serve beer, wine, and a small entree. During our stay they served Chicken with Scalloped Potatoes and Chicken Parmesan on separate evenings. The food was okay but its FREE!

A free continental breakfast buffet is served every monrning with Eggs, Waffles, Country Potatoes, etc. Menu items vary daily. Breakfast was ok, but hey its free.

Rooms were clean. There is a swimming pool, jacuzzi, sport court, bbq grill, aerobic machines, and a ping pong table. Room has all you need in the kitchen utensils department (knives, silverware, plates, etc).

One complaint was the bed. We were placed in a room with the older Marriott foam bed. It was not comfortable at all. We did not get a good nights sleep at all. The hotel is currently in the process of updating the beds with the newer Marriott Revive beds which are wonderful.

My other complaint was the a/c unit is very noisy. In the Queen Studio its located in a closet adjacent to the bed. Not the best way to get a good nights sleep.

Overall, the rooms were clean and spacious. However, ask for a room with the new Revive beds for a better night sleep. Dont expect luxury either. I will stick to full service Marriotts and Marriott Vacation Club units.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alexsndiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    59
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
77
24
10
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2005

I stayed here for two weeks in Feb '05 while on buisness in San Diego. Had no complaints. Everything and everyone worked fine,(well with the exception of the wafflemaker sticking one morning). Saved some of my per diem money with the breakfast and the evening receptions as well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2005

We stay here about 4 times a year. The hotel suite is spacious, including a separate kitchen, sitting area with L-shape sofa and coffee table, and a work area with table and chair. It is our favorite place as it's well-priced for a newer suite. It has heated outdoor pool, sports court and free continental breakfast. The only thing I would want is something with meat such as bacon or ham. But otherwise, many selections including oatmeal, eggs, cereals, juices, etc...

The rooms are clean, quiet and if you drive about a mile or so there are a zillion (almost) restaurants and food choices and entertainment areas. The drive to Seaworld is not much more than 15-20 minutes because it is pretty much clear sailing traffic-wise.

I highly recommend this hotel if you want more than just a small hotel room. You can relax and unwind after a day out and not be cramped.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MX500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2005

Purpose for Trip: Business Conference
Looked at reviews for other hotels in area. Choose Staybridge Suites for my 5 day trip. Left there after one day. Called Marriott and asked them to help me out. Got an excellent room at a great price for the remainder of my stay - Thanks Huey (Marriott Regional Manager).

Quiet, nice room, easy parking, good location. Great for business travelers and light sleepers.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2005

We stayed at the Residence Inn for three nights in May, I can't say enough good things about it! Great location, very quick drive to SeaWorld, perfectly manicured grounds. The lobby was inviting, the front desk staff very friendly, and accomodating. The room was very clean, and the kitchenette is perfect. Breakfast and happy hour food was always good with a wide variety of healthy choices, great fuel for long days at the park or beach. The outdoor patio and pool area is ideal for families with kids; large gas grill for guests to grill out while the kids can swim (nice clean pool), play basketball, or ping pong. Our daughter is an only child who found a lot of new friends to play in the pool with while the adults kicked back with cold beverages.

San Diego is just beautiful, and so much fun to visit. I am looking forward to our next stay at the Residence Inn, Sorrento Messa. You will find it to be in a convenient location with great hospitality, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelinLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2004

We stayed at this Residence Inn over the Memorial Day weekend. When I initially reserved our 2 BDR suite, I have to admit that I was a bit worried about what I'd have waiting for me, given the condition of some of the Residence Inns I've seen of late. I must say, I was pleasantly surprised! The hotel was new (perhaps 3 yrs old), well-maintained, and clean. Instead of the traditional Residence Inns that look like old apartment buildings where entrances to suites are from the exterior, this one had interior corridors. I felt safer with this layout. Our suite was well-equipped. My kids enjoyed the courtyard amenities (such as the pool and ping pong). The breakfast buffet was ok - really nothing to rave about - just standard continental breakfast with some scrambled eggs, waffles, cereals, etc. You can't really complain since it was "complimentary".

The staff for the most part was very courteous and friendly (with the exception of a front desk clerk who gave me a little attitude when I disputed a charge for the in-roon Nintendo that we didn't even touch). Aside from that, the staff was very willing to please and pleasant to deal with.

I found the location to be pretty good. It was close to numerous restaurants (about 1-2 miles from a bunch of restaurants on Mira Mesa). It wasn't a bad drive (about 15-20 mins) to most of the tourist destinations (e.g., the zoo, beaches, downtown). I actually liked the fact that it was a little away from the hustle and bustle in the touristy areas.

I would definitely consider staying here again!

Helpful?
7 Thank AlphaRiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2004

We stayed here during a househunting trip and found it easy to drive north county inland & coastal pretty quickly. UTC 15 min. away, Del Mar 15 min. away, Mira Mesa restaurants 5 min., Penasquitos & Sabre Springs 20 min. Quiet area, but only a few restaurants in walking distance. Facing into the courtyard is probably quietest, although Bldg. A was not bad (we had a few trucks loading in the middle of the night at warehouse next door). Don't pick a room on Mira Mesa unless you like traffic.

Staff was helpful & courteous. "Free" internet was only free for 2 days, then they charge $11.95 each day after that. We balked at the advertising and we were only charged for 1 day instead of 5. It's only free if you bring your own wireless card and don't need to borrow a wireless kit.

The 1 bdr was fine for 2 people, but I'd feel claustrophobic with 2 young kids running around in it. The breakfast buffet had enough variety for our 6 day stay. Coffee could be better... Happy hour our first evening was basic sandwich fixings, and the server cheerily brought over beer & wine refills. We did not have time to sample the BBQ or other snacks that week.

It was a very busy hotel, close to Miramar & many corporate offices so there was a good mix of people. Overall a comfortable stay for business reasons; there are probably better locations for touristy sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Point2point
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
1.0 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
0.3 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Address: 5995 Pacific Mesa Ct, San Diego, CA 92121-4316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly-renovated Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa hotel. Unlike other San Diego extended stay hotels, our unique location puts you right in the middle of all that San Diego has to offer. Not only are we just minutes from Sea World, Balboa Park and MCAS Miramar, but our all-suite hotel is also near North County attractions: Solana Beach, Legoland, Del Mar Fairgrounds and the world-famous San Diego Zoo Safari Park. Inside our hotel in Sorrento Valley, start your day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™. Spacious suites at our hotel near Miramar offer a large work space, a soft sofa and a fully equipped kitchen. During your stay, you can curl up in front of the fireplace or stay connected with free high-speed internet. There is also an outdoor BBQ and picnic area, ping pong table and pets are always welcome. In addition to our pool and fitness center, our San Diego extended stay hotel in Sorrento Valley offers a unique experience that sets us apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn
Residence Inn Sorrento Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing