We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay
Ranked #94 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

At the advice of other travelers on TripAdvisor, we recently stayed at La Quinta Inn and Suites at Mission Bay in San Diego. We will definitely be back. The price was great for San Diego. The location was so good because we were a "hop, skip and a jump" from many places we like to go when we're here (downtown, parks, hiking, the beach, shopping, etc). We love San Diego and it's great to find a nice hotel where we are comfortable and it's affordable.

To start out, when we got there the staff was friendly and helpful. We needed to switch rooms because we were right next door to a bit of a noisy "family reunion" - a family group who were in more than one room. We got that changed immediately.

The rooms are clean. The beds are very comfortable and the amenities are very good. The breakfast room was the nicest of any La Quinta we've stayed at before. And the items offered are varied and good. The rooms at the back are quieter. However, because of our room needing to be changed, we were closer to the street. The street noise really does diminish a lot after 10 p.m. so we had no trouble going to sleep.

There is plenty of parking on site and it's free, also. Good thing to know in a big city.

Room Tip: Rooms with higher numbers are in the back part of the hotel, away from the busy street.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeisverygood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SynergyHotelGroup, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Hello Lifeisgood2
We are pleased to hear that your recent stay with us was a pleasant one. As you were able to see, we have affordable prices and we are in a great location where you are only minutes from the many attractions that San Diego has to offer like the many beautiful beaches (Pacific Beach, Ocean beach, Mission Beach and La Jolla) as well as the many shopping centers like Fashion Valley and Mission Valley Mall, not to mention that many locations were you can go for a hike or visit some of our historic locations like Old Town San Diego or the Gaslamp district. We hope that you and your spouse can come back to visit us again and receive that great quality care that our staff has been trained to give.
See you soon
Mallarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 493 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here with family over Thanksgiving. The main reason we selected this hotel was that the price was very favorable compared to other hotels in the area. Also the free Internet and free breakfast was important to us. We were relieved to find that the hotel also had a self-service washer-dryer which was really convenient. The room was fine and had a flat screen in the room. Bathrooms were clean. Rooms were tidied every day. Internet worked fine. Breakfast was ok. Limited variety but ok. Parking is free. However, the parking spaces are a little tight. So backing and out can take a couple of tries depending on which spot you are trying to get into. But overall, the staff was very friendly and helpful in all matters. The hotel has a pool also.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jac2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SynergyHotelGroup, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Hello Jac2005
Thank you for your recent stay with us over Thanksgiving. We appreciate you business and are proud to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with the free wifi internet and parking as well as the Bright Side Breakfast. We you were able to see we have recently renovated our hotel with new beds and nice flat screen TV's in each room. We are pleased to hear that our staff was exceptional with you and your family. We hope to have you come back to San Diego and enjoy the many attractions our city has like San Diego Seaworld, San Diego Zoo and the many beautiful beaches like Mission Beach and Pacific Beach.

Thank you
Mallarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
Moorpark, California, USA
11
Reviewed November 28, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SynergyHotelGroup, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had a great trip and having a nice hotel with a soft bed at the end of the day was a relief! I will stay here again. Nice staff. Super clean, newly renovated. The hotel was really busy when we stayed and you couldnt tell from any of the staff. Cool, calm and ready to help. Breakfast was great. My son loved the variety.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SynergyHotelGroup, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you Charlotte for your recent stay with us at our hotel.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us and to hear that our staffs were friendly, accommodating and helpful to you. It is nice to hear that your son loved the variety in the Bright Side breakfast you received each morning. With the many things to do in San Diego such as Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, The many museums to name a few we are glad you stayed with us. We hope to have you and your family with us again.

Mallarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Bugs in the room. Told the front desk and they said they would fix it; came back at the end of the day and found more bugs in the tub. Carpet in hallways very dirty. Rooms seems to be refinished, but very poor work in my opinion. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SynergyHotelGroup, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you Robert for your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the bug issue you had in your room. We take pride in our hotel and to hear that you were not pleased with the room concerns us. We have since had a pest control come up and stray the rooms to ensure a clean bug free hotel. We also had our Carpet cleaner come in this month to service the carpets in the halls. We hope to have you come back again and see the many improvements we have done.

Mallarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kansas City
1
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Room was spotless clean, microwave and refrig. Parking was spacious. Staff was superb. made me feel like I was a friend visiting. Very pleasant and enjoyable to have conversation with. Staff gave directions every where I needed to go. Will absolutely stay there agin. Would be very disappointed if it was booked up.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SynergyHotelGroup, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hello Valued Guest.
We are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was accommodating to you. We appreciate your kind words and are glad to hear that our staff treated you like friends. It’s great to hear that you were able to receive directions from our staff in the many places San Diego has to offer like Seaworld, Downtown San Diego, the many beaches to name a few. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!

Mallarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed for a week at the end of october . Very nice room . The room was nice size , just as good as the the rooms you pay 150.00 for a night at . Nice view of palm trees . There are palm trees all around the hotel . You can tell the hotel was just redone with newly remodeled everything and that is great . Hotel is right off of freeway , so you can get anywhere from it . I did not drive or rent a car here on vacation , just walked or took the bus or even taxi . The bus stop is right in front of the hotel , so it was real easy . The people at the front desk told me what bus or buses to take to get where I wanted . The people working at the hotel are great . I went to pacific beach which is 10 minutes from the hotel , 1 bus straight there . The gaslamp district which is 2 buses , 20 minutes from hotel . The charger game , I took a taxi , about 20 minutes from hotel . The uss midway I took 2 buses , about 25 minutes from hotel . I also talked to neil the hotel manager , and told him how I loved the hotel , he is a great guy to talk to . Also the hot tub outside and the pool at the hotel are really nice . Very nice breakfast , eggs , waffles , bacon or sausages , orange juice , coffee , milk , toast . One thing I look for in bathrooms in the room is showers with quik hot water and this one does . 2 computers downtairs by front entrance , that work very nicely to use . This is a great hotel with very nice people and would definitley reccomend it to everyone !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SynergyHotelGroup, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Hey Mike
We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. I do remember you and it was an absolute pleasure to have you stay at our hotel. We appreciate your business and review. It was pleasing to hear that your stay was a wonderful one and we hope you get a chance to come back with us. As you were able to see we are not far from most attractions around San Diego that only a short taxi or bus ride can take you too like the Qualcomm Stadium (GO CHARGERS), Pacific Beach, Mission Beach and the many restaurants in Downtown San Diego. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our free Brightside Breakfast each morning and that you were always greeted warmly. We do hope you come back to see us again in the near future.

Thank you again and see you soon
Mallarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Best Western Mission Bay
#115 of 278 in San Diego
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,225 reviews
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Address: 4610 De Soto St, Interstate 5 and Balbo, San Diego, CA 92109-3815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#67 Family Hotel in San Diego
#95 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $86 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different, the Mission Bay Inn San Diego is conveniently located in Pacific Beach, and only 1 mile to Mission Bay Park. The Mission Bay Inn San Diego is also located within 2 miles of Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Downtown, Old Town, San Diego Convention Center, and the University of California - San Diego. New for 2009, we've installed brand new furniture in all of our rooms! Our guest rooms offer all the conveniences of home, including free wireless high speed Internet access, refrigerator and microwave in all rooms, coffee/tea maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, 27-inch television with cable and free local calls. To start off the morning right, stop by for our great hot breakfast, served complimentary to all guests in our brand new breakfast area. USA Today is also provided Monday through Friday for your convenience. A brand new fitness room and guest laundry are also available for your convenience. We offer a sparkling heated pool and jacuzzi for your enjoyment. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, comfortable and memorable with quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Bay Inn San Diego Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing