We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dana on Mission Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Ocean Villa Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,536)
Filter reviews
2,536 results
Traveler rating
1,228
760
301
156
91
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,228
760
301
156
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirefly restaurantsea worldmission baytropical poolresort feemarina viewbelmont parkstandard roomfree shuttleshuttle serviceshort drivefamily vacationcoffee makerfire pitthe san diego areala jollapools
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,434 - 1,439 of 2,536 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Dana has an excellent location if you're planning on visiting Sea World. You're close enough to walk which is what we did but they offer a free shuttle if you would prefer. The hotel sits right next to the water so if you're lucky, you have a wonderful view, but if not it makes for a wonderful stroll in the evening.
The rooms were comfortable and clean, bed were nice with plenty of pillows so no need to bring your own. Our room had twin sinks in the bathroom which made it nice getting ready in the morning.
The staff was very helpful, you can purchase tickets to several attractions at the front desk and avoid the lines at the gate. Do it, it's worth it.
I would recomend the Dana but if you drive, we paid $20 a day to park so take that into consideration.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, ones facing street are a little noisy, not bad though.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duffy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Dana offers beauty, serenity and comfort. It's situated beautifully on the bay, offering gorgeous views, and wonderful grounds on which to take nice strolls or lounge at the pools. It's so pleasant to enjoy the harbor view while savoring delicious food and sipping wine from the extensive wine-by-the-glass menu. Comfortable beds; the patio area off the bedroom provides nice seclusion. ALL of the staff, from the moment of arrival to the time of departure, are very welcoming and helpful without being solicitous. I have stayed at the Dana many times while visiting my mom in assisted living. Though I've encountered much stress by day, the Dana always provides tranquility by night. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARLEEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The room was spacious and clean. The Firefly Restaurant served excellent cuisine and the waitress was very personable. I had trouble adjusting to the time change during my visit so I slpet badly, but it wasn't the room. The wi-fi was poor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wow , what a beautiful resort, great staff at front desk , nice ungrade with my Expedia Elite card, lovely room , heated pool a plesant surprise, very very clean
We should have stayed longer
thank you to you all

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 572Gigi1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had an excellent stay at the Dana. I was there for a business trip, rather short one, but the rooms are nice, I enjoyed the patio and the view of the lake was great. So nice and relaxing. There is a Keurig machine in the room! That was a big plus for me as well as clean, comfortable room. It's also walking distance from Mission Beach. There wait staff at the Firefly are awesome. Very good, well mannered and helpful and always there to make your dinner experience a good one. I recommend that people stay here because it is a great experience. The front desk ladies are sweet and helpful, very plesant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritamarie045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews