We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay
Ranked #98 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Ashland, OR
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great stay at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here for three nights with my dog, who got to stay free. I needed to get some work done when I was here and the wifi did the job but the desk chair offered no (read: ZERO) back support. I solved that with a move to the 'comfy chair' in the room to actually be comfy enough to work. Problem easily solved.

The free hot breakfast was filling and offered some good choices. I have a bad neck and have to be picky about the beds I sleep on. The bed was fine and I didn't have any problems. The room was clean and taken care of regularly. There was always hot coffee in the lobby, which was a life saver for me.

Aside from the desk chair, my only other complaint was that after a very late arrival (driving in from Sacramento....long way), I needed to get something in my stomach fast. I should have consulted the magic iPhone in my pocket but I was checking in and talking to the desk clerk so I asked where the nearest Taco Bell was. Now, we're in Pacific Beach, right off Garnet Avenue near the I5 freeway. He directed me to a Taco Bell in Mission Valley at Hotel Circle. He maintained it was the closest one. I was stupid enough and tired enough to not argue and I actually got in my car and went there. I know San Diego pretty well so it wasn't that big a deal. But it bugged me enough to check and there was a closer one...much closer, right there in Pacific Beach at the corner of Grand and Mission Blvd.. The more I thought about it, the more I thought that, at the least, if the clerk really wasn't sure where the closest one one, he could have Google'd it.

Everything considered, I have to give the hotel high marks. It was convenient to the freeway and to where I was going. It allowed me to comfortably get my work done. I got a comfortable night's rest for all three nights. The freebies were worth taking advantage of. And the price was right. If my dog had thumbs, I'm sure she'd give it one up too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daliwzrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    176
    83
    25
    11
See reviews for
215
106
27
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Everyone was friendly and seemed to be very happy to see their guests. I was very impressed. The food was very good and the room was very clean. I was most impressed with the friendly staff. The hotel was very easy to park and get to your car from your room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
247 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here for just over a week as we took in the attractions around San Diego. While the hotel can be a bit tricky to find, looking at it on Google Maps and letting the GPS direct us made it simple. We had an executive suite which gave us extra room for our dog. Breakfasts were hearty with eggs, sausage, bacon, cereals, waffles and yogurt. 24 hour coffee at the lobby. With the length of our stay we only asked for room freshening every 2nd day. The staff did a wonderful job keeping the room 'fresh'. Over the course of our stay we probably met most staff. All were cheerful and always willing to lend assistance or provide advice. On most nights parking is not a problem but when the hotel is full it can be a challenge. Overflow is on the street - a quiet street.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms are away from I-5. Easiest to exit the hotel area via Mission Bay. Garnet Ave can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeachlandCalculator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I was very surprise to ser this La Quinta. The entrance gave me a "big Doubt" if I made a mistake in choosing this hotel trying to save some $$$ . But soon as I enter the Lobby , A warm welcome smile greet me and it made me smile. Lobby is very small but its clean and the room is big or its the same size of any other hotel in the area. There is no view but we never stayed anyway. Parking is free and Continental Breakfast was a surprise! Theres Omelette, boiled eggs, sausage, yogurt, coffe etc. Staff are very friendly and very helpful. It was a 3 day weekend, Martin Luther Day and the place is full but it was bery quiet. Even being by freeway 5 We did not hear any noise. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

By far, the best hotel I've been in this year. Rooms were very, very nice with great beds and bedding. Flat screen High Def TV's with super reception. Rooms were clean with large
bathrooms and granite counter tops. Safe underground parking, with large spaces. Hot breakfast in the morning was more than adequate. Rooms had windows that open to get fresh air and a/c unit was very quiet. Close to I-5, however, first time visitors may have a hard time finding the entrance. This is a high-traffic area. McDonald's restaurant next to hotel as well as a couple of gas stations and convenience store. The staff were all very courteous and helpful. There isn't any grass on the property, but there is a strip mall north of the hotel that does have grassy areas for your pets. Take a baggy with you. Would definitely stay at again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
#97 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Pacific Beach
Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay
Address: 4610 De Soto Street, Interstate 5 and Balbo, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in San Diego
#95 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different, the Mission Bay Inn San Diego is conveniently located in Pacific Beach, and only 1 mile to Mission Bay Park. The Mission Bay Inn San Diego is also located within 2 miles of Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Downtown, Old Town, San Diego Convention Center, and the University of California - San Diego. New for 2009, we've installed brand new furniture in all of our rooms! Our guest rooms offer all the conveniences of home, including free wireless high speed Internet access, refrigerator and microwave in all rooms, coffee/tea maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, 27-inch television with cable and free local calls. To start off the morning right, stop by for our great hot breakfast, served complimentary to all guests in our brand new breakfast area. USA Today is also provided Monday through Friday for your convenience. A brand new fitness room and guest laundry are also available for your convenience. We offer a sparkling heated pool and jacuzzi for your enjoyment. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, comfortable and memorable with quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Bay Inn San Diego Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing