We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #47 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Brawley, California, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful room”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed the first 3 days of July. The price was great compared to everything else in San Diego. Room was in an older part of the facility but the rooms had been updated and were beautiful, bed was comfortable and wi-fi connection was great. The staff is friendly and helpful regarding places to eat and see. Walking along the bay front you have beautiful views of the ocean, plus you can see the fireworks at sea world. I highly recommend this hotel, in fact it was recommend to me by a friend who also enjoys the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    697
    274
    147
    84
See reviews for
1,026
588
67
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel was our first stop during our first USA trip, and while it was ok, it was nothing special. We noticed there seems to be a nicer part of the resort; our room seems to have been in an old motel-style section. The room was clean and the beds were good enough.

The outlook of the resort was beautiful although the location is a bit far from San Diego itself, so best have a rental car. We did not visit sea World however it is very close.

Beware of the $9 per day 'resort fee' which seems to be compulsory and really only gets you wifi (also food discount vouchers but these didn't seem to offer any great value.

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the good resort section not the old motel part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence2564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Took the train down for a day at Sea World. Decided to stay the night before at The Dana. Loved that they offered shuttle service from the Santa Fe station to the Hotel. This allowed us to travel without the child seat. Very happy about that. Don the shuttle driver gave us great advice on Sea World. Thanks Don.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad17932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We are from San Diego and booked a last minute night at the hotel direct from the website. The Dana's website had the best prices by at least $40. We were looking for some relief from the heat with the pool and air conditioning. This was our first stay. Check in was easy and quick. There were several agents checking people in. The hotel is more of the bungalow type. If you are looking for high end luxury and less intimacy, this isn't the hotel for you. The rooms were clean and adequate for the three of us. The air conditioning is a single unit, so it took a little longer to cool, but eventually we were comfortable. We enjoyed the k cup coffee as well. The pool was fine, although the water felt more like bath water. It's been hot for a stretch, so that didnt surprise me. Pool bar was busy and only one bartender. She did great considering how busy it was. We ate at the Firefly for dinner and breakfast. Service was good and our waitress, Paulina was exceptional. Would recommend this hotel to anyone as we had a very pleasant stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KJMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Love my room with the view and the cleanliness and attention to detail. At felt at home with the Keurig machine in my room. The bathrobes were a nice touch. I will definitely coming back to this hotel when visiting San Diego

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aixaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is a rip-off with questionable business practices:
My room cost $212 dollars a night (2750 Mexican pesos cada noche) and was prepaid for three nights ($635 dollars or 8200 pesos) At the not very friendly reception I was given a card with a list of eight items that I did not want but this is mandatory and they charge you U$ 9 a day for it (110 pesos) Then I was asked to give a credit card to be put on file with my room number. There was nobody to help carry our luggage to the room located in another building, The building where room 504 is located is an old typical 1970´s “Motel 6” trucker stop type with old stained carpets and room 504 does feel like the 1970´s. About five minutes after I arrived to the room, my Banamex debit card was charged 1350 pesos (about 100 U$ dollars) I went to the reception to ask why and they told me: “We need to check if you have money on your bank account in case you purchase things from your room”. They might think that people coming from Mexico do not have money. I told them that they had no right to charge my debit card without my knowledge. They told me that the money would be refunded after I leave the hotel. I think that this practice might have been illegal”. The next day at the reception was displayed a sign saying that the money would be refunded in ten days. Please see the photos. The electronic room card-keys do not have the room number on them, so when people forget their room number they tried to enter another room. One night someone tried to enter in our room twice, the next night a woman probably drunk made a very loud scene with her husband or boyfriend. Parking is another 250 pesos (U$ 20) a day. Next time I need to go to San Diego I will stay in a hotel Tijuana.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Boursay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Took my family there for a week. Got a suite and it was lovely. Hotel restaurant prices were steep for what you get and the coupons they give you when you check in are not worth the trouble. would advise you eat out elsewhere for the price.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher level, ground floor is not very nice, too much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spares99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#149 of 279 in San Diego
3,235 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Hotel
#143 of 279 in San Diego
741 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#27 of 279 in San Diego
1,033 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
3,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly The Dana On Mission Bay, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#43 Family Hotel in San Diego
#69 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront resort enveloped by tropical landscaping, The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection delivers an exceptional lodging experience in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Rest comfortably in a well-appointed guestroom or two-room suite overlooking Mission Bay. Delight in such quality amenities as two outdoor, heated swimming pools, fitness center, private marina, and watersport and bicycle rentals on site. Our location is both family- and business-friendly. The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection is less than one mile to Mission Beach and Belmont Park. We're the closest hotel to SeaWorld San Diego and a short drive to the San Diego Zoo. And the San Diego Convention Center is equally convenient. In short, the only thing we overlook is the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing