We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel Experience Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Ranked #112 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Orland Park, Illinois
1 review
“Best Hotel Experience Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hotel was clean and updated; a bit off the beaten path, but worth it. Staff was very friendly and helpful, expecially Jawad. Jawad prepares all of the food for the breakfasts and manager's receptions in the evenings. The food was very good and plentiful, and Jawad made us all feel like family; he welcomed us for each meal and went out of his way to be helpful. I will come back to this hotel on all future trips to San Diego because of Jawad!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solly111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor.
We greatly appreciate your time and hope you come back to see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    59
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
77
24
10
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Well, one of the best things about our recent visit to San Diego was our stay at Residence inn at San Diego, Mesa Blvd. The hotel is economical, feels like at home ( as the name suggests, they provide you with almost everything to cook your own food, including dishes, pans, stove, cup/plates etc), provides excellent breakfast (lot of variety) and has very good understanding staff. They even let us stay a bit longer as our car broke down and my husband needed couple of hours to find mechanic and pickup another rental car.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niti d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor.
We greatly appreciate your time and hope you come back to see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Wonderful one-bedroom suite, immaculately clean, with a welcoming note from the maid. Very quiet, great location, many amenities. Our friends barbequed outside, and it was a very comfortable area to sit in, with plenty of chairs and tables. Breakfast excellent, with many options, and the oatmeal (cooked from scratch) was first rate.

Our friends reserved the breakfast area for a private luncheon, and the kitchen staff did a wonderful job in assisting with the catered meal, and helping us in boxing up the leftovers afterwards.

The front desk staff was outstanding, and we were able to check out late. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, but every room I heard about was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LTravel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor.
We greatly appreciate your time and hope you come back to see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Awesome Hotel and an amazing general manager who will go out of his way to help you.Nice service and clean ambiance..Friendly staff and all the best thing you can probably think for a classy service...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jit_Senmazumdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit B, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words. It was my pleasure to help you in planning your trip. I hope your little one enjoyed the Wild Animal Park, The Zoo and Legoland. I hope to see you again on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Residence Inn - Sorento is a family friendly hotel. There is a pool, spa, table tennis, tennis/volley ball/basketball court, and an outdoor grill with picnic area. It is located in a business district just a short 10 - 15 minute drive from San Diego's major attractions. There are several restaurants within a 5 mile radius.

The breakfast buffet is typical with cereal, eggs, sausage, pancakes, waffles, rice, fruit, yogurts, potatoes and a other items that were rotated through the menu. There was plenty of variety that we did not become bored with the meal during our 12 day stay. The evening social hour is only offered on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. It is pretty basic, but satisfying.

Unfortunately, housekeeping leaves something to be desired. The first day housekeeping skipped us, they left a note on the door stating that they couldn't clean the room due to dog "not being caged". (She was crated). Another time housekeeping skipped cleaning because the dog was in the room, even though she was crated. Another morning, I answered the door, holding the dog, and was told housekeeping could not enter unless dog was "caged". I crated the dog and went outside for what I thought would be the room cleaning. Returned 15 minutes later to a fresh supply of towels and nothing else. Many days house keeping completely skipped our room and we would have to go to the front desk for fresh towels and supplies. What cleaning is performed is only done at "eye level".

The front desk staff is friendly and willing to assist in making your stay wonderful. I know this because we had some problems with our reservation and they worked with us to find a workable solution.

I reserved the handicapped accessible, one bedroom suite with tub/shower. Our first room was as studio with the handicapped accessible tub/shower. This was not suitable since I was traveling with my husband and adult son. After talking with the manager, we were moved to a one bedroom suite and a shower bench was provided and hand held shower was purchased and installed. We would have been happy to stay in this room had there been a handicap bar at the toilet.

Two days later we were moved a handicapped accessible, roll-in shower room. This was still not the room style we had reserved. We realize the room design is not a management issue, but had the reservation been correct, we would not be dealing with the following issues.

Due to having a roll in shower, it is impossible to take a shower without the bathroom floor becoming soaked. Another poor design is the placement of the towel bars relative to the shower. For the non handicap, there is no place to put your soap and shampoo, so the wall mounted bath bench must remain down.

To accommodate the oversized bathroom, the living room is much smaller. For seating, it only contains a love seat versus a sofa and chair in the other rooms. For three adults a love seat was not very accommodating. When the sofa bed is used, the door for the bedroom is blocked either completely open or closed. In addition, the upper kitchen cabinets could not be reached by someone using in a wheelchair. The doors to the buildings are not automatic, providing a challenge to open the door and then get thru it.

Not wanting to leave a negative impression, I will return to the many pluses of the hotel, they have several very nice dog walking areas. The outside of the hotel is well lit. Parking is adequate. We felt safe in our surroundings and enjoyed evening walks around the hotel and surrounding business. There is a nice size laundry room in each of the buildings. The wi-fi worked perfectly. The fitness center has treadmills, an elliptical and weights. If in San Diego, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2ginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and detailed review.
I am sorry that you experienced a few issues during your stay but am pleased we were able to come to a satisfactory arrangement.
As for your concerns with housekeeping, I will follow up with our Housekeeping manager and ask why you were unable to receive service. This may be a great training opportunity for our team.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Got in late , called ahead to make sure the room would still be there. Excellent service over the phone call assuring me it would. Got to the hotel the recetionist was friendly welcoming , and attentive to my needs. The room exceptional with a wonderful welcoming note from the maid. Breakfast still top class service with all they could offer in breakfast with everything being kept full.
Wow loved this stay excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you come back again soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great place to stay, very comfortable bed, very nice sitting area with sofa, large desk and swivel tv. Kitchen is well equipped with plates utensils etc for four people even in the studio. Nice to have the full size refrigerator. Really good breakfast buffet with scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit, waffles etc. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 31MIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
0.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Address: 5995 Pacific Mesa Ct, San Diego, CA 92121-4316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly-renovated Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa hotel. Unlike other San Diego extended stay hotels, our unique location puts you right in the middle of all that San Diego has to offer. Not only are we just minutes from Sea World, Balboa Park and MCAS Miramar, but our all-suite hotel is also near North County attractions: Solana Beach, Legoland, Del Mar Fairgrounds and the world-famous San Diego Zoo Safari Park. Inside our hotel in Sorrento Valley, start your day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™. Spacious suites at our hotel near Miramar offer a large work space, a soft sofa and a fully equipped kitchen. During your stay, you can curl up in front of the fireplace or stay connected with free high-speed internet. There is also an outdoor BBQ and picnic area, ping pong table and pets are always welcome. In addition to our pool and fitness center, our San Diego extended stay hotel in Sorrento Valley offers a unique experience that sets us apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn
Residence Inn Sorrento Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing