We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #47 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Chassell, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Great Family Vacation”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a great time at the Dana. The room was very nice and comfortable. We were upgraded to a room by the pool which was great. The grounds were beautiful, felt very tropical. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast every morning at the Blue Pearl. The food was very good and again the staff very friendly - great service. We would definately reccomed the Dana and we would stay again.

Room Tip: A room by the pool was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,139
    726
    285
    149
    84
See reviews for
1,078
600
70
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We love the Dana - and have stayed four times. The Bay View rooms (which are WAY nicer than the standard rooms and much more spacious) sleep the four of us comfortably and have mini-fridges which are a lifesaver for snacks/drinks. The entire hotel is very clean, and the staff is always quite nice (especially the wait staff around the pool). The Sea World shuttle is a plus, but if you want to walk, you can get there in 15 minutes or so. I've always had better luck securing a discounted room by calling the hotel directly rather than booking online.

Room Tip: Bay View rooms are worth the extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianneMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We picked the Dana based on others reviews. We had a bayside room with a balcony. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was very clean and furnishings were in good condition. Housekeeping was very efficient too! We dined at both of the restaurants. The Blue Pearl has amazing breakfast fare......very generous portions......the waiting staff made sure our cup of coffee never went dry. Excellent food and service. A drink at night by one of the outside fire pits was very nice. We did not use the pool (the weather was a bit too chilly) but the pool area looked well maintained. Even the little store on the other side of the Bay was well stocked with snacks, drinks, etc. We used public transportation while we were there. The Dana has a bus stop right near the hotel access road which made using the bus very easy and convenient. I can't think of anything negative to say about the Dana. It was a great experience staying there and I would stay there again and recommend The Dana on Mission Bay to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessdrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had a standard room on the second floor facing the courtyard. It was very nice and clean. The room had a frig and also a Keurig coffee maker. The marina rents out waveriders, paddle boats and other things. You can also rent bikes. The hotel is close enough to walk to Mission Beach. It takes about twenty minutes but the scenery on the way is beautiful. I ate at the Blue Pearl for breakfast and dinner. The omelet was very good. At dinner I had Cilantro Lime grilled shrimp. The shrimp were large and it came with 2 sides. It was yumo!! The Old Town Trolley picks up at the hotel once a day and you can ride it back at 4:15pm to the hotel. They also have shuttle to Sea World. I was picked up at the airport by the shuttle. I want to mention Don, the shuttle driver. He was the most helpul person. He went up and beyond to be sure my stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda85730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Dana has a partnership with the University of San Diego and it is the reason we originally came to stay there, but ever since, it is our go to place in San Diego! Perfect location, great prices, and wonderful staff. The rooms along the bay side are worth the extra cost, the views can't be beat. We enjoy the Blue Pearl restaurant on site (Anna is simply the friendliest person I have ever met and remembers you when you are a return guest) and the Firefly is a great drinks/dinner spot, also on site. Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: The bayside rooms are best and have elevators. The rest of the property is motel style with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, AK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We seemed to be off season and it was not very busy. It still was a nice romantic get away for us. Overall we enjoyed being there. We liked to walk around the water and just look at the boats. There were two restaurants within easy walking distance. One of them had no view from inside the restaurant. That makes little sense to have such a nice location and not figure out some sort of view? But the second restaurant was perfect for eating and enjoying the surrounding boats and water. The pool seemed to be excellent but the weather was chilly when we were there and we decided not to go in. The hotel had a concession that rented an assortment of fun watercraft for people to use but no one was doing it while we were there.

Room Tip: They were not very crowded and they still put us upstairs with no elevator. Not friendly for older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaska_rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night in February since I had a conference to attend that was just across the street. Paid for a standard room, but got a room with a Marina view. I would say that the view was nice, but the banana palm right in front of the window blocked the view. I had to go outside to see it. Found it odd that the microwave, coffee, and fridge were in the bathroom along with the air/heat unit. I guess this was one of the older rooms. Bed was super comfy! Had difficulty with internet but got that fixed after an hour or two. TV was nice when it worked.....but half the time it didn't.

Loved that I could park right outside my door.......so convenient.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view get the bayview rooms......not the Marina view.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank songfromtheheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#163 of 278 in San Diego
3,390 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#150 of 278 in San Diego
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 278 in San Diego
2,550 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#34 of 278 in San Diego
3,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly The Dana On Mission Bay, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#43 Family Hotel in San Diego
#69 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront resort enveloped by tropical landscaping, The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection delivers an exceptional lodging experience in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Rest comfortably in a well-appointed guestroom or two-room suite overlooking Mission Bay. Delight in such quality amenities as two outdoor, heated swimming pools, fitness center, private marina, and watersport and bicycle rentals on site. Our location is both family- and business-friendly. The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection is less than one mile to Mission Beach and Belmont Park. We're the closest hotel to SeaWorld San Diego and a short drive to the San Diego Zoo. And the San Diego Convention Center is equally convenient. In short, the only thing we overlook is the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing