We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved the Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #45 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“loved the Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2005

Stayed here in August 2004 with my family for two weeks. The room was nice and clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much for them. Location ideal for shopping and getting to and from the airport. Would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smartann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    681
    270
    145
    81
See reviews for
995
576
66
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2005

My husband and I spent my 50th birthday at the Dana. We arrived on a beautiful january afternoon. We stayed Jan. 19 to Jan 26th. Our room was in the 800 block overlooking the Marina. The room was pretty standard. We had a king size bed. and double bathrooms sinks. The room was clean and fresh. It was my birthday and my husband arranged for flowers and wine to be delivered to the room. The staff did that and threw in a lovely fruit platter. At all times we were treated well. The desk helped us plan our days. They set up tours for us, give us tips on where the good restaurants were. We ate at the Firefly a few times, excellent food. The bar staff was very attentive, and always had a few moments to chat. The two pools and two hot tubs, were clean and well maintened. We also had breakfast at the blue Pearl. The breakfast was huge, we shared one. There is no extra charge for sharing one plate. They have rental bikes on the premises, so do rent one and bike around the bay.I found everybody as pleasant as could be . We would definitely go back again. we are already talking about going back in Sept. to take in some of the horseraces . Good value for the money. If you want to have fancier rooms. the new section is where you might want to stay. Being across the street from Seaworld, three miles from old town and a bus stop right out the front, the marina and bay right outside the door . Why go anywwhere else?

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2004

We got a great deal on the hotel thanks to Airmiles and for the money we had an excellent stay. Maybe for the normal rack rate we might have felt it a little expensive, however we liked the motel type arrangements as it was different from the "everything looks the same" chains. If you are paying $200 a night get a better deal, we paid considerably less.
The location is ideal for SeaWorld.
Our room was clean when we arrived and cleaned well in the three days we were there. If you have a heavy suitcase some people might not like the first floor rooms and the whole 20 yards you might have to walk from the car but. I can manage 20 yards and 20 steps so it was fine for us.
Pool and gym facilities are pretty good as well
Good stay. We would certainly go back

Helpful?
Thank USATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2004

We stayed for three nights in November. Found the staff to be polite and helpful. We were in the older section overlooking the Marina. Parking was close by and it was quiet.
As others have mentioned the rooms could be cleaner. We found several old french fries on the floor infront of the airconditioner (which had the front cover partially falling off). We left them there to see what would happen. They were never removed in the three nights we were there. Also in the bathroom the corners of the wall above the baseboard were dirty.
The on site full service restaurant was excellent. Friendly staff. good food and reasonable prices.
All in all we enjoyed our stay

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2004

I booked this room through Southwest Vacations package back in August, 2004. I then decided to read the reviews on the Dana, and let me tell you I was ready to switch hotels. The only thing that stopped me was the positive reviews were so different from the negative ones. I decided when we arrived at the hotel that if I did not like the room, I would upgrade to the new side. When we arrived the check in went smoothly and the front desk person was real nice. We went to our room and it was just great. The room had been updated and looked like the picture on their site. The room was clean and well kept the whole time we were there. I would reccomend this hotel to my family and friends.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2004

After reading on line that the Dana Inn was so terrible by about 6 reviews I was getting scared. Our trip was booked ! My travel agent assured us they had never had any negative feedback and IF there was a problem, please let them know and we would certainly be accomodated elsewhere. Well !! The four of us were certainly happy with our rooms. Absoluitely lovely and service bar none. We could not find a negative item to report here. I talked with people who stay here often for conferences, etc. I think it is a star 5 place. Shame on the people who posted negative remarks. I understand there are some who do this just to promote another business. A wonderful restaurant on the premises and only a short walk to Sea World. Oh, this was a big hit for us. Thank you Dana Inn !!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank foreverfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2004

After reading all the reviews recently I was very concerned since I pre-paid my reservations. I had a standard room that had been renovated which turned out to be fine with us. We are from Hawaii so being my the marina was a bonus but we spent most of the time at Sea World, Legoland and the Wild Life Park and only used the room to sleep. Please know that the older section is more like a motel room, don't expect anything more unless you stay in the new section which looks awesome! The new pool looks great and would be a nice place to hang out. The marina is great from relaxing, walking or jogging. The location is great, close to Sea World, easy access to the freeways and many commercial places to eat and shop only a 2 minute drive away (Sports Arena Drive). If you go the west on W. Mission Bay drive, you will hit a Mission Beach area (2 minute drive) with a old wooden roller coaster and a small beach community. You can walk, jog or rollerblade down the beach sidewalk. There are small shops and places to eat there also. If you turn north up Mission Blvd, there is a more contemporary beach community area in the Pacific Beach area (5 - 7 minute drive). If you head north further to La Jolla, there is the Children's Beach area (12-15 minutes drive) where the seals hang out on the beach! Ask for directions. If you want a shopping center, Fashion Valley Shopping Center is only 7 minutes away by taking the 8 east. If you want a nice room, get a room in the new section, it you want a standard room, expect a Motel room and make sure you get a renovated room (kind of a sloppy renovation work). PLEASE don't expect more than, I cannot speak for the rooms that have not been renovated! The website info is for the NEW SECTION only! Expedia has a good photo of the standard rooms. Shop around, I got a great deal with the 4th night free! The front desk people were very pleasant and helpful. That's all, hope this helps! Be Blessed!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#143 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly The Dana On Mission Bay, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#43 Family Hotel in San Diego
#69 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront resort enveloped by tropical landscaping, The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection delivers an exceptional lodging experience in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Rest comfortably in a well-appointed guestroom or two-room suite overlooking Mission Bay. Delight in such quality amenities as two outdoor, heated swimming pools, fitness center, private marina, and watersport and bicycle rentals on site. Our location is both family- and business-friendly. The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection is less than one mile to Mission Beach and Belmont Park. We're the closest hotel to SeaWorld San Diego and a short drive to the San Diego Zoo. And the San Diego Convention Center is equally convenient. In short, the only thing we overlook is the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing