We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Nearby Hotels
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $325/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$201
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $266/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$189
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$232
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$217
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites(La Jolla)
$207
$202
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$269
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
151
71
29
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
71
29
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen studiobusiness parkfront deskmicrowave popcorntable tennisfull kitchenbasketball courtping ponghome away from homebusiness areabusiness tripmarriott hotelsplatinum membergreat place to staybreakfast buffetthe breakfast areaexcellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 260 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

As many other reviewers I'd like to state here that to Staff is great... The room has space enough for families and it is well equipped. Good breakfast and "social hours" from Monday to Thursday.
However, the carpets in the room and isles as also the air conditioning system seems to be too old providing a bad smelling thru the property... After 3 days keeping the windows of the room opened, the room got a better smell.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rqcarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasha M, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

ReginaldoQC,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to pass along your review of our staff. We take a lot of pride in making every guest feel welcome and like they are part of our family here.

In response to your concerns about our needed renovation, I am happy to announce that we will be breaking ground on September 3rd to kick off our full 2013 renovation. This Winter Residence Inn Sorrento Mesa will be a brand new hotel. Our Renovation will include a remodel of the gatehouse area to include family style booths with private TV screens and a community high-rise table that will also serve as a docking station for your electronics to charge up while you enjoy a meal. The lobby market will be pushed back and opened up into a full market cubby where we will be able to offer more variety and easier viewing and selection process for our guests. Our guest rooms will be redecorated to match the new brand standard of Residence Inn and fresh carpet will be laid out in our rooms, elevators and hallways. The new air conditioning units were installed last week.

We are all very excited about the upcoming changes and we do hope that that if you are in San Diego again, you choose Residence Inn Sorrento Mesa as your home away from home.

Residence Inn Sorrento Mesa
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had to move to a local hotel for a week due to work being done on our house. We stayed in a two bedroom suite that was roomy, clean and comfortable. The highlights were 3 large screen TV's, a fireplace, a small living room and complete kitchen area. The staff were very pleasant and helpful; from check-in, to the person providing the free meals (breakfast and heavy finger foods with wine and beer in the evenings). The pool and hot spa were very clean and a nice way to relax at the end of a work day. Minor criticisms are that the ktchen and bathroom cabinets were dated and the coffee pot was of cheap construction, however, the hotel did provide free quality coffee all day in the food area. If you are a beer lover, the Green Flash brewry is within reasonable walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room (away from the traffic).
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasha M, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear LeeHiker,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

As for your few concerns, I am happy to say that we are going through a complete renovation. Those dated guest suite cabinets have been refreshed and are now paired nicely with stainless steel appliances and granite countertops.

If you find yourself back in this area of San Diego some afternoon, please stop by to check out our renovation. Any one of our front desk associates would be happy to give you a tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here with family for a few days. The room was a little bit smaller than some RI hotels I've been too, but still a suite. The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast added some white rice/dried seaweed options to the typical RI breakfast. The amenities looked well kept, although we didn't use much of it. The location was close to La Jolla which is nice, but a good 20 minutes from downtown. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussRexRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasha M, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

RussRexRay,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor.
We have continued to add more options to our breakfast buffet and social hour since your last visit. We have now started to include, Kimchi, Miso soup, authentic Korean style rice spices and Indian dhokla along with the white rice and seaweed.

In September of this year we will undergo a full renovation that will include both makeovers for the Guest rooms and the gate house/lobby area. After our renovation is complete this winter, our gate house will include private family booths with built in TVs as well as a community table offering electrical outlets as a charging station while you enjoy your meal.
I hope that you come and visit us again if you are ever in the San Diego area.

Thank you again and have a wonderful summer
Residence Inn Sorrento Mesa
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I redeemed a free night that I had earned through Marriott Rewards at this hotel, so keep in mind that I didn't pay a dime to stay here.
I was very pleased with the room. It did feel slightly dated, but it was large, clean, and comfortable. The person working the front desk was extremely friendly, as I would expect for a Marriott. The free breakfast was fantastic! Couldn't have been happier there.
I have always enjoyed staying at various Marriott brand hotels, and this hotel was no exception.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasha M, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Travis,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a glowing review on Trip Advisor. Even though your travel with us was last summer we still appreciate your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you come back to see us again soon.

We will be entering a renovation this September and by the start of 2014, we will have a brand new hotel to offer our guests.

Thank you again and happy summer,
Residence Inn Sorrento Mesa
Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

When I arrived to the hotel the room Was not available although I booked it by Venere. The problem Was not with Venere but with the hotel. Other people had the same problem. I don't recommend to book it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Favaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasha M, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Favaro,

I apologize your room was not ready at the time of your arrival. May I ask what time of day you tried checking-in?

Our guaranteed check –in time is 4pm. All early requested check –ins are requests that we try our very best to accommodate however, with our check out time being noon, we cannot always guarantee that an early check-in will be accommodated. Due to the length of stay most our guests are with us, each room is carefully treated after their departure before the next guest arrives. This ensures the upmost cleanliness of our rooms, though takes a little extra time then a more transient hotel.

If trying to check in before the 4pm guarantee, I do recommend giving us a call ahead of time to see if we are able to accommodate an earlier arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews