We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enjoyed our stay!! Nice hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Ranked #36 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Enjoyed our stay!! Nice hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Family and I really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in the process of renovating their rooms and we stayed in one of those so keep that in mind. The renovated rooms are very nice. Full size kitchen and comfortable living area with sofa sleeper. The bedrooms have a king size bed and the bathroom had a very spacious walk in shower. Beautiful room.

Breakfast is included with stay and there is a large selection of foods plus an omelet station. They will rotate some buffet items on a daily basis to change it up.

The staff is super friendly from the front desk to bar staff to the gentlemen making the omelets. Everyone asked if there was anything we needed or would simply ask how your day was.

For us, the hotel location worked well for us because it was centrally located between the San Diego Zoo and Safari Park.

I didn't rate 5 star for cleanliness only because they are currently renovating a portion of the hotel so excuse their dust.

I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DTDyno7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    159
    43
    20
    14
See reviews for
184
94
23
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
164 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Large rooms but a very cheerless establishment. Rate is surprisingly high given the condition of the hotel and the rooms which are very worn and in need of capital improvements. Rugs and upholstery are stained and worn. Furniture very out of date. Suites however are large and have kitchens. Kind of depressing. No room service. Staff very attentive and kind. Seems fairly clean.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rdkflk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
191 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I really love being kept awake by the couple next to me at 3 in the morning. opening doors, running water, in fact lots of noises which you should never be able to hear from room to room in a decent hotel. Outdated, tired, awful food in the restaurant the only saving grace keeping this hotel from a 1 star is the staff who were outstanding, especially Ryan who was tireless in helping us out. for over $200 this place is a joke.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biddazzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This property is a little dated, but is still one of the nicer properties in the area. I chose this hotel because it was near my customer in La Jolla and was under 220 a night. The Comfot Inn was $179 to give you an idea of how the rates for this area are so outrageous. I was only there for overnight, arrived at 10pm and checked out at 9am. The bed was just okay. The comforter wweighed about 20 lbs! I think this is an all suite property and I did not take advantage of the kitchen area.Very small pool are and gym/workout room. The free breakfast well above avaerage and the staff is very freindly.I was a little surprised there was a TV from 1999 in the room, sorry 2 TV's from '99 in the suite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoltED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I came to San Diego to see our sons for the holiday. Our stay was very enjoyable. The staff: I believe the guys name was Chris (Latio man working nights) was there to welcome us at 11:00 PM, and got us to our room quickly. When we got to our room it was not as expected, because we were told that it had a soft-sleeper. Chris asked if we could keep this room until in the morning when the manager was present. The manager was very nice, profession, and helped resolve our issue. She was very attentive and caring about our situation and went above and beyond to accommodate us. The room we switch to was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast in the morning was excellent and second to none. I've paid $$$ for a buffet like that. They had everything on the breakfast bar! The staff was very attentive during breakfast and assisted in any way possible.

There were little small things that needed to be repaired or fixed. Lamp shade was just sitting on top of the lamp. If you moved the lamp it would fall off. The bar chair, back fabric needed to be re-attached. The work desk in the first room needed to be re-glued. Just small things. After talking with Christine, she informed me that you guys are remodeling and all should be in line on the next visit. I would still recommend to family and friends. Location was nice, staff was excellent, and breakfast was great!

Room Tip: Get the King suite with the kitchen and soft-sleeper even if there are only 1 or 2 people. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is close to Balboa Park and other attractions. It is located within a secluded business area with restaurants and shops within a short driving distance. Very spacious suites with kitchenettes and very clean. The TV and use an update, but it was not an issue for us. The complimentary breakfast is fantastic and an assortment to choose from.

You may smell a variety of spices due to long term guest cooking in their rooms. If it's not pleasant for you, the staff will quickly provide airfreshners. The staff is wonderful and we will definitely stay their again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindavp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa

Property: HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Address: 10044 Pacific Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-4386 (Formerly Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel Sorrento Mesa
Woodfin San Diego
Woodfin Suites Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Suite San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing