We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, balcony with a view of the bay. room 1320” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #46 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
san diego,ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, balcony with a view of the bay. room 1320”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked a junior suite and receive an upgrade to a full suite in one of three new buildings overlooking the bay, the room was very nice with a huge balcony, i don't know if our experience would have been different if we were not in a suite, anyway the only complain i have is A SAFETY ISSUE........this hotel caters to families going to sea world so many families with small children stay here; COMPLAIN (the TVs need to be secured so that they do not tip over on children) my two year old almost tip one of the TVs on himself...i caught it before it happened. This is a cheap and easy fix......the consequences could be disastrous. (General Manager take Note!)

Room Tip: Bay View new Buildings. in the area of room 1320
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtraveler1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    669
    268
    140
    81
See reviews for
962
567
64
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our travel agent had booked this hotel and from reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, I knew that we needed to be in the newer section of the hotel. We checked in and I found out we were NOT in the newer section so I asked how much an upgrade to the Bayview rooms would be. The receptionist initially said $80 per night but said we could have the three nights for $50 per night extra. I was happy with this. The room was large and well appointed with fridge, coffee maker and sofa bed. It was the biggest room we had stayed in on our holiday. The bathroom was big, the beds were comfortable and the view was lovely from our balcony. My only criticism was the lack of blackout curtains. They had louvers that didn't block out all the light and the balcony light stayed on all night which was annoying. The staff were friendly. We ate breakfast at the Blue Pearl each morning which was great. We had lunch at the Firefly one day which was great too. We walked the 15 minutes to Mission Beach - worth doing and don't stress about catching the shuttles to Sea World, the walk is easy, quick and pleasant. I'd stay there again in the new section

Room Tip: New section is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KiwiTrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our hotel room was surprisingly well put together. The room was spacious, the bathrooms were nice sized, well designed, and the balcony had very peaceful views of the bay. However, the bed was extremely uncomfortable.

As for the service.. the front desk staff was very friendly at checkin, but when it came to getting anything else they were incredibly slow and frankly forgetful. While the hotel is relatively spread out, it should not take 30minutes and 2 phone calls to have a bottle opener brought up. Or when we requested to have our room cleaned and they told us they would send someone right up, we got back to our room later in the evening and it had not touched.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Dana on Cinco de Mayo weekend ('13) and could not have been more pleased. The first impression you get is of a private resort more than just a hotel. Located on the bay with access to the water and the local park. With Sea World within walking distance you can save the parking fee by taking their daily shuttle that takes less than 5 minutes to arrive at the theme park. Pacific Beach is just a mile away and the zoo is just a 10 minute drive.The Firefly restaurant on premises is an A+.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My 9 yr old grandson and I stayed at the Dana in April, 2013. Nice room, good food at The Blue Pearl on-site. Staff very friendly and helpful. Transportation to Mission Beach would be nice.
The pool was nice, but the weather was very chilly while we were there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin 11
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had spent a few days in San Francisco and LA as part of our holiday and we wanted to go to San Diego for some sun and relaxation. We found the Dana suited our needs perfectly. We got to The Dana in a cab from Oldtown Amtrak Station (approx. $15). This is better than Amtrak to San Diego Central. It's also close to San Diego Airport.

When we arrived we noticed it's not a conventional hotel. It's a resort and with limited central facilities and services and the rooms are spread across the grounds (but no more than a 3 minute walk from reception at all times.) The rooms are unique décor but we found it perfect and comfortable. There are two restaurants on "campus" which are nice. There really is no common area or bar after 10pm or it seems residents just all go to bed! It's very much a location frequented by families with very young children or retirees.

So we walked the 15minute walk to Mission Beach. We found the bars and restaurants excellent. Perhaps suiting a young 20/30s age group.

The first morning we encountered the most significant minus the Dana has to offer and that is that it's right underneath the flight path of San Diego airport. We were only staying for three nights so it wasn't a deal breaker but it's fairly excessive from 8am onwards.

Aside from that it's amazing. It's picturesque, surrounded by the estuary / marina / lake and the pool and hot tub are amazing. The pool area is very sheltered and doesn't suffer San Diego wind! The 15 minute walk to the Mission Beach strand is well worth it as it's a full Pacific facing beach.

On one day we got a hotel approved cab into the City Centre for $25 which was pricey but we were happy to do it. Also worth a visit are Guava Mexican food in Mission Beach and it's $15 cab ride to the Gay district - University Avenue. Well worth a visit is Urban Mos gay bar on University Avenue. They are excellent in there and really friendly!

Overall, price is so reasonable for this resort and I would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Upon arrival the Dana appears to be very clean and well kept. I take great care in making reservations when I travel with my two adult daughters who are wheelchair users. We truly enjoy each and every vacation and knowing that we have specific criteria to allow for an enjoyable vacation I check, double check and triple check.

After check in we went to our room and found that the two room bay view suite for the five of us had one queen bed and one pull out sofa rather than the two queen beds and pull out that would be needed. After going into the bathroom I found that rather than the roll out shower we booked we had a bath tub (something that was not possible for us). The sink was also not ADA compliant as a wheelchair user would not be able to roll under it. After numerous conversations we decided we were not able to stay at The Dana and were lucky enough to find very accommodating people and rooms at the Marriott Coronado. Please see that review.

All's well that ends well as our stay at the Marriott Coronado Resort and Spa was wonderful and so much fun!

Although this turned out in a positive way this could have been horrible. There were other miscommunications so I would be quite careful when booking here.

Room Tip: The bay view suite was very pretty. If you are a disabled traveler I would be careful booking here.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank heartsoulct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#145 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,041 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#26 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-7810 (Formerly The Dana On Mission Bay, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#43 Family Hotel in San Diego
#69 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing