We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay
Ranked #46 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in a regular room, not the upgraded rooms with a balcony in the pictures. Everything was good in the room, good bed and pillows, clean. Our only complaint is that the sound proofing is poor as you can hear your neighbors and the people above you walking.

The service was excellent. The front desk is very helpful and always cheerful, the restaurant staff was great, house cleaning was great in fact everyone including our shuttle driver Don was fantastic at the resort.

There are 2 pools and 2 hot tubs on either end of the resort to use, both are well kept.

There is a bus stop right at the top of the driveway which can take you anywhere you need to, or the hotel can arrange transport for you.

We ate breakfast daily at the Blue Pearl and they make creative traditional and Mexican breakfasts, really worth while trying them out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuzare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,417 - 1,423 of 2,503 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in an older building overlooking the courtyard pool. It was a smaller room, but with everything we needed. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker were handy. The shower had good water pressure and was good height for tall people! The staff was friendly and helpful. We had no trouble with internet connection. Sitting by the pool was relaxing and the buildings blocked most of the cool breeze. I recommend this to anyone going to San Diego. It would be fun for families with kids because there is a lot to do right at the hotel with 2 pools, sand play area, bike and boat rentals too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a great time at the Dana. The room was very nice and comfortable. We were upgraded to a room by the pool which was great. The grounds were beautiful, felt very tropical. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast every morning at the Blue Pearl. The food was very good and again the staff very friendly - great service. We would definately reccomed the Dana and we would stay again.

Room Tip: A room by the pool was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We love the Dana - and have stayed four times. The Bay View rooms (which are WAY nicer than the standard rooms and much more spacious) sleep the four of us comfortably and have mini-fridges which are a lifesaver for snacks/drinks. The entire hotel is very clean, and the staff is always quite nice (especially the wait staff around the pool). The Sea World shuttle is a plus, but if you want to walk, you can get there in 15 minutes or so. I've always had better luck securing a discounted room by calling the hotel directly rather than booking online.

Room Tip: Bay View rooms are worth the extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrianneMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We picked the Dana based on others reviews. We had a bayside room with a balcony. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was very clean and furnishings were in good condition. Housekeeping was very efficient too! We dined at both of the restaurants. The Blue Pearl has amazing breakfast fare......very generous portions......the waiting staff made sure our cup of coffee never went dry. Excellent food and service. A drink at night by one of the outside fire pits was very nice. We did not use the pool (the weather was a bit too chilly) but the pool area looked well maintained. Even the little store on the other side of the Bay was well stocked with snacks, drinks, etc. We used public transportation while we were there. The Dana has a bus stop right near the hotel access road which made using the bus very easy and convenient. I can't think of anything negative to say about the Dana. It was a great experience staying there and I would stay there again and recommend The Dana on Mission Bay to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessdrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had a standard room on the second floor facing the courtyard. It was very nice and clean. The room had a frig and also a Keurig coffee maker. The marina rents out waveriders, paddle boats and other things. You can also rent bikes. The hotel is close enough to walk to Mission Beach. It takes about twenty minutes but the scenery on the way is beautiful. I ate at the Blue Pearl for breakfast and dinner. The omelet was very good. At dinner I had Cilantro Lime grilled shrimp. The shrimp were large and it came with 2 sides. It was yumo!! The Old Town Trolley picks up at the hotel once a day and you can ride it back at 4:15pm to the hotel. They also have shuttle to Sea World. I was picked up at the airport by the shuttle. I want to mention Don, the shuttle driver. He was the most helpul person. He went up and beyond to be sure my stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda85730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Dana has a partnership with the University of San Diego and it is the reason we originally came to stay there, but ever since, it is our go to place in San Diego! Perfect location, great prices, and wonderful staff. The rooms along the bay side are worth the extra cost, the views can't be beat. We enjoy the Blue Pearl restaurant on site (Anna is simply the friendliest person I have ever met and remembers you when you are a return guest) and the Firefly is a great drinks/dinner spot, also on site. Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: The bayside rooms are best and have elevators. The rest of the property is motel style with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#50 of 286 in San Diego
1,698 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#157 of 286 in San Diego
3,624 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Bahia Resort Hotel
#20 of 286 in San Diego
4,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-7810 (Formerly The Dana On Mission Bay, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#42 Family Hotel in San Diego
#69 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $134 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront resort enveloped by tropical landscaping, The Dana on Mission Bay delivers an exceptional lodging experience in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Rest comfortably in a well-appointed guestroom or two-room suite overlooking Mission Bay. Delight in such quality amenities as two outdoor, heated swimming pools, fitness center, private marina, and watersport and bicycle rentals on site. Our location is both family- and business-friendly. The Dana on Mission Bay is less than one mile to Mission Beach and Belmont Park. We're the closest hotel to SeaWorld San Diego and a short drive to the San Diego Zoo. And the San Diego Convention Center is equally convenient. In short, the only thing we overlook is the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing