We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Ranked #20 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Wonderful place to stay for a family of 5. Breakfast was phenomenal. It would have been even better if we didnt have to wait 30 minutes when checking in. I would stay here again. Great Value for San Diego area including free parking.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Becki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
There are newer reviews for HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 747 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

After staying in Carlsbad for 3 nights we needed a place closer to downtown. Used hubby's points and checked in last August 24th. This is a bigger Hyatt house and it is nice that you can use an entrance closer to where your room is.

My son loved the separate sitting room from the bedroom, so he can watch his cartoons while we watch the news. The kitchen was very convenient, definitely a lot of space in the bathroom. We had the room with a view of the pool, nice though we did not get to use it! They served hot breakfast, scrambled eggs , sausages, quiche (?), biscuit and gravy, cereal, bread, miso soup and some ingredients for sushi. I like it that the people replenishing and cleaning up the dining area were always greeting you .....you feel welcome.

Both father and son were raving about the hotel and it was really nice. The front desk was also very helpful. The location is more of the business area but will definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank kate2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel located in the hi-tech business district of North San Diego is a great value for the money if you pay in advance of travel. Obviously catering to the business traveler who stays for longer periods of time, this hotel is great for families too. Why not take advantage of the perks business travelers receive for your family? Hotel is QUIET, clean, all rooms non-smoking, very friendly staff. Free wi-fi, and parking. Daily breakfast with extensive choices, as well as daily menu change - gratis. If you're willing to drive 15-20 minutes to La Jolla or downtown 30min, then this is the best kick for your buck ($107 plus tax/night).

Room Tip: Some rooms have suites with kitchen facilities.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt House for a long weekend getaway from Phoenix. My husband and I checked in on a Sunday and out on a Wednesday. I was very pleased with this hotel. I did get a deal thru Priceline so it was very reasonable and free parking and breakfast made it even better! The check in process was quick and easy and the gal at the front desk was very friendly. Checking out was the same except it was a young man instead and he was very pleasant as well. The breakfast was different every morning and they leave a schedule in your room telling you what they will be serving each day. They were even making omelets to order one morning. It was very good and there is a nice outdoor area that you can eat breakfast at, as well as the restaurant area inside. The pool was small and in the center of the hotel so very shady for the most part. My only complaint (and it’s not a big deal) would be that they should have the bar inside the restaurant open during the day. So if you want some drinks while out by the pool there is a place to get them. I guess they are open for breakfast and not again until 5pm. It was within reasonable driving distance to most things in San Diego/LaJolla area. I would say it took us about 15 min to drive to downtown LaJolla.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicoleGoodyear_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week for a recent soccer tournament. First of all the sales staff was great in accomodating our group and various changes (Thanks Stephanie!) The front desk staff was friendly and helpful to our group. The 2 bedroom suite we had was nice, clean and comfortable. The kitchen came in handy with the full size fridge. We had ample pillows and the beds were quite comfortable. We were on the ground floor which made it easy to go out of our patio door and into the courtyard area for breakfast every morning. The complementary breakfast was better than I expected. The pool was a bit small. Its location is a bit distant from downtown San Diego, but just a short trip on the freeway, we didnt mind. Overall, for the price, I thought that this hotel is very nice and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aloha68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hyatt is one of my preferred brands, and I've stayed at other Hyatt House locations. The suites here (as at other Hyatt Houses) are very spacious (typically a living room and two bedrooms), and the breakfast is excellent. Also the food at the evening meet-and-greets (3 or 4 nights a week) is good (though much of it is spicier than I prefer). My rating is lower here, however, because the decor is just plain tired. There were lots of wear spots and scratches and stains, on the furniture and carpets - not up to Hyatt standards.

Room Tip: Don't take a room facing the courtyard/pool area unless you don't mind lots of howling/shrie...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank FlamingoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We travel to San Diego every year. We have stayed at many Hotels. Last year we stayed at the Hyatt Regency in La Jolla . My wife kept saying the carpet smells bad and the rooms are out dated. So by looking at the reviews we decided to stay at the Hyatt House this time.
This was by far the worst hotel experience in my life. They has the same smelly carpets. No body would greet you when you walked in to the hotel. The service was awful. The breakfast table was always empty . Always had to wait for the juice and milk to arrive from the kitchen.
But the worst thing was our bathroom . Although the room was acceptable but the bath room was in a bad shape. I asked the manager to change our room but she never did and kept giving us strange excuses. They were mold all over the bathtub and the molding on the wall was peeling off. The bedding and the towels were also very old.
Never again will go there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward1966-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa

Address: 10044 Pacific Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-4386 (Formerly Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $163 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel Sorrento Mesa
Woodfin San Diego
Woodfin Suites Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Suite San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing