We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but a little pretentious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #46 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OK, but a little pretentious”
Reviewed January 7, 2007

We stayed for 4 days over New Year. The hotel has a great location if you want to be near the sea but don't expect to walk to anywhere else from here it is isolated. The hotel has two sides to it. The newer section where we stayed was new, clean with nice views. The rest looked somewhat wornout from the outside. The breakfast at the Blue pearl was a standard affair. Don't bother with dinner there. The whole place has the feel of somewhere that desperatly wants to be 4 or 5 star but can't quite make it. Rather overpriced for what really amounts to a good motel in a nice location.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank JWUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    709
    280
    148
    84
See reviews for
1,049
593
69
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Topanga, California
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2006

I stayed in the newer area of The Dana, and it was quite nice. I was on the ground floor and the room opened to the bay...delightful. The room was spotless and the furnishings up-to-date. As others have stated, you must have a car if you are going to stay at this relatively isolated property. But, hey, it's Southern California...of course you need a car!

My only complaint was that the free wireless did not work in my room (I guess you get what you pay for), so I had to take my iBook to the lobby for Internet access.

  • Liked — Clean, with a beautiful view.
  • Disliked — No in-room WiFi.
  • Tips/Secrets — If you care, check your WiFi connection before you unpack. Maybe you can get moved to a room with a signal.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FromTheBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller3333
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2006

Pros:
1) Free Shuttle Service to the Seaworld and to the airport (hourly)
2) 2 restaurants on site. One was reasonably priced for every day meals
3) Clean rooms, good facilites, heated swimming pool, internet access, free newspaper

Cons:
1) Far from shops/downtown/attractions/restaurants: need a car to get around really from this hotel location.
2) Taxi fare to the San Diego Zoo is $22 US, or alternatively you can spent an hour catching 3 buses to get there.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2006

Our son was graduating Marine Corp. basic training and I booked the hotel for my family based on the reviews on this website, (love this site!).

My family can't stop talking about the wonderful time they had and what a great hotel it was. They upgraded our room, without a request from us, to a water view for no extra charge. The staff was extremely professional and courteous. The room was to die for with very elegant appointments and touches.

Don't hesitate, book a room today.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toorollingstoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2006

Attractive setting and a very nice property. The location is not within walking distance of much except SeaWorld, but a short drive from many attractions. Two nice places to eat on property. Two pools are very good, esp. the newer one. Free shuttle to some locations. Readily-available internet in front lobby. Free newspapers. Some days are substantially more expensive than others. So-called view units would be worth the extra, were it not so substantial also; "garden units" are just fine. Front desk can be less than helpful.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Front desk
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LLTVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2006

Took our granddaughter to San Diego for the weekend from L.A.f by train. She loved it. Booked the Dana even though some of the review were spotty. Arrived late and check in was a breeze with the clerk really trying to accomodate our request for a king bed plus a sleeper sofa for our granddaughter. Got exactly what we asked for - it was in the new section looking out on the bay. Beautiful room - lovely view - perfectly manicured grounds and friendly staff. Would recommend to anyone. The Blue Pearl Restaurant was a little bit of a hike but with reasonable prices, abundant well prepared food and very kid friendly. The Dana (plus Shamu, of course) made the weekend.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and view
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for the new buildings.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theridleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2006

The hotel offers exactly what its pictures show: comfortable environment, two swimming pools, bay view rooms that overlook that harbor.

It is true that rooms in the older section are not as nice as the new ones -- but they are not as expensive either, which is a bargain considering the fact that these rooms are on the same property as the more expensive, newer ones. I find the quality of the older rooms acceptable, though not spectacular. There were reviews written about the noise levels - we didn't find it to be that big of a factor as other guests really respected each other. We only heard other guests as they were getting out of their car or passing by our room.

This property is best if you have your own car and want free parking as well as peace and quiet when you are at your hotel. This setting juxtaposes the hotels by the beach, which allow you to just step out of your room and go to the beach. Those hotels have a relatively noiser environment and parking there costs extra.

The Dana is actually only five minutes away from the beach, so every time we wanted to go to the beach and eat there, we just drove there. The only challenge was to find parking, but that wasn't too difficult either.

Make sure you go back to the site often to check the room rates - they change it from time to time, so be sure you get the lowest rates when you check in.

The big plus is the fact that there is a computer AND a printer at the front desk for guests to use -- the obvious downside is the fact that there is usually somebody using it.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you don't want to be in the hustle and bustle of the beach all the time and have a big party. The two-story motel style buildings also provide a nice communal environment.

  • Liked — Value and location
  • Disliked — Room quality
  • Tips/Secrets — Get an area map at the front desk. It has all the information that you'd need. There are grocery stores (on Garnett Ave.) and numerous eateries by the beach, just drive around that area.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isabellafung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#151 of 278 in San Diego
3,306 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Hotel
#149 of 278 in San Diego
742 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#118 of 278 in San Diego
2,483 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#30 of 278 in San Diego
3,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly The Dana On Mission Bay, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#43 Family Hotel in San Diego
#69 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront resort enveloped by tropical landscaping, The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection delivers an exceptional lodging experience in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Rest comfortably in a well-appointed guestroom or two-room suite overlooking Mission Bay. Delight in such quality amenities as two outdoor, heated swimming pools, fitness center, private marina, and watersport and bicycle rentals on site. Our location is both family- and business-friendly. The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection is less than one mile to Mission Beach and Belmont Park. We're the closest hotel to SeaWorld San Diego and a short drive to the San Diego Zoo. And the San Diego Convention Center is equally convenient. In short, the only thing we overlook is the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing