We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than i ever expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay
Ranked #95 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Much better than i ever expected”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very good stay, i was very impressed with the quality of the rooms, furnishings and facilities. The Inn is very conveniently located (if you are driving). Service was fantastic, parking was free the room was spacious, modern and clean.
Breakfast was a little bit of a let down, for the price it was fine but i felt the quality of the eggs could have been a little better. Saying that there were other choices (fruit, waffles, bread selection, yogurt) so i can't complain too much.
Would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay_Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    187
    86
    26
    11
See reviews for
231
113
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our last stop on a road trip from San Francisco so we were exhausted with sore feet. This hotel couldn't have been nicer both in room and service. The price was also great with $89 for Sunday and $109 for the weekend. We paid double that elsewhere without any nicer amenities. It took us several passes to finally get to the hotel as it is located at a busy intersection and sort of tucked away up on a hill behind stores. The location for the Zoo, Sea World, Old Town and the airport was fantastic. The parking was underground and the cart and elevator very convenient. They were servicing the elevator but saw we were checking in, so they held it for us. Just one of the nice things they did. The clientele were friendly families going to sporting venues and the sights I mentioned earlier. The spacious room and the bed were lovely and the air conditioner quiet. The shower perfect. We were there three days so we used the microwave and fridge, which worked great. The breakfast was good with the choice of scrambled eggs and sausage and biscuits as well as everything else you would expect. We love our coffee and there was a hot pot going all day long. There was a pool and a spa and we used it a couple of times. Even though it is near a busy street, it is nicely tucked away and private. The pool was warm and we used both. The last day I wanted to down load my and my husband's boarding passes and with some help from the fellow on the desk, the hotel computer and printer, I managed to do it. One piece of paper each and we went from San Diego to LA to Toronto. This world is amazing. We were so pleased with the housekeeping that we left some presents and a tip.

Room Tip: We didn't hear any road noise but you might ask about rooms away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Checked in about 7 pm after a long day. I was extremely stressed out for reasons that don't really matter - suffice to say I was near a panic attack. Jose was working the desk and he could not have been kinder. I know it was obvious I was a bit out of it, but he was so patient and nice. I didn't have a reservation and had been trying to decide where to stay, which added to my stress. Jose's attitude went a long way to my choosing this location.

It was a good choice. The rooms are very nice being recently remodeled and were very clean. Microwave and fridge, and our room had a wet bar as well. The free breakfast was very generous. The location turned out to be great as well - we got everywhere we wanted to go within minutes. Our room was just down the hall from the lobby and I'd been concerned about noise - but we never heard the folks in the lobby, hallway, or adjoining rooms. Someone has mentioned the entrance and parking. Entrance is only confusing the first time you do it - its not hard, you just have to wind around to the front (depending on which way you are coming from) and we never had trouble with the parking at all (there is parking on two levels). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel allows guests to room with their dogs. Being an animal lover I consider this a big plus. HOWEVER, not when the guest goes out for the evening and leaves a frantic dog locked in their room! The dog barked, whined and scratched at the door for over an hour and this was after 9pm. After about 30 minutes of the dog not settling down, I was going to call the front desk. HOWEVER, the phone in my room did not work even though I did give them my credit card when I check in. Not wanting to get out of bed I just crossed my fingers and hoped for the best. Finally, other guests evidently reported it because there were several concerned voices in the hallway. Though I realize this was not the management's fault, my complaint is regarding the very thin walls and lack of phone service.
The room itself was nice and the bed comfortable.
The breakfast was a big disappointment. It is only slightly better than a continental breakfast. The breakfast room is small and very cramped. So small, in fact, that the coffee station is in the lobby! A fact that no one bothers to tell you. I think a sign would have helped. I have stayed at other hotels that offer a free buffet breakfast that is far superior.
I would not stay here again nor recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinatack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is just like you expect from a remodeled LQ nice room & updated. Getting in and out if this place is totally crazy. Parking is even worse just be ready go out come back your parking on the street hoping your car will be there in the morning.

Staff was very nice close to La Jolla and San Diego if your going to be traveling north & south as we were its a perfect place to stay. Just realize the getting here and parking are the only real issues.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pjsioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmen, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The location is away from other hotels and restaurants, but still an easy drive to all the local attractions and beaches.
A great breakfast is provided, including all your typical carbs, but also including hard boiled eggs, either cheese omelets or scrambled eggs, and sausage. Yogurts, fresh fruit, an assortment of juices and waffles are also available. We didn't have any trouble finding room to eat in the morning.
I know others have commented on the parking, but there were ample spaces the duration of our visit.
The kids loved the pool which was heated but still pretty cool and the hot tub was noisy but cozy.
The rooms were very clean and they utilize the non-bedspread approach which is much appreciated. Turning on the fan in the room eliminated any road or highway noise, although the night we stayed there it sounded like the guests upstairs were hosting a track meet. I can't blame the hotel as I never picked up the phone to complain and they are certainly not at fault for the rudeness of others.
The location was awkward as there is no way to exit the highway and reach the hotel without doing some creative u-turns, so there is always some need to plan ahead. It is right off the interstate though. Gas stations and a McDonalds are within walking distance. It was about a 10 minute drive to Sea World, about 15 to the zoo, and about 30 to Legoland. The road the hotel is on will take you straight down to the beach where there are a bunch of restaurants and tourist fare. Again, it was about a 10-15 minute drive.
I'm not sure what the other reviewer was referring to, as there is an elevator right off the lobby.
I would certainly be willing to stay there again if I were visiting San Diego.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aspalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Best Western Mission Bay
#110 of 278 in San Diego
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#30 of 278 in San Diego
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay
Address: 4610 De Soto St, Interstate 5 and Balbo, San Diego, CA 92109-3815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in San Diego
#95 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different, the Mission Bay Inn San Diego is conveniently located in Pacific Beach, and only 1 mile to Mission Bay Park. The Mission Bay Inn San Diego is also located within 2 miles of Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Downtown, Old Town, San Diego Convention Center, and the University of California - San Diego. New for 2009, we've installed brand new furniture in all of our rooms! Our guest rooms offer all the conveniences of home, including free wireless high speed Internet access, refrigerator and microwave in all rooms, coffee/tea maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, 27-inch television with cable and free local calls. To start off the morning right, stop by for our great hot breakfast, served complimentary to all guests in our brand new breakfast area. USA Today is also provided Monday through Friday for your convenience. A brand new fitness room and guest laundry are also available for your convenience. We offer a sparkling heated pool and jacuzzi for your enjoyment. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, comfortable and memorable with quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Bay Inn San Diego Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing