We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good brand, tired decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Ranked #24 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good brand, tired decor”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hyatt is one of my preferred brands, and I've stayed at other Hyatt House locations. The suites here (as at other Hyatt Houses) are very spacious (typically a living room and two bedrooms), and the breakfast is excellent. Also the food at the evening meet-and-greets (3 or 4 nights a week) is good (though much of it is spicier than I prefer). My rating is lower here, however, because the decor is just plain tired. There were lots of wear spots and scratches and stains, on the furniture and carpets - not up to Hyatt standards.

Room Tip: Don't take a room facing the courtyard/pool area unless you don't mind lots of howling/shrie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FlamingoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    199
    54
    23
    17
See reviews for
254
126
32
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We travel to San Diego every year. We have stayed at many Hotels. Last year we stayed at the Hyatt Regency in La Jolla . My wife kept saying the carpet smells bad and the rooms are out dated. So by looking at the reviews we decided to stay at the Hyatt House this time.
This was by far the worst hotel experience in my life. They has the same smelly carpets. No body would greet you when you walked in to the hotel. The service was awful. The breakfast table was always empty . Always had to wait for the juice and milk to arrive from the kitchen.
But the worst thing was our bathroom . Although the room was acceptable but the bath room was in a bad shape. I asked the manager to change our room but she never did and kept giving us strange excuses. They were mold all over the bathtub and the molding on the wall was peeling off. The bedding and the towels were also very old.
Never again will go there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward1966-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel is slated to be renovated, but if you plan on staying before the renovation is complete, here are a few issues.

Exercise room has one eliptical and one bicycle. Hardly passes for a fitness center!

The hallways in the wing at the back of the property have a hint of body odor. Only the halls.

The rooms were nice and well equipped, but the TVs were from early 2000 era.

The dining room had unused furniture stacked in corners.

To the positive, the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and the kitchen well equipped and clean.

Room Tip: Try to stay close to lobby on ground floor rather than the back wing where longer-term stays are pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Busytraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Love the 1 bedroom suite, 2 tvs, full kitchen. Fabulous breakfast. Reserved early (3 mos) and got a great price. but it is a hearty drive to the sights of San Diego. Traffic is predictably dense early and "late" . Good business hotel, I think but for tourists, maybe not so good.l .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy33ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel offers suites with a separate bedroom and kitchen. Great for families and extended stays. Our first few days of our six day stay we had a problem with housekeeping but management quickly addressed and corrected it. Free breakfast in the morning and a cordial staff. The rooms also offer balconies or patios which is a nice place to relax. Also good value for the money considering the size of the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool rather than the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Wonderful service, wonderful room, wonderful breakfast, wonderful hotel. We love Hyatt Hotels that offer free parking, free wifi & free breakfast & will choose them over any other hotels. All Hyatts should offer the those amenities!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasTravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I won this hotel on Priceline and it was a steal, but while it was advertised as having sofabeds, the room you win on does not. They stated that they do not rent rollaways and it is against the fire code to have more than 2 people in that room. I had to upgrade to another "suite" for $180 more per night! I had planned to stay 3 nights but as it was late, I just asked to pay for one night and looked for a hotel closer to Legoland. The room I was given was exceptionally spacious but the trash in the kitchen had not been removed from the previous occupant and the dishes and utensils were still greasy. Not a clean plastic spoon to be found anywhere. Left the next day and the manager was nice enough to not charge extra since we had paid for three nights but only staying the one. The best thing about this hotel was the breakfast. Great selection and even had miso soup and rice for my kids to enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Central
Courtyard San Diego Central
#10 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa

Property: HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Address: 10044 Pacific Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-4386 (Formerly Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel Sorrento Mesa
Woodfin San Diego
Woodfin Suites Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Suite San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing