We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Ranked #22 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dirty rooms”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

As we entered this hotel we were welcomed by the reception staff who were exceptionally helpful,having completed the check in procedure we made our way to our room upon opening the door we were hit by an unpleasent stale smell which we later decided was the sofa bed which fortunately we would not be using, we opened a window and went out to eat.
When we returned we were hit by the smell again it was so bad I had to go and ask for the room to be changed. this was done without question unfortunately the second room was only marginally better but we stayed as it was now quite late.
Next morning the breakfast taken in the central courtyard was very good with plenty of choice.
It was unfortunate about the smell as otherwise it was a pretty good hotel.

Room Tip: be carful of the room cleanliness
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracolDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    211
    57
    25
    19
See reviews for
278
133
34
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The staff was friendly and the stay ok, but there was a very stale odor in all the hallways and the room was not clean. Stains on sofa, smelly drains in bathroom, and the microwave could have used a thorough wipe down. Luckily it was a one night stay...I couldn't fathom staying there any longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyPSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed Jul 17- 18th, stayed at peak time and surely, paid very expensive (over 200) due to seasonal peak (?). it was no good at all however th price I paid, The hotel was fully booked so,
1. first day, no connection for internet due to too many users, informed to managment but no response at all, 2. no entertainment facility nearby such as shopping mall, rest, and etc.
3. went to fitness center, noisy machine, one eliptical, one bike and heavy weight only 4. breakfast: freezon fruit and standard food 5. turned on vent, airconditioner, noisy like airplane ride , quite noisy vent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chang R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Wonderful place to stay for a family of 5. Breakfast was phenomenal. It would have been even better if we didnt have to wait 30 minutes when checking in. I would stay here again. Great Value for San Diego area including free parking.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Becki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

After staying in Carlsbad for 3 nights we needed a place closer to downtown. Used hubby's points and checked in last August 24th. This is a bigger Hyatt house and it is nice that you can use an entrance closer to where your room is.

My son loved the separate sitting room from the bedroom, so he can watch his cartoons while we watch the news. The kitchen was very convenient, definitely a lot of space in the bathroom. We had the room with a view of the pool, nice though we did not get to use it! They served hot breakfast, scrambled eggs , sausages, quiche (?), biscuit and gravy, cereal, bread, miso soup and some ingredients for sushi. I like it that the people replenishing and cleaning up the dining area were always greeting you .....you feel welcome.

Both father and son were raving about the hotel and it was really nice. The front desk was also very helpful. The location is more of the business area but will definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kate2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel located in the hi-tech business district of North San Diego is a great value for the money if you pay in advance of travel. Obviously catering to the business traveler who stays for longer periods of time, this hotel is great for families too. Why not take advantage of the perks business travelers receive for your family? Hotel is QUIET, clean, all rooms non-smoking, very friendly staff. Free wi-fi, and parking. Daily breakfast with extensive choices, as well as daily menu change - gratis. If you're willing to drive 15-20 minutes to La Jolla or downtown 30min, then this is the best kick for your buck ($107 plus tax/night).

Room Tip: Some rooms have suites with kitchen facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodyear, az
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt House for a long weekend getaway from Phoenix. My husband and I checked in on a Sunday and out on a Wednesday. I was very pleased with this hotel. I did get a deal thru Priceline so it was very reasonable and free parking and breakfast made it even better! The check in process was quick and easy and the gal at the front desk was very friendly. Checking out was the same except it was a young man instead and he was very pleasant as well. The breakfast was different every morning and they leave a schedule in your room telling you what they will be serving each day. They were even making omelets to order one morning. It was very good and there is a nice outdoor area that you can eat breakfast at, as well as the restaurant area inside. The pool was small and in the center of the hotel so very shady for the most part. My only complaint (and it’s not a big deal) would be that they should have the bar inside the restaurant open during the day. So if you want some drinks while out by the pool there is a place to get them. I guess they are open for breakfast and not again until 5pm. It was within reasonable driving distance to most things in San Diego/LaJolla area. I would say it took us about 15 min to drive to downtown LaJolla.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicoleGoodyear_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#9 of 24 in La Jolla
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,350 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa

Property: HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Address: 10044 Pacific Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-4386 (Formerly Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel Sorrento Mesa
Woodfin San Diego
Woodfin Suites Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Suite San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing