We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dana on Mission Bay
Nearby Hotels
$470
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$484
$350
Fairmont.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$336
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$289
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$157
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$214
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$323
$199
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$215
$186
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,550)
Filter reviews
2,550 results
Traveler rating
1,238
762
302
156
92
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,238
762
302
156
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirefly restaurantsea worldmission baytropical poolresort feemarina viewbelmont parkstandard roomfree shuttleshuttle serviceshort drivefamily vacationcoffee makerfire pitthe san diego areala jollapools
Filter
Updating list...
1,169 - 1,174 of 2,550 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Wonderful resort with nice pools and amenities. Two pools, lots of green lawn space, and even fire pits that line the bay. We were given a free upgrade to a room with an excellent view of Mission Bay. They do charge to park your car, but hey it's San Diego at peak tourism and it's superior to a Motel 6 or even a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nfrench44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I love this hotel. My room had been updated and really nice, with a large bathroom, comfortable bed, microwave, fridge, and Keurig, and the grounds are just beautiful. Hotel is on Mission Bay, view of a harbor, with a perfect view of Sea World fireworks every night. The two pools and two restaurants (and happy hour) are wonderful. The staff bent over backwards to be helpful. Two things to remember, though - this is a resort so there are extra charges ... resort fee, parking ... so it can be expensive. Also, if you don't like being at a hotel with lots of children, this place is probably not for you. Because Sea World is nearby it's a great family hotel. However, I was on a business trip, not with my family, and it was still fine. If you want to experience the laid-back atmosphere of beautiful southern CA, I recommend booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the bay (in the buildings away from the street) are quieter. I stayed in the building with rooms in the 700s and it was very nice. Might not want to stay on the first floor - you can hear footsteps of the people above you.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryllyn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I booked this place on Hotwire and was pleasantly surprised. It's a great family place and nice to be out of the city. It's a resort and sort of spread out so make sure whoever you're travelling with is able to walk maybe up to 5 min between places.

Mission bay beaches and the big mission beach are about a 15 min walk away.

The rooms are a good size and match the price (mind you, I'm from canada and don't travel to the states often, so I'm used to paying quite a bit for hotels)

Go off site to eat if you can (have a car). The food on the resort is good but is a bit expensive. The main restaurant is small so don't count on finding a table too quickly if you're late to dinner.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Hamiltongirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The check in was effortless. The grounds are beautiful. The room was clean. The staff was helpful. The pools were great - kids loved the movies at poolside each night. Choices of on-site dining. Close to Sea World. Great park right next door...awesome place to run or walk. Bon fire spots all over. Rental shop on property to rent bikes, jet skis, etc....handy and fun! We asked for complimentary parking and got it...score! We thought the rooms were a little pricey, but the location is great and the hotel offered discounts on their restaurants.

Room Tip: Bring things for s'mores! There are plenty of firepits on the property and just next door by the water. Pay a little extra for a bayview room...the view is amazing. From room 1307, we were able to see the bay from the back patio and the Sea World firework show from the front door!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Love The Dana!! Our first choice when visiting San Diego! Convenient to everything! We took our bikes and rode all over Mission Bay from the hotel! Peaceful grounds and lush surroundings! Absolutely love this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachbumzonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews